We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hotel Ter Reien is a wonderful choice for Bruges. The price was average - not budget, not five star. The rooms were clean. Some of the bathrooms are very small - we had 2 rooms and one had a big bathroom and one had a small one. Luck of the draw, I guess. But it is manageable for a short stay. Breakfast was great - croissants, bread, rolls, cheese, cold meats, cereals, pancakes. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You can get canal view rooms, which may cost slightly more but probably worth it. May be worth reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sa_uk_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel is in such a great location, 5 minute walk into the main part of town, it's on a canal. The breakfast was really nice and plentiful. The room itself was compact, sheets had hair on them, the bathroom was big, however, dirty, and so many cracked tiles on the floor, when you walked on the tiles you felt like you were going to fall through them. The service was ok, however, when we checked in we could not go to our room as it was not check in time, however, we were given our key and told to come back in half an hour. So one assumes room was ready to go, most hotels if rooms are ready will let you check in a bit early. Also if you wanted a kettle you had to pay extra, wifi was also an extra cost. In saying all this, location outways the negatives and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had booked for three nights, but were ready to leave after the first.We were given a room in the basement (reached by metal stairs); the lower floor had the most dreadful smell of sewage? and the stink seeped into our room. The receptionist told us that there had been a flood and apologised, but couldn't move us because they were full, and the manager stood in our doorway that night, claiming that he couldn't smell anything at all and that there hadn't been any problem with the area. It was truly unbelievable. The next morning they found a room for us; not surprising, given the fact that we had said our whole party would be leaving that morning. The room that we were moved to was fine, but there was no attempt at an apology from the manager, other than a coffee and tea tray, free of charge. The behaviour of the manager, coupled with the general surliness of some of the staff, made this place memorable for the wrong reasons. Awful. NB Ratings are based on the second room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoverTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was upgraded from a partial canal view room to a full canal view room upon check-in, which was a wonderful surprise. But the room wasn't ready by 2:30pm. The view from the room was one-of-a-kind and amazing. But the room is dated and needs to be cleaned more thoroughly. The hotel is a 10-minute walk to Market Square. The breakfast was the best...pancakes, Belgian hot chocolate, and the croissants! The croissants were just delicious.
The toilet had a flushing problem my first night there, but when I reported it the next morning, the owner took immediate action and the toilet worked just fine after that.
The 3-star Michelin restaurant Karmelite is just a few doors down from the hotel. I highly recommend this restaurant. The food totally deserves its Michelin stars.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Just like the title, this place was great, but our bathroom (room 208) was tiny. I've seen bigger bathrooms on cruise ships! In fact, that was the only reason I didn't give this a 5 star vote.

Our room, which was next to the elevator, was great. There was no extra noise as I thought there would be. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. They also allow dogs (we had our pug with us).

The staff was very friendly and accommodating and made sure our stay was the best possbile. The breakfast buffett was yummy. When you walked in it smelled of freshly baked croissants, and there were plenty of them. The buffett was never crowded too, which was nice.

The location is awesome. It is just a few blocks from the main part of town, so you get the closeness but not the noise. It is also right on a canal. There is a great antique shop connected to it (friendly people) and a wonderful restaurant across the street. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike100274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have just returned from staying 1 night in the Hotel Ter Reien.My wife and I stayed in a canal view room which was clean and well appointed although the small bathroom area takes a bit of getting used to.Incidentally our grown up children stayed the same night in a cheaper non canal facing room and I have to say that although cheaper this was a larger room with a traditional bathroom.Guess it depends what you want out of a stay.
Our room was not ready on our check in.Normally not too bothered about this sort of thing but the receptionists account that if "it wasnt ready you will have to wait" was surprisingly frank and perhaps there was a language misunderstanding.
A fabulous location with with an ok buffet style breakfast but with a little fine tuning could be so much more.

Room Tip: Go for number 17 if you want a quality room rather than a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We enjoyed staying at Ter Reien--had an adequate room (twin beds put together), facing the canal--pretty view. Quiet hotel, breakfast very adequate, home cooked food. Clean room and clean hotel. Took taxi from train station--too far to walk. Hotel was in excellent location to explore the town center. Walked everywhere--but always found a new adventure around every corner. Only inconvenience was VERY small bathroom--like one you would find in a motorhome---tiny shower area. Everything else was very nice and we will stay here again if we visit Brugge.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pentzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
1,169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#65 of 97 in Bruges
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing