We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“belgian treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
leeds england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“belgian treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Have visited this hotel on a number of occasions and have recommended it to friends and family.The rooms are quirky and vary in size but are all charming even though the shower rooms can be small.Breakfast is good with a selection of breads,cheese.cold meats,cereals,pancakes etc.Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is well maintained.Beautifully situated with some of the rooms overlooking the canal and a few minutes walk from the central square.A bus from Bruges station stops close to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you think yu might experience trouble with the small shower rooms ask for a room with a bigger ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelLeedsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    315
    145
    46
    30
See reviews for
77
421
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Nothing special to say about this hotel. It was a place to crash after a few beers. The hotel is five minutes from the centre of bruges in a lovely canal spot which was easy to find. Toilet was tiny and the room basic. Breakfast was a laugh tho - the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. A couple of slices of bread and a coffee. I left the hotle starving and looking for a place to eat amost immediately.
The place is clean and spotless though with friendly staff. If you are looking for a place just to sleep it is ideal, but not for a long stay. It does for an overnighter.....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boboblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Having read the previous reviews of this hotel I was surprised, staying there overnight: like another place. Overpriced, even in the touristic (and oh so beautiful) Bruges, unfriendly personnel, lousy breakfast in an sad breakfast room. My very basic room was 9 m2 and instead of a bathroom, there was a strange, open plastic capsule containing a toilet seat and a hand shower. The walls are so thin you heard the neigbour speaking and using the toilet.. Not to be recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Excellent breakfast, location and price.

Our complaint was that we were sent to the basement room.

In its self not a problem except the damp, water collecting around the windows, dark, slightly worn bedding, the bathroom was separated from the rest of the room by a glass wall which was in need of 10p of sealant along the bottom edge; lots of water into the main area of the room from the shower so we had a very moist stay.

We did not see the other proper rooms so can’t comment but the rest of the hotel looked good.

Was able to park on the street with no charge, just look around the streets at the back of the hotel, some have parking with no meters, so were able to leave the car for two days.

Check-in was 2:30 not sure if this was policy or just for us....check out 11am!

Finally I think a hotel's quality is inversely related to the number of sign put up by the management—needless to say there are a LOT of signs

I liked the location so might stay again but in a different room as previous reviews looked good.

Bruges- beware the traffic, for some reason a major tourist location like this lets traffic take precendence and is a problem for the unwary

Also very few public toilets so the incontinent be warned

Room Tip: The basement room would be a Mossie nightmare in the warm weather so be warned
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Great location not far from centre and next to a canal. Very pretty old building which has been modernised. We had a great shower room (only problem no radiator so a bit chilly) and didn't have the issue that some other reviewers have had with small "pod" shower/toilet.
Continental breakfast was lovely with lots to choose from, very happy with that!
Would recommend this hotel to friends and will hopefully be visiting again next year.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We had a really good time there. The hotel is in a convenient location, about 5 minutes walk from the main square in Bruges. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a great continental selection (meat, bread, cheese, pastry, cereal etc) and ran at a convenient time for a weekend away. The room had a great view of the canal and was of a good size and was clean and tidy. The bathroom was quite small and didn't have full doors. This wasn't a problem for us, but may be for some.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We booked a canal room (strongly recommended). The room was clean and quite large. The view was amazing. The only complaint was the toilet pod which was an inconvenience. Apart from that a brilliant stay. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Good pub further own the road.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#51 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Property: Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing