We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Bury lLancs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here in July for a long week-end. If i had stayed here for longer then we would have probably complained about the room, it was small with a tiny bathroom. The room overlooked the canal and we did not have any hot water for the 1st day of our stay. I complained about this to the receptionist who said she would report it, to be fair the water was back on the next day but you should'nt have to complain about lack of hot water !

The staff were pleasant and friendly, breakfast was the usual continental fare.
Close to the restaurants, bars and Market Square the location was the hotel's best feature.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binnyBurylLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    314
    143
    45
    30
See reviews for
77
417
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Spent three days In Bruges, two nights at Ter Reien, lovely spot we had a canal view, room was clean and airy with large windows big enough to sit in and wave to trippers on the boats as they passed by, a quirky little bathroom with swing doors added to the charm. Breakfast was ample with a good selection, the hotel is just short walk from all tourist spot's and bars and restaurants. We would recomend this hotel for any type of stay.....

Room Tip: Book a canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here in the middle of July with my husband and my parents. On arriving the receptionist was friendly and directed us to the nearest car park with was very secure, close by and only cost 8€ per 24 hours.

The location of this hotel is perfect, it's close to bars and restaurants and everything is close by.

Breakfast was continental style, there was minimal options really but we all found something to eat and the bread (muffins) served each morning were lovely and fresh.

The room... Where to start?

I've read reviews on tripadvisor before and thought people must have nothing better to do other than moan about not having a corkscrew in their room or something equally ridiculous. However when I stay in a hotel not matter how much money I payed I expect it to be clean. This hotel was not! Please see the photographs I have added.

The room however pretty the views out of the window needs renovating and a new carpet putting in as there were stains all over it, there was a hole in the ceiling, the radiator was rusting and stained, the window ledge had food crumbs all over it and under the bed looked like it had never been hoovered, there were hair slides from previous occupants.

The bathroom which is the smallest I have ever seen was a plastic toilet which unfortunately looked like it hadnt been cleaned for a while. It had with plastic saloon doors meaning anyone your travelling in witnesses everything you do in the bathroom. The shower again plastic was too small to actually shower in and flooded very quickly. There were fresh towels put it every day we were there.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities, no air conditioning, no iron etc. the tv has no English channels.
The view out of the window was lovely, boat trips start coming passed around 10am and run until about 7pm. They can be quite noisy as they have a loudspeaker on them so afternoon naps are difficult.

Would I stay here again? No probably not, for the price £100 a night I'm sure there are hotels in Bruges with better facilities that are much cleaner.

Room Tip: View by the canal cost more are much smaller than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chatty-Natty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

London
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here the weekend before last. I'll start with the positives.

As mentioned, it's in a good location on a nice road and sits on the canal. Everywhere is within walking distance The staff were friendly and helpful and our room had a nice view of the canal. Breakfast is exactly as you would expect from somewhere like this, there's plenty to choose from and plenty of seats.

But...

We arrived and checked in at about 11am or thereabouts and left our bags in the baggage room whilst we looked around the local area. We were told that our room would be ready at 2.30 which I think is the standard for this hotel. When we came back at 3 our room had only been half cleaned and the cleaner knocked on our door to hoover and clean the bathroom after we'd arrived. No big deal but not quite what you'd expect.

Our room smelt of wet dogs the entire duration of our stay. Can't quite put my finger on why. Initially I thought it might be the smell of the canal but opening the windows actually let the smell out rather than in.

The bathroom is very basic which we were expecting but the shower filled up within seconds of putting it on and if you are big (I'm 6'2 and 12 st 8) then you will seriously struggle. I spent half the time wrestling with the shower curtain whilst the bathroom filled quickly with water. You have to switch the water off if you're washing your hair as you don't really have enough time before the room fills up.

If you're a couple then you'd better be comfortable with each other's bodily functions as the saloon style plastic doors do not leave much to the imagination.

We were also woken up at half midnight on the Saturday as someone was drilling (as in power drilling) right outside our door. The explanation given was that next door were having problems with their shower. Unless this was an emergency (I can't see how it could be) then this is pretty unacceptable. Surely it can wait until morning.

This might explain the nasty smell. We were also woken up every morning when anyone on our floor used their shower as the drains would make a loud gurgling noise after use.

I can't recommend this place, 1 of the above would just about be acceptable, but all of them just isn't good enough.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Slime84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This little hotel is conveniently located right next to a popular canal, and just across the street from several canal-side terrace cafes. It is a pleasant walk of about one kilometer to Markt Square. The rooms and bathroom are quite large, and I found the queen-size bed to be very comfortable. Receptionist is pleasant, and the breakfast is standard European. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

For what we paid for this hotel we were quite disappointed. Granted it has an excellent location but the overall experience was rather mediocre. The canal view room we had was very basic and lacked several basics which you would see even in the most basic hotel ie, small glasses in the bathroom.

The toilet was also nothing more than a wet room cupboard. For any people sharing a room make sure they are both comfortable with each other as you can basically kick the bed from the toilet seat and thus hear everything your room mate is up to while in the toilet ;)

On the plus side the hotel did have an excellent included breakfast which ran till 10.30 most days and provided a great selection of tasty things to start you on your day.

Overall if you are a young couple like us you may have found the local hostel a far better choice as we found 'Hotel Ter Reien' to be basically the same quality as you would expect in most private hostel dorms, but at a significantly more expensive price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Having coming from a pretty posh hotel in Amsterdam, priced less than Hotel Ter Reien, I was a little disappointed in the room.
Service from the receptionist was good though and she provided us a map and stored our luggage.

ROOM:
Small with a little storage, velux windows and double bed. This was all ok.
The bathroom however was not ideal. It was less than 1m x 1m and every time you showered it flooded the floor. I barely had enough room to wash my hair! :(
Everything was a little dusty too and facilities provided were slim. There was a nice tv but the room lacked simple things such as a glass to drink from!

Breakfast was included and it was a lovely continental one.
Including:
boiled eggs, toast, bread, pancakes, tinned fruit salad, hams, cheese, juices, tea/coffee, rolls, croissants, cornflakes, muesli and yoghurts. Fresh fruit would have made it better :)

ATTRACTIONS:
We enjoyed being near the centre as we could walk to museums/the square/restaurants in 5-10mins. The boat trip was good to take some photos, Salvador Dali museum was fab because you saw works you didn't think he did. It wasn't just the classic dripping clocks or lobster.

Overall, Bruges is an expensive place to stay so we were satisfied but the room did remind me of a caravan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jn_wls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#56 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Property: Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing