We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, un-imposing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #64 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, un-imposing hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Despite some of the harsher reviews posted on here, my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Situated close to the main square but away from all the hustle and bustle, there were plenty of well-priced restaurants to eat at in the near vicinity, excellent views of the canal and short distance walks to all the main attractions, as well as areas close by which are off the beaten track. The room itself was of a medium size with a pod-like bathroom in the corner; although I can see how some people may have a problem with the size, it was absolutely fine for us and I think the hotel staff are friendly enough to find you a room with a bigger bathroom should you request it. The staff have clearly noted some of the customer complaints, providing glasses in the bathrooms and offering fresh fruit alongside the other choices for breakfast as were requested. To put it in perspective, in comparison to the £300-per room-per night 4* hotel we stayed at in London the night before travelling, Hotel Ter Reien was just as large and clean, with staff who were just as friendly and helpful. All I would suggest is to bring deet spray/mosquito nets as it gets warm in the room come the evening and having the windows open invites mosquitos in (due to the canal location). We would definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    320
    149
    49
    32
See reviews for
79
431
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is in a great location for seeing Bruges. From here, it is easy to walk to the canal boat tours, the Belfrey or the main square. Plent of restaurants and bars are nearby. We had a room with a canal view, which was excellent for watching the canal boats and feeding the ducks. Breakfast costs 16 euros. I would recommend it if you are only staying a couple of days but after that, it might get repetitive. Bathroom was clean and functional but tiny. It was perfect at the the price for a one night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbrad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The setting is fantastic, our canal side room allowed you to open the window and sit beside the water. We watched the sight seeing boats float past and had ducks come up looking for food. It was also ideally situated to walk to the sights. The only down side was the bathroom. It was like a small pod, incorporating a toilet, washbasin and shower within a 1 sq metre. I found it ok to have a shower, but my wife found it difficult wash her hair. However small the bathroom, this should not deter you from staying here. The breakfast was fine and the receptionist very helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We only stayed here one night-but this was one of our favorite spots to stay. We stayed in a canal view room-the bed was very comfy and spacious-the bathroom was sooo little-but we didnt mind-it was kinda cute actually-but If you are a very big person I could see how you may not appreciate it as much. We were on the first floor and we had this large window at floor level that we could open and be only a few feet away from the canal-we woke up the one morning to have a long line of swans gliding down the canal past our window-it was like a little fairy tale. :p There were a few small tour boats that went by throughout the day-but they were not a nuisance. I don't think there was a.c-not sure- the weather was nice and we had no need for it. The breakfast was nice, there was a beautiful little courtyard to sit out by as well as a cute little reading room and an area to use a computer. We paid for the wi-fi - we got better reception when we sat out in the courtyard or in some of the other common rooms. We were going to rent bikes while in bruges but we were able to walk to all the main spots from our hotel (the bell tower, the windmills, holy blood....etc.) I loved it here and would definately come back again.

Room Tip: Canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury lLancs
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here in July for a long week-end. If i had stayed here for longer then we would have probably complained about the room, it was small with a tiny bathroom. The room overlooked the canal and we did not have any hot water for the 1st day of our stay. I complained about this to the receptionist who said she would report it, to be fair the water was back on the next day but you should'nt have to complain about lack of hot water !

The staff were pleasant and friendly, breakfast was the usual continental fare.
Close to the restaurants, bars and Market Square the location was the hotel's best feature.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank binnyBurylLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Spent three days In Bruges, two nights at Ter Reien, lovely spot we had a canal view, room was clean and airy with large windows big enough to sit in and wave to trippers on the boats as they passed by, a quirky little bathroom with swing doors added to the charm. Breakfast was ample with a good selection, the hotel is just short walk from all tourist spot's and bars and restaurants. We would recomend this hotel for any type of stay.....

Room Tip: Book a canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here in the middle of July with my husband and my parents. On arriving the receptionist was friendly and directed us to the nearest car park with was very secure, close by and only cost 8€ per 24 hours.

The location of this hotel is perfect, it's close to bars and restaurants and everything is close by.

Breakfast was continental style, there was minimal options really but we all found something to eat and the bread (muffins) served each morning were lovely and fresh.

The room... Where to start?

I've read reviews on tripadvisor before and thought people must have nothing better to do other than moan about not having a corkscrew in their room or something equally ridiculous. However when I stay in a hotel not matter how much money I payed I expect it to be clean. This hotel was not! Please see the photographs I have added.

The room however pretty the views out of the window needs renovating and a new carpet putting in as there were stains all over it, there was a hole in the ceiling, the radiator was rusting and stained, the window ledge had food crumbs all over it and under the bed looked like it had never been hoovered, there were hair slides from previous occupants.

The bathroom which is the smallest I have ever seen was a plastic toilet which unfortunately looked like it hadnt been cleaned for a while. It had with plastic saloon doors meaning anyone your travelling in witnesses everything you do in the bathroom. The shower again plastic was too small to actually shower in and flooded very quickly. There were fresh towels put it every day we were there.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities, no air conditioning, no iron etc. the tv has no English channels.
The view out of the window was lovely, boat trips start coming passed around 10am and run until about 7pm. They can be quite noisy as they have a loudspeaker on them so afternoon naps are difficult.

Would I stay here again? No probably not, for the price £100 a night I'm sure there are hotels in Bruges with better facilities that are much cleaner.

Room Tip: View by the canal cost more are much smaller than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chatty-Natty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#70 of 97 in Bruges
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#84 of 97 in Bruges
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Property: Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing