We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The canal view rooms are a must and we'll worth paying the extra for. Everything about the hotel was really good other than the tiny bathrooms but for a short break it is adequate. Breakfast buffet style with loads of choice. Great location to explore the sights and enjoy some fantastic restaurants. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Room 14 and room 15 fabulous views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Loved: the canal view, the breakfast (terrific choice for this type of hotel), huge bathtub, the heating which worked perfectly well and warmed me up on a cold November night, the furniture- plain and functional, the design of the room- very genuine, Belgian.
Might be better: the service: they forgot to bring towels for the third person in the room, lack of toiletteries (all you have is just the soap dispensers somewhere high on the wall: do Belgians really believe that all people are of the same height as themselves?). The staff also might be much friendlier, but I guess this is just Belgian, again :)
On the whole, I do recommend it for a stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you say what type of room you prefer in the comments when you book it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Have just returned from two nights in Bruges. It is a lovely place to visit, but I have to say that the whole experience was very expensive. The cheapest parts were visiting the Bell Tower - be warned there will be a queue and a boat trip - good fun and if your hotel gives you a discount voucher use it here, as it will save you 1 euro per person Most of the restaurants are more expensive then in England but the food is very good. Okay the Hotel, it is very close to the centre of Bruges, so walking to the main square takes about 5 -10 minutes. The staff at the reception are really nice and helpful. The rooms vary in size and shape, we had a small bedroom with a huge bathroom - but only a small shower - there was a lot of wasted space, for the price I thought it was good value for money - having looked at some of the hotels - but as I said the the beginning - this is a very expensive place to visit. Breakfast at the hotel is really good - and it is all fresh. Would I go again - yes and I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solo279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel was in a great location for exploring Bruges, which is a beautiful city, especially at Christmas time. It is, however, very old! Floorboards creak, walls are thin and bathrooms need updating. This being said, it's clean and convenient and breakfast in the basement right on the canal was lovely. If you're looking for something easy and don't mind hearing your neighbours comings and goings then it's a good place

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

For being rated as a 2 star, was pleasantly surprised. Walking distance to all attractions in Bruges. Room was decent size, bathroom okay (but drains could be smelt so keep door shut! Seems to be a problem in town too), towels rather skimpy and thin, but adequate. Good choice for breakfast and tables cleared quickly. If going back to Bruges, would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a room on other side of hotel which was quiet and had a decent size shower room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Clean and pleasant room, good hot shower and comfy beds! Breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty. Towels were a bit thin, there is not a safe in the room and you have to pay 5 euros for a kettle in your room and 5 euros for the WiFi access pin but those were the only drawbacks. Easy short walk to the Burg, Markt and most of the main sights and shopping areas!
Food in Brugge is not cheap (average 20 euros for a bowl of pasta!) but if you wander down some of the quieter streets there are smaller, less touristy restaurants where the food is lovely and just what you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaJSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We paid extra for a canal view and this was definitely worth it. The room was very clean and had all the usual equipment (no tea making gear - we always pack a travel kettle on the continent). Breakfast was buffet with a full range of options and an excellent machine that gave fresh coffee. A short walk straight down the road to the Maarkt meant sightseeing was easy. Laangstraat is cobbled and a main thoroughfare into the centre, so, despite our room being a fair way away from the road the noise was easily heard with the windows open. This is a problem with a lot of Bruges hotels as the streets are mostly cobbled. Guests should be aware that the bathroom is a small pod in the corner of the room - it is perfectly functional but the shower space is quite small. This pod has batwing doors (saloon in the wild west?) which have sizeable gaps top and bottom; this makes morning functions an intimate experience with your fellow occupant!! You need to be good friends!! "Double bed" was twin beds pushed together.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a canal view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roobarbcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#65 of 97 in Bruges
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing