We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how a hotel in bruges could be much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Had a perfect stay here! The location is ideal, right on the canal, a 2 minute walk from the mrkt with all sorts of shops n restaurants on the way. Super friendly staff, nice breakfast, easy check in/out.
Big tip: there're a few rooms ON the canal, but the best one is the honeymoon suite (it's the little white room right down low, it's like $20 extra a night and the ducks and swans swim up in the morning right up to your window, it's like the cutest thing ever).

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justinrdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
There are newer reviews for Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel was under repair while we recently stayed. I would have appreciated knowing that this was going to be the case, but that said, the beds were comfortable. The bathroom that we had which was room 111 has a bathroom that was added to the room and it looked to be similar to the size of a bathroom found in an RV. It was tiny. The shower being possibly 2x2 feet. That said, we also had room 211 which had a super large bath with a nice large tub and separate shower. So we didn't need to use the tiny shower.
The location of the hotel is decent and immediately across the street is a nice area along the canal for dinner and coffee.

Room Tip: If travelling with a family, room 211 is large and you can still move around even with luggage opene...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie Heagy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Was a nice situated hotel, 5 min walk to centre. Bathroom was small. Bruges is a very scenic and interesting place. Make sure you go on a boat trip, lasted about 30 minutes and was 7 euro.

Make sure you eat at Ribs n Beer, absolutely gorgeous food. Loads of shops, especially chocolate ones.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneWBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We did not expect the great room we had. In the official photo above, we were at the window at the extreme left (of the grey buildings) at canal level. If one sat in the window alcove reading, one received waves from the tour boats passing a few meters away. (We jokingly discussed - but did not execute - walking nude deeper in the room to give those who were looking in windows a story to take home. We're in our late 60s so this is not about exhibitionism; the point is that it is so close to the canal)

Negatives: (1) tiny bathroom, like many European hotels that have added en suite bathrooms to historic properties but if I were overweight I'd have been touching the shower curtain and walls simultaneously. (2) staff seldom at desk, though can be summoned by a bell. (3) extra one-time charge for wi-fi and/or computer access.

Positives: (1) location, a few blocks from downtown either by the high street or along the canal, (2) canal view!!! (3) price, (4) good and ample breakfast, including soft-boiled eggs I can never quite make that well at home, (5) helpful staff, when they're available (see previous para.) They're even a couple of doors away from a Michelin *** restaurant if you want to blow several times the money you've saved by staying here, and across the street from a simpler restaurant run by the same chef and his son.

Room Tip: While interior rooms exist, the reason (besides location) for staying here is the canal view. Go for...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaAsiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The reviews were a bit mixed so was prepared for disappointment but couldn't have been more wrong - this is a gem of a hotel! The location is perfect, staff helpful, breakfasts amazing. Rooms were basic but comfortable, lovely big bathroom with hot power shower, fresh towels daily. Wi-fi worked perfectly, lovely courtyard overlooking canal for guests to use, vending machine which sold wine! Would definitely return. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 109 was good!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajeffery61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is the 4th hotel I have stayed in whilst in Bruges and was the best by far. Location is excellent, simply laid out but really very nice. Would definitely recommend a canal view room. I usually turn my nose up at the prospect of paying extra for a view but in this case it was absolutely justified. I only booked it because that was the only room available but very pleased I did. I would happily return

Room Tip: Book a canal view room- worth every extra penny
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I only tend to stay in budget hotels, and have done so in Bruge, Pisa, Prague, NYC and a few places in Asia ... my room in this hotel was possibly the most comfortable, and certainly the quietest of all the hotels I've stayed in over the last few years.

The location is pretty good ... Is perhaps 5 - 8 minutes leisurely walk from the main market square.

I had read the reviews that stated a charge for tea service, so I packed a travel kettle ... job done! The lack of wifi is also a bit poor ... but pretty common in the EU ... no wifi meant doing something over than post photos to Facebook though ... not always a bad thing eh!

I loved the breakfasts here. A selection of meat and cheese, rolls, croissants and bread ... fruit juices, tea and coffee ... plus boiled eggs, yoghurts and pancake. A simple continental menu served buffet style but was another big plus point for me.

A freindly welcome ... a trouble-free check out ... 5 stars from me ... nothing to fault at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEFLnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#66 of 97 in Bruges
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#65 of 97 in Bruges
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing