We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Ranked #64 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We came for the valentines weekend. Initially the hotel was easy to find. We had a small amount of luggage so we walked to the hotel from the station (about 20min walk) and it was really easy to find. It is located just to the east of centre (Markt and Burg) that was very easy to find and took about 2 minutes to walk there from town. The hotel was just right for the money. The rooms were clean, staff couldn't do enough for you, breakfast was good and it was comfortable. I would stay here again. It is also worth noting that we were in Bruges when the Belgian commuter trains crashed and the Eurostar was suspended to/from Brussels. The staff were very helpful, they relentlessly called the train companies for us to find info and booked taxis to the station when we decided to leave. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Mankellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    319
    150
    49
    33
See reviews for
78
431
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Extremelly well located (2 minutes walking distance to the market square), I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. The staff was great as well as the room (size, beds, bathroom, heater, TV) and had a wonderful view.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfmaceio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Very good the only downside was the twin beds being so close together. But the Breakfast, cleanliness and decor was great!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JoeCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Our room overlooked the canal which was lovely.The shower room was no larger than the loo you find on an aeroplane and it leaked all over the floor.
That said the room was warm and comfortable,we didnt spend much time in the room which was a good thing I suppose !
The breakfast was fine.
The hotel is situtated about ten minutes from the main square and opposite a great pub & a great restaurant.
For the price paid it was probably OK value.
From a personal point of view I would like to say that we were victims of the Eurostar crisis and we stayed there another night and had to try to book flights home on the Sunday,the staff could not have been more helpful and allowed us access to their email and internet.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Was unimpressed by the hosts of this place, and being given two single beds for a married couple, however you win some you lose some. The room was right on the water and with large bay windows so you can sit on the ledge and watch all of the tourist boats go by. Shower was small and like being in a small boat cabin, but it worked so cant complain. Short walk into the square from the hotel was nice, however Im sure there are better value hotels in Bruges.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were very disappointed. Upon arrival we were shown to our room which was dirty and cold. The bed had been stripped, but the mattress protector was left on. This was absolutely disgusting, covered in stains. When we complained we were abruptly told that it was going to be changed. We did doubt this as the bed had already been stripped. There were two dirty pillows and duvet on a chair. First impressions were not good. We could not believe we had been shown to our room that had not been cleaned.

The towels were not clean, one had been left in our room from the previous occupants and had what looked like blood on. Again we brought it to the attention of the staff who told us that not all stains come out when washed! She was very defensive. In fact, all the staff we met could have done with some basic customer service training.

The breakfast was pretty average, in an adequate, but basic room.

Overall, we won't be recommending this hotel to any family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertswayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTerReien, Manager at Canalview Hotel Ter Reien, responded to this review, 24 December 2009
Hi

When you arrived, the chambermaids were running a bit late since December is quite a busy month.
The room wasn't cleaned upon arrival and we didn't know.
This problem would obviously been solved and it was.

Then the discussion started of the 'disgusting' mattrasscover.
As it was explained, this would of course be changed as well since hygiene and cleanliness are the most important things in a hotel.

It was several times repeated that sheets are been picked up and washed by a compagny and towels and mattrass covers, cushions etc are being washed indoors.

Then when this issue was sorted the discussion of the fact that it wasn't going to be changed was the problem.

The only response on such a hypothetical question is that this is not true but very difficult to prove and expecially when the person asking isn't really listening.

About the towels, it is true that some stains cannot be washed out which doesn't mean that they are not clean.
We do try to avoid to have these towels in use but sometimes this happens.

Hotel Ter Reien is a family run hotel with friendly people BUT we are only human and we can only respond to the same question so many times and a person isn't unfriendly when he/she isn't giving the answer the other want's to hear.

We are a basic, lower budget hotel that offers good value for money in a central position of the centre of Brugge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Although not the biggest of rooms and with a very small bedroom , the perfect situation of the hotel more than made up for this as well as the spotless nature of the rooms and the more than acceptable range of the breakfast buffet. Staff were pleasant and helpful as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totallyuntamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#70 of 97 in Bruges
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#81 of 97 in Bruges
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#47 of 97 in Bruges
2,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#69 of 97 in Bruges
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalview Hotel Ter Reien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalview Hotel Ter Reien

Property: Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Address: Langestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canalview Hotel Ter Reien 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Reien is situated an arm's length from the Burg and the Main Market square. On top of its central location, the hotel has a quiet placement away from all commotion and charges a reasonable price. An ideal choice for those who prefer individual and friendly service. Enjoy your stay in a relaxed and casual ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Canalview Hotel Ter Reien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Reien Hotel
Ter Reien Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing