We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ter Brughe - Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ter Brughe - Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Just got back from Bruges after a three day break for my birthday. Stayed at this hotel. What a super place - a little gem of a place. Close enough to be in the heart of things in the city, but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet.Everything about the hotel oozes olde worlde charm. The room we had on second floor was a good size and the bed was huge. Lovely soft, white towels in the bathroom and a lovely warm room (especially when you came in after a night out, the warm room was just heaven). Breakfast (included in the room rate) was the usual continental but there was plenty of it. If you are not good with stairs, then book a lower ground room. The steps are quite steep. All in all a great hotel and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Great restaurant Huzaar - massive meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzaNorthernlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    429
    123
    39
    16
See reviews for
101
648
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel is very well located to the center and it was easy to get to from the station. We had a room with canal view which was absolutly amazing. The room was big, nice and clean.
The only thing we did not like is a very expensive internet and the receptionist did not tell us that we cant use it in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaTripzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Myself and my partner stayed for 4 nights during October. Particularly busy time for the hotel as there was a football match in the town (which was the big point of converstion throughtout the weekend). We walked to the hotel from the station as we couldn't get a taxi. As soon as we walked in the hotel we could really feel the heat in the lobby. We got room 1, which was a great room. It was on the -1 floor beside the breakfast room, the canal is right beside the river. Great room when you love to waking up looking out at ducks on the canal and about 10 feet from the breakfast room, besides that it would just be a basic room but all we wanted was a be and a shower.

As far as continental breakfasts goes this is really good. Not short of anything and all fresh including bread, crossants and dairy yogurt. The hotel is very well located because it is really close to the market square but in a really quiet and peacefull part of the city. Unlike other reviewers we both had really good sleep everynight.

Staff were helpful and could speak english fine. The bar/lounge was a really nice place to relax after a long day of walking and sightseeing infront of a nice glass of the local beer (brugge zot).

If there was any bad points I would say that the hotel is very basic, but that's all we paid for and expected. Don't know if I'd call it a 4 star, but good all the same

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sobri07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Just spent 4 nights in Bruges and was recommended by my travel agent to go to Hotel Ter Bruges as it was "lovely"....................actually, it was quite basic and nothing special.
We paid for an upgrade to a De-Luxe Room.........what a joke! All it meant was a cheap hairdryer in the bathroom and a shower head attached to the taps! No walk-in shower which made it quite difficult as all you can do is stand in the bath and shower yourself down. My wife refuses to get into a bath she hasn't cleaned herself! The room was large with a super-king bed which was really comfortable and the room was clean as was the bathroom.
There was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room so I asked reception twice for 2 pots of tea which I carried to the room and was charged 10 euros for the pleasure!
Breakfast like most european hotels was a continental offering but again, very basic. Bread, cheese,a couple of cereals, bananas,apples and some cold meat which didn't look very appetising. My wife could only have a banana for breakfast because of the poor choice.
Considering the cost was 170 euros per night bed & breakfast we both felt this hotel could do better.

Room Tip: Ask for room 41 overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanleystandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

very romantic, very quite region though centrally located. nice staff, fair price.

Room Tip: room 22 has a nice view to the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipzib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Coates, Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. First the good points -

The location is fantastic, right next to the canal, and only a 5 minute walk from the lovely Markt, you'd think it was further way though it was so quiet and peaceful.

The building itself is lovely and quaint, obviously very old and full of character. The reception was very nice as was the bar and breakfast room. Speaking of breakfast, it was lovely - there was plenty to choose from and it was all very fresh, the croissants and pain au chocolat were amongst the best I've ever had

The staff that we saw (mainly on reception and in the breakfast room were pleasant and polite

Our room was on the ground floor so no stairs to climb which was good! We had a basic room overlooking the canal (room 7) and it was very comfortable with a large bed, wardrobe, bedside table, desk, chairs and small tv. The bathroom was basic and a bit 'white' (a splash of colour would have brightened things up a bit!) but it was clean and it was lovely having a bath rather than just a shower so I could soak my tired legs and feet after a day's sightseeing. We didn't have an issue with the towels, they looked new and were reasonably soft and fluffy - not threadbare in the least as other reviewers have suggested, but maybe they've invested in new ones recently! I didn't use the shower attachment as a shower as such, I washed my hair in the bath so it wasn't an issue for me.

And now the not so good -

The main thing for us was our ceiling - which happened to be the room above's floor boards. It was a lovely wooden ceiling, obviously very old, but my goodness it creaked so loudly every time the occupants above walked about! Unfortunately they were up early in the morning (around 4:45am, probably for the loo) and it woke us both up the noise was so bad. Once we were awake we couldn't get back to sleep - just as we nodded off they were up and about again, so after 2 nights we were pretty tired.

We were there at the end of October so it wasn't thathot weather wise, having said that we slept with the windows open as the room was quite warm, as a result I ended up with a couple of nasty mozzy bites which surprised me, I didn't think it was the time of year for them....I don't think I'd like to stay there in the hotter months as there's no air conditioning, and I wouldn't want to have to sleep in the room with the windows closed if it was much hotter

All in all it's a lovely hotel, very picturesque and in an ideal location...but if I was to go again I think I'd pay for a deluxe room in the hope that it would be quieter.

Room Tip: I would definitely consider paying more for an upgrade - I think you'd get a better night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev_Lewis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in October. The hotel’s location is perfect. It is centrally located and many of the rooms have canal view. Our room opened up right on the canal. The hotel has a charming old feel to it as the building is very old and the common spaces have been nicely remodeled. The breakfast was nice. There was a fresh batch of croissants and a variety of fresh breads available daily along with meats, cheeses, and various cereals. The hotel is also close to major bus stops so if you need to take a bus from the train station get off at Jan Van Eyck square and walk 2-3 minutes to the hotel. I do think the rooms need upgrades. The caulking was peeling off in the bathroom. The tub did not have a shower curtain or a hook to hang the shower head up high so you are forced to hold the shower head in your hand as you attempt to wash. I found that very uncomfortable. Another thing that I did not like was that not only do you have to pay for the Wi-Fi but it was expensive. I think a Wi-Fi connection should be free or cost very little. The hotel charges 2euros for 30 minutes. The front desk staff, while helpful and knowledgeable, did not seem to be too excited about being there. I won’t say they were rude, because they weren’t, but I think they could make a bit more of an effort. Overall, it’s a decent hotel which is centrally located with a nice canal view. I would recommend the hotel invest in shower curtains and hooks for the shower head had to be hung above you so you are not struggling to wash and hold the shower head at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandriaGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing