We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, that is all”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average, that is all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

The beds were ok.
The customer service was so so.
The tv was the smallest tv I think I have ever seen.

MAJOR CON...it isn't located extremely close to the city center.

Nice views out the room, but there are tons of hotels in the area that are 'starred' less than this hotel and I thought were better quality.

Only stay here if you get a good price, otherwise consider a different hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiscingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    437
    125
    39
    17
See reviews for
102
657
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

we stayed 3 nights and the hotel was fantastic. checked in at 1am and were welcomed by a friendly face who made it really easy. room overlooked the canal - which was great, rooms 2,3,4 - and we had heard the mosquitos may be a problem but the room was epuipped with a mozzie zapper and a mini bar, TV. Breakfast in continental style with plenty of coffee or tea refills available, bread and cheese selection was refilled in running and the waitress turned a blind eye when i left with a handful of stuff from the servery. really well located and less than 10 mins walk to main square (bell tower) and lots of nice bars 5 mins away. ample parking available - we didn't use the hotel garages and on street parking was fine. well worth the £80 per room per night we paid through expedia and will definately go back.

Room Tip: rooms 2,3,4 overlooked the canal - others will do the same at a higher level but there are some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Brugge is a lovely City. Good location just on the north side of the tourist centre, a short walk to the Markt Square. A nice quiet area. If you have a car suggest you park at the train station 3.5€ per day as parking next to hotel difficult.

We had a superior room overlooking the canal which had a great view. A very large room with character, exposed roof beams, only downside was there was no air conditioning and it was hot when we stayed and leaving the windows open risked the mosquitos from the canal.
Breakfast in the cellar were good (continental) with plenty of choice.

Wifi in the hotel only worked in the lounge area, not in the room.

Standard double room rates displayed at the hotel were 60€ per night.

Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Can only comment on the superior room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApplegarthWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Just stayed in this hotel last week, it is a short 10 minutes from the Markt, on a quiet canal side street.
Room 53 was very large! It is true about not having a shower curtain, but its not the end of the world! Very clean and spacious bathroom.
Bed was comfortable and breakfast was standard European style, which will set you up for the days sightseeing around a fabulous city!
Mini bar was very expensive, but well stocked. Service was great, even to the point when we were being given our keys to the room, the cleaner switched of the vacum cleaner so we could hear the directions to our room. This was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Stumbled on the Chocolate Museum when we took a different route to the Markt. Well worth a detour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and received a really friendly services from all staff. The hotel is in a great location a short walk from the Market and next to a beautiful canal. The hotel is very pretty and classically decorated.
The breakfasts were also good. Lovely fresh coffee and cereals, pastries, rolls, cheese, meat etc.
The only negative point would be that the walls to our room were very thin so we could hear our neighbours very clearly- even in the shower! Thankfully they were not very noisy but it may be an issue for you if you're unlucky with your neighbour.
Overall this is a lovely hotel and very clean and well presented.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

just fantastic hotel with atmosphere...I think ideal for couples without children...big rooms and buthrooms, cosy bar lounge/bar area... everything made with taste and nostalgic touch

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here (four of us, in two adjacent rooms) and were very happy with the comfortable rooms, the great old-world charm, and the wonderful breakfast! As Americans, we are used to more food in the mornings, and this offered a wide variety of things to get us going in the morning. Very personable staff.

Room Tip: There are rooms that don't overlook the canal, so you'll need to ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing