We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back in time”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Going back in time”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Fantastic old fashioned Bruges hotel situated right on the canal side.
Lovely staff who really give the impression that they want you to have a fantastic stay in this beautiful city.
Well appointed rooms with wonderful modern bathrooms, only downside was the very subdued lighting in the room and the creaking floorboards of the room above!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    440
    128
    41
    18
See reviews for
104
666
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Booked this hotel last minute based on pictures and good reviews. Drove up from paris and arrived on a sunday afternoon. Lady behind the desk was more interested in the classifieds rather than receiving us. Didn't even utter the word "welcome" nor asked if we needed help with our luggage since the old building didn't have a lift. Got our passport details, gave us the room key and went straight back to reading the classifieds in the sunday paper before we could even turn around from the desk. That gesture is rude in any country. The middle aged guy who replaced her before dinner was no different. Asking him for anything seemed like a bother since he was out of his desk and watching TV in the small lobby. The old guy (probably the manager) the following morning was better. Too bad since it was a charming old hotel with a lovely canal beside it. Rooms were dated with old lumpy matressess but the bathroom was updated but without a shower curtain . Rooms were clean but smelled of a pungent "old spice" - like room freshener. Breakfast was good and hearty in a really cosy basement dining room with views of the canal but none of the staff uttered the words "good morning". The staff were very serious (as if fornidden to smile) and simply looked at guests while they dined. That set the tone for everyone eating there. Guests were talking in hush tones looking at their plates as they ate as if afraid to do or say anything that might offend the staff. Really weird atmosphere. No one was warm or hospitable at all even when it came to making suggestions as to where to eat or go or parking instructions. The map they provide (only when asked) is a poor photocopy in a machine with no ink that only an electron microscope could read. It was a pain to read. This is a nice looking period hotel let down by a staff that was downright cold. Truly expected more from this hotel. Go elsewhere. Belgians are more fun than this. After all, this is the land of good chocolate and beer.

Room Tip: Sorry but just find another hotel for there are plenty. If the canal view is what draws you to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glaucomadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had a room on the second floor which was a bit of a struggle with the cases but after that OK. We were offered help with the case. We had been able to leave our cases before checking in ery useful and again after we had checked out.
Our room was spacious and like most things in Bruges - old looking but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was modern and roomy. We both had a great nights sleep on the most comfortable bed we've had in a hotel.
Breakfast was all good with special mention going to the range of breads on offer.
Staff were all friendly and efficient.
Look out for Jan De Clerck at Academiestraat just over the canal and round the corner. Quality chocolates cheaper than any we saw elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We have just come back from a 4 night stay in this hotel and we were very happy with the whole experience. Our room, number 2, was on the ground floor with a view onto the canal.
The room was clean but could have been made more spacious by removing at least one of the three chairs and one of the tables. The bathroom could also have done with a shower curtain as morning showers often left the floor wet. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful.
The location of this hotel is ideal as only 5 minutes walk from the centre and very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and 4 look out on to the canal and are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandBev_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is a beautiful old hotel. Great location. We stayed here in September on the 6 floor with no lift, but did not mind once we got to the room! Besides it is clearly stated that there is no lift. The room was large room with a great view. The bathroom was modern though it had a handheld shower. Very clean with a safe. The parking garage was great, the breakfast was great with a lot of choices. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We loved this hotel! All the staff were very friendly. The room was spotless. The all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet was brilliant. Plenty of choice. I would definitely book there again. The hotel was in a very quiet location but only 5 minutes from the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights in September. The hotel is in a good position, a few minutes walk to the town square and quiet at night. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated, but our bedroom overlooked the canal and was large, with original features and a modern bathroom. The staff at all times were pleasant and whilst they didn't have room in their car park, they directed us to an underground car park 5 minutes away that cost €8.60 per day to park - a real bargain in Brugge. We had a lovely stay in Brugge and would happily stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing