We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with character”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A hotel with character”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for part of our anniversary weekend and on our 1st visit to Bruges. The hotel is located by the side of a canal and within easy walking distance to the main squares and attractions of Bruges. It is full of character and has been thoughtfully furnished to go with the period of the property throughout. The staff were helpful and friendly. There is a small bar for drinks at night or teas/coffees during the day and a lovely breakfast room located down in what must have been the cellar. Breakfast was included and was good with the usual variety of food available, although no hot food, and unfortunately for me, no fruit. Our room was furnished in the style of the property but the bathroom had been refitted and was modern. Unfortunately, and I`d already read this from other reviews, although the bathroom is extremely modern, it only has a bath with a shower attachment, no shower, a little surprising since most travellers want showers in the morning and/or evening but we had to have baths instead. We were on the top floor so had terrific views over the rooftops and across Bruges.
The other downside to this hotel is that it doesnt have a lift and is on several different levels even on the ground floor so it would be no good for anyone with mobility issues, even the front entrance is up some steep stone steps. I couldnt see where there could be a room for anyone with a disability as there appeared to be no access into the hotel or any of the rooms other than by steps or stairs. However, despite this, we would stop here again and really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel if you have any disability or mobility issues as there is no lift and the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    449
    135
    42
    20
See reviews for
106
684
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent a very comfortable night here, so much so that if my brother-in-law hadn't knocked on the door, we would probably have slept until noon. The room wasn't huge, but was ample for us even though we are not, by any stretch of the imagination, small. The gentleman on the reception desk was very helpful, as was the night porter, and all the staff that we came into contact with, were very friendly - in three languages!
Breakfast in the lovely converted cellar was on the snug side, but filling enough for us not to bother with lunch.
I would recommend the Hotel Ter Brughe as a well priced, well situated, clean, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The Hotel Ter Brughe is a lovely little hotel overlooking a beautiful canal. The rooms were of an excellent standard, with good comfortable beds and had a nice view of the water below. The breakfast was served in a lovely old room with views onto the canal and was of an excellent standard, with a choice of many cold meats, cheeses, croissants, cereals and patisseries. We arrived late on a Friday night (just before midnight) and the staff were welcoming and even in spite of the time, were only too happy to take out a map for us and show us the hotel's location and places of interest. None of the major sites, such as the central square and breweries are ever more than a ten minute walk away. We had a lovely stay and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to others..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsurferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was old, near the canals and we could park the car in secure parking. It was a lovely setting, the car was locked away in a garage around the corner and it was only a few minutes walk to the Market Square. Very good breakfast setting and modern bathroom facilities. I would have preferred a shower curtain to have a "stand up" shower and the only thing I really missed was tea/coffee making facilities although there was a mini bar in the room offering alcoholic and soft drinks. Having a large case to lug up two flights of stairs was a bit of a hassle but if we stayed again, we'd take two cases!

Room Tip: No lift, so think what you have to carry up stairs! And if you want a hot drink you have to go downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMRDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Fantastic old fashioned Bruges hotel situated right on the canal side.
Lovely staff who really give the impression that they want you to have a fantastic stay in this beautiful city.
Well appointed rooms with wonderful modern bathrooms, only downside was the very subdued lighting in the room and the creaking floorboards of the room above!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plato22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Booked this hotel last minute based on pictures and good reviews. Drove up from paris and arrived on a sunday afternoon. Lady behind the desk was more interested in the classifieds rather than receiving us. Didn't even utter the word "welcome" nor asked if we needed help with our luggage since the old building didn't have a lift. Got our passport details, gave us the room key and went straight back to reading the classifieds in the sunday paper before we could even turn around from the desk. That gesture is rude in any country. The middle aged guy who replaced her before dinner was no different. Asking him for anything seemed like a bother since he was out of his desk and watching TV in the small lobby. The old guy (probably the manager) the following morning was better. Too bad since it was a charming old hotel with a lovely canal beside it. Rooms were dated with old lumpy matressess but the bathroom was updated but without a shower curtain . Rooms were clean but smelled of a pungent "old spice" - like room freshener. Breakfast was good and hearty in a really cosy basement dining room with views of the canal but none of the staff uttered the words "good morning". The staff were very serious (as if fornidden to smile) and simply looked at guests while they dined. That set the tone for everyone eating there. Guests were talking in hush tones looking at their plates as they ate as if afraid to do or say anything that might offend the staff. Really weird atmosphere. No one was warm or hospitable at all even when it came to making suggestions as to where to eat or go or parking instructions. The map they provide (only when asked) is a poor photocopy in a machine with no ink that only an electron microscope could read. It was a pain to read. This is a nice looking period hotel let down by a staff that was downright cold. Truly expected more from this hotel. Go elsewhere. Belgians are more fun than this. After all, this is the land of good chocolate and beer.

Room Tip: Sorry but just find another hotel for there are plenty. If the canal view is what draws you to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glaucomadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had a room on the second floor which was a bit of a struggle with the cases but after that OK. We were offered help with the case. We had been able to leave our cases before checking in ery useful and again after we had checked out.
Our room was spacious and like most things in Bruges - old looking but very clean and tidy. The bathroom was modern and roomy. We both had a great nights sleep on the most comfortable bed we've had in a hotel.
Breakfast was all good with special mention going to the range of breads on offer.
Staff were all friendly and efficient.
Look out for Jan De Clerck at Academiestraat just over the canal and round the corner. Quality chocolates cheaper than any we saw elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#29 of 97 in Bruges
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing