We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, full of character”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Old historic building with lovely canal views, short walking distance to Centrum. No lifts so not good for disabled persons, very steep steps , spotlessly clean and we had room 62 that had large bathroom, no shower , but ideal for a long soak . No tea or coffee facilities, take your own
Small ground floor bar area, breakfast continental style served in cellar, again steep steps down
Overall ideal location for short break , pay extra for a garage, as parking limited

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank gatekeeper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

This was our first visit to Bruges. This hotel was super full of character. Situated only 5-10min from main square. The only drawback was no tea coffee facilities in the room. The rooms were spacious. Breakfast is served in the cellar and frequently relenished there was also plenty to choose from. There was not a garage free but could purchase a permit for parking at the hotel only drawback was you had to reset it every 4 hours.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed for a Friday night. We had an attic room which was spotlessly clean with spacious bathroom. Like most rooms I believe in this hotel the wondow overlooks the canal. This is an old building so don't expect perfectly level floors etc.
We arrived at 11am and were in our room and in the reserved garage straight away. Check out the next day is at 11am.
Large continental breakfast where you help yourself.
Hotel is in an ideal location walking distance from everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackywebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and were not dissappointed. The hotel is ideally located just a short walk from the main square in a quiet location.
The rooms are clean and well maintained and I would have rated it 5* except that the room didn't have a shower and the breakfast room was so hot,

The staff were both friendly and helpful

The bonus is that it has private parking at 20Euros per night

Would stay there again

Room Tip: Room 17, large, quiet and overlooks the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

From the outside this hotel looks very quaint and picturesque and inside is pretty much the same. There are very steep steps up into the foyer and up to the first floor therefore this hotel would not suit anyone with mobility issues. The staff, as mentioned in other reviews, are rather dour and non-interactive. Our room was on the first floor approximately above the hotel bar and was rather dark and cramped even though it was fairly large. The only non-artificial light came in from the fire escape which intersected the room and the bathroom. I strongly believe that our room was previously part of the room next door and partitioned off with a thin dividing wall because any footsteps heard next door make the floorboards creak in our room. This belief was reinforced when the couple next door came home in the early hours and started to have sex. Each word of their "conversation" was heard through the thin walls despite the fact that they had left their TV on quite loud. Part way through their shenanigans I got up and went to the bathroom and as I passed by the fire escape I looked out and saw a male looking in through the windows of the next door room. As I hadn't put any lights on I hadn't drawn any attention to the fact that I was witnessing a voyeur at work. This male eventually went back down the fire escape and I have to say that he resembled the night porter (something to do with a ponytail). When I went back to bed the couple next door were quiet but the TV was still blaring out. A sleepless night. The next night was very similar with regards to the early hours and the TV (no shenanigans) - another sleepless night. I did complain about the noise to the hotel management but they weren't that interested stating that the couple were leaving that day. I didn't mention about the voyeur as I didn't think they would believe a word I said. I have to say that I could hardly believe it myself!
On the plus side the breakfast was nice despite the attitude of the staff, with pleasant views of the canal and other buildings plus it was only 10 minutes walk to the center of town. If I return to Bruges I would probably stay at the Hotel Ibis which looks quite new and contemporary. Bruges is a fantastic place to visit and will be remembered for a long time but for the right reasons.
Despite the hotel we had a great time in Bruges and would like to recommend the following establishments:
To drink - The Beer Wall in Wollesstraat. Sit on the balcony overlooking the canal drinking a nice glass of Kwak (8%!!) or Zot Blonde (6%). The Cafe 'T Klein Venetie in Braambergstraat (diagonally opposite The Beer Wall) which is close to one of the canals/boat rides and has a jukebox. The 't Brugs Beertjes in Kemelstraat which looks like a shop but is a very fine watering hole that has literally hundreds of different beers to offer (nice snacks too). Most or any of the cafe/restaurants around the main square.
To eat - Most or any of the main cafe/restaurants around the main square. El Churrasco Argentino (steak house) in Vlamingstraat. Pieter Pourbus in Pieter Pourbusstraat (classy) and finally The Habit in Kemelstraat. We had breakfast/brunch here on our last day and even though the restaurant had just opened for the day, the staff were charming and friendly (great grub too with sizable portions).
For chocolate - We bought our choccies from Stephan Dumon in Oude Burg (the Simon Stevin Square) which didn't last long when we got them home and the presentation boxes we gave to friends were well received. Quality and value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal or one in the eves (more natural light)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_Edantic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

just a one night stay for the football match (Brugge v Newcastle United)... a quiet hotel within easy walking distance of the centre, garage parking for additional cost. The rooms were adequate but no courtesy tray for making tea & coffee in the room and no shower (hand held spray combined bath taps). Breakfast is self service continental downstairs with an adequate choice of the usual fayre.

no lift and plenty of stairs, not for those with any mobility concerns.

good value overall.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the canal have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Great hotel 5 mins walk from main square,
Rooms a little on the dark side but very clean .also room had what must be the worlds smallest tv.
Breakfast was very good with enough to please most tastes.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilalvod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Karel de Stoute
Hotel Karel de Stoute
#37 of 97 in Bruges
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £91 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing