We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Decided to stay with this hotel based on the good reviews it had here and the decent price on Expedia. Was not disappointed as the hotel is just the right distance away from the main Markt square, so it was perfectly quite at night. The reception staff were pleasant and friendly, especially the woman who checked us in! The room we got was lovely, clean and spacious; we chose the superior terrace/street view, and we ended up with a poor view straight into the building next door as the streets are very small, so next time I would possibly choose canal view, but it was nothing to really moan about! The breakfast was very good, overlooking the canal, with a selection of fresh bread, croissants, different cheese, cold meats, jams, eggs, toast, cereals, I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts! Overall I loved this hotel stay and when coming back to Bruges again I will definitely be choosing this hotel!

Room Tip: Possibly choose a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    437
    125
    39
    17
See reviews for
102
657
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from 3 night stay at this character hotel. Good location overlooking Canal. We booked a superior room and found this to be spacious and comfortable. Bed was comfy, but pillows small and lumpy. Room was well heated and clean. Bathroom large but hand held shower attachment and no shower curtain, also towels thin and worn. Breakfast typical European fare with cold meats,cheeses and breads. Breakfast room is located in basement and is quite cramped when busy. a plus was the friendly, helpful staff. Great little bar area and reasonably priced drinks.

Brugge is a lovely small town with lots of interesting things to do. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have Canal views. Be aware that this hotel doesn't have a lift anf the stairs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayloversnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton-Cleveleys
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

A traditional Bruges building quirky & interesting. A short & pleasant walk to the centre. (en route could pop into a little cellar pub called Poatersgat for a beer. Breakfast was very pleasant room was too & the window opened to the canal so you could feed the ducks if you wanted. Simply loved Bruges it is like being transported back to medieval times with some interesting and amazing buildings. Canals, chocolate shops beautiful churches and many places to eat & drink. I was even won over by the Belgian beer and I dont drink beer!! Its not too cheap though being so touristy but we found some great places. Loved the Cafe Craenenburg in the market place lovely food excellent service and such a nice atmosphere. Detaverner Patisserie Tea Room. 2be Bruges a great store and you can get a lovely hot choc or beer check out the sink in the ladies loo. You can cover everything wandering around for the weekend but eat at a reasonable time on Sunday evening as they close earlier. The bus tour and boat tours are not as informative as I hoped so if you get some good walking tour instructions that would probably be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Salvador
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located only 5 minutes from the main square. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of it. Our room was plenty a decent size but could do with been updated. The bathroom had lots of hot water but a hand held shower and no shower curtain. Wifi was good but i feel the hotel was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked this hotel as part of a train+hotel package with Eurostar, which was incredibly good value. It is perfectly located; easy-peasy walking distance to everything in the city centre but just that tiny bit of distance to provide peace and quiet. We had a Superior Room which was spacious and beautifully decorated. My only complaint about the whole stay is that there was no mirror in the bedroom, meaning the only mirror available was in the bathroom where there was no natural light. This is a minor quibble though as the room was clean, airy and quiet. Actually a really nice space to loaf about in, between sight-seeing jaunts. Breakfast was a good continental buffet and the bar area is a comfy place for a nightcap. Staff are super-friendly too. I would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floopert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Bruges and this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast is also very nice. This hotel is just a short 10 minute wall to the centre of town with all its history, bars and restaurants. Well worth a visit.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had such a great stay!

I recommend this very nice and traditionnal hotel only 10 minutes away from the center of the city!
The hotel is clean, the people at the front desk are very nice. It is just a great place to go!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing