We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at this hotel. Room was excellent, spacious and comfortable. Location was convenient for main square and sights. Staff was friendly and helpful. Unique experience to stay in this beautiful old building on the canal. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    440
    128
    41
    18
See reviews for
104
665
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We've just spent 5 days in Hotel Ter Brughe, Bruges, what a great find! The room was lovely, vaulted and with everything you could need, the staff were friendly and gave us great advice about local attractions and restaurants. the only tiny criticism (and it's very tine) is that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, however this just meant we had to spend more time enjoying the scenery in Bruges!

Room Tip: As for one of the vaulted rooms if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo6284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

It feels like you are going back in time when you stay here but there have been renovations, e.g. the bathroom, don't worry! It was kinda fun to watch TV on the 13" color tube TV. i can't even remember the last time I saw one! Excellent customer service. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

having fairly recently been made a wheelchair user, I hadn't thought to ask if the hotel was suitable. In my situation, the hotel informed me that it wasn't suitable and very kindly agreed to refund the fees. Due to my card having been cloned whilst in the USA recently, I had to have a new card and this considerably complicated the refund issue with the banks etc. Ellen from the Ter Brughe was so helpful, going out of her way and making every effort to help reconcile the matter, which took several weeks.

To me this is an indication of first class customer service and although regrettably we didn't get to stop there, I have the impression that those who do will find a wonderful, helpful Hotel. Once again, thank you so much Ellen and the Hotel Ter Brughe from a very happy and satisfied Jack & Lesley Thomas

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackthomasKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I loved this hotel. The building has loads of character, rooms were immaculate and lovely decor with muted colours and classic furniture. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a great location - only 5 minutes or so walk from the main square but very quiet. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlinthenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Decided to opt for this hotel after reading some great reviews on Trip Advisor and myself and my partner were not disappointed. We were given the most fantastic double room on the top floor for the 2 nights we were there - and the hotel's reception service, covering everything from restaurant recommendations to sight-seeing and luggage storage, was second to none. The location is just a short walk from the main Market Square and its situation on the canalside is beautiful, both by day and night. This hotel definitely enhanced our stay in Bruges and I would most certainly recommend it. Look forward to going back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here for one night on 22nd April. We enjoyed our stay. Room was old style, however, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was enjoyable and the location was great. Would have liked to spend another night there and see more of Bruges, but had to move on due to prearranged travel plans.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing