We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotel choices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I loved our 2 night stay here. We paid extra for a canal view and we loved it. The receptionist we had - I am so sad we didn't get or remember his name but he was EXCELLENT. A tall gentleman in his 30s/early40s? - very sweet, helpful and out going - he made our stay amazing and so memorable. When we first arrived he gave us a map, showed us where lovers lake was, some good places to eat, where he likes to go out and where we could take canal tours. He taught us how to say Hello and Thank You in Dutch (he was Dutch but spoke very good English). Our room was across from the breakfast room (Room 1) so it was right on the canal and it was ADORABLE! The room had a double door system to keep sound out which was great. Everything was clean and lots of space. There was a fridge and a safe - the fridge is great for bringing a bottle of wine and snacks back to the room. You will get mosquitos if you open the windows because of the canal but we had a mosquito repellent plug in the wall. We did kill a few that got in and I got 1 bite during out 3 day, 2 night stay. The breakfast was good - I'll admit the scrambled "eggs" are probably made from powder but they were edible and they also offered breads, croissants, a cheese selection, jam, bacon, sausage, yogurt, toast, apple slices, hard boiled eggs - better than most other hotels that just offer croissants and bread alone. All in all we loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    429
    123
    39
    16
See reviews for
101
648
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

A two night stay in lovely Bruges at this hotel was fab, the hotel was well located once you got your bearings! The hotel is very old so you can't expect aircon but my room was very spacious with a lovely Bath! Breakfast was generous and a good range! I wouldn't say I was blown away by the hotel and I'd probably try somewhere else if I came again but it was still nice!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenSBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

This attractive understated small canal side hotel is a little out of the centre and a long walk from the station, but this is an advantage as the area is quiet. Inside the hotel it is less attractive with the reception area, small bar, and the bedroom needing a major update. Our cramped room's only redeeming feature was the window overlooking tne canal with plenty of swans and ducks circling awaiting breakfast in the morning. The good sized bathroom was badly equipped with no screen on the bath hand shower, and a badly sited toilet roll holder intruding into the seating position. No fluffy towels or quality bedding here.

In contrast to the poor room, the breakfast room below the hotel at water level is large and bright., and the buffet adequate

The staff are very helpful although clearly overwhelmed at times

Room Tip: Ask for canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just got back having stayed with my wife on a short break, we stayed from 16th to 19th September. On arrival at reception met by a very polite and helpful gentleman nothing seemed too much trouble. Once issued with our key he helped answer questions on where we wanted to visit and where we could eat on an evening as we had only booked B&B. This is our 3rd visit to Brugge and we can honestly say it is the best hotel in Brugge we have stayed in. The room was clean well presented very comfy with plenty of space. Hotel décor is in keeping with the period.The only negative point is there is no shower screen (this has been reported in previous reviews). Breakfasts are more than adequate with a good variety of English & continental. The breakfast area is situated downstairs with a magnificent view of the canal. The hotel is ideally located for sightseeing and shopping situated 5 minutes walking time from the market square. There are plenty or restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance.

Our 3 night break has been a pleasure we enjoyed every minute. We were sad to leave yesterday but fear not we will return. Well done Ter Brughe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cropton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel is lovely and has a very personal feeling attached to it. Staff are very friendly and lovely people! Reading the reviews before you book this hotel will ensure you know what you are in for. Yes it IS an old building and it doesn't have an elevator, so if carrying your bags and belongings up stairs is going to be an issue then don't book it! The shower is hand held and there are no shower screens so if this is a problem then don't book it! But if you can get past these minor things, and appreciate that it is part of this hotel as an old building then you will love this hotel! Breakfast was lovely, location next to the canals was lovely and room was cosy. Highly reccomended for a more authentic stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely, quiet old hotel for 2 nights in September - so no mosquitoes or need of a fan! We had a fabulous room on the canal with a king size bed, lots of seating & even a glassed in nook directly over the canal. Great spot to people watch, read or just relax! Breakfast was great with everything from eggs & cereals to scrumptious breads & cheeses. Would definitely stay here again. Only thing I did miss was a stand up shower, but the bathroom was roomy.

Room Tip: We had Room #40 & not only was it spacious & lovely, it didn't have many stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Some of the front of house staff were very good, some not so. We were not told that in order for the lights to work in the room, you had to use your room key to turn them on so that they worked the normal way. For the first few days, we had to continually turn the lights on, as they would dim after a short time. We had never encountered this before, and should have been told before we went to the room. We had a lovely room, but it was a lot of stairs to climb to get there. The hotel is very hard to find once you get into Bruges so make sure you have very good directions. Even our Sat Nav couldn't find it. There were no large towels in the bathroom. No shower. Only shower fitment in the bath which takes forever to fill. Bruges is a lovely area and you will enjoy it. There can be a lot of mossies in the hotel as it is near the canals. Beware, we did get bitten.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing