We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is set in a lovely part of bruge, its quite and only 5 mins walk to the market.
We were very happy with the room, the bed was so comfortable, room was warm, bathroom a good size, bath lovely, no shower facilities, only the shower head to wash hair, but we was happy with that.
Did find it amusing though, as there is a sign in the bathroom about saving water, yet we had to have baths everyday, didnt make much sense. ..
The breakfast is ok, not our sort of thing, dont do continental, but to be honest we prefer go to out and eat so wasnt a problem.
Staff are very helpful and friendly, cant say much more, other then that we would stay here again. Thanks x

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maisey1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    437
    125
    40
    17
See reviews for
102
658
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked on line and hoped it was a good choice. The price was excellent by booking in advance. Located on a canal but in a quieter part of Bruge - it took about 5 - 10 mins to walk to the Main Square where the Christmas Market and Ice-Skating Rink were. Staff were helpful and friendly. The Breakfast (included in the price) was excellent with a hot/cold Buffet. The Hotel (like most in Bruge at this time of year) was full and so we were very pleased to have not just turned up! The only disappointment was that we had booked superior rooms with a view - expecting the cobbled roads or the canal. The Hotel classed two rooms over-looking a small terrace as' rooms with views'. I certainly didn't think so and would definitely not have wanted them in the Summer when people would be drinking literally outside the window. Also, one room was far better than the other in terms of size and arrangement - yet cost the same - one couple disappointed! Also, car parking an extra 20 euros per night.

Room Tip: Check room location before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persis647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our first trip to Bruges and so we weren't sure on which locations were good for all the sights. We needn't have worried as this hotel was in a great location. 5 minutes walk from the markt and situated on one of the canals it was perfect.
The hotel was lovely and warm and the staff were welcoming and helpful. Our room (not overlooking the canal) was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was large and well-stocked with towels & toiletries. The shower was hand-held which was a shame - although the bath was nice & deep and filled quickly. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Unlike other reviews, our room was very quiet and you could only hear other people if they were right outside your door. The comprehensive breakfast was served in the cellar restaurant overlooking the canal and was very nice.
Apart from the shower, the only other improvement to the room would be to have tea/coffee-making facilities available. When you've spent all day walking round in the cold it would be nice to sit with a cup of tea & relax!
If I was going back to Bruges, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitty79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our 3rd stay at this lovely hotel. In a great position by the canal and only a 10 minute walk to the central square.

The room was warm, quiet and very comfy, a good nights sleep was had by us both.

A nice new touch was the hot breakfast choice of eggs,bacon and sausage as well as the usual cold meats, toast,cereal pastries and juices.

Looking forward to our next visit in the new year.

If travelling by car the hotel has garages available on site, well worth booking as parking in the area is very difficult.

Room Tip: Book the secure garage as parking is very difficult in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Although most hotels in Brugges are in a good location as everything is in walking distance, this in a nice spot, peaceful, by a canal and minutes from the market square. We stayed here for 3 nights. It is traditional, charming, quirky and stylish. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and helped with a relaxed feel to the place. We had a canal room which was comfortable, warm and spacious. The breakfast has to be one of the best we've experienced for quantity and quality. Good for a feed up before long days of walking/sightseeing.
Shame no coffee and tea making facilities and no English speaking tv channels but these are small issues. Other than these we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tupeloking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel is really charming, the staff are friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable, room was very dark, even by day, but had an old quirky feel, the hotel dates back to 1470, and that shows with the sound proofing, not only could we hear the conversations in the rooms surrounding ours, we could actually hear breathing.fun for a short break, I actually woke in the night thinking someone was in the room,only to realise they were the other side of the wall.
Our friends were lucky with their room and had stone walls,but they had no hot water each morning!
Breakfast was really good, with lots of choice both hot and cold.
The hotel is in a very quiet location in Bruges, a five minute walk to the main Markt.
I liked this hotel, but not sure I would book again because of noise from other rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellybeans66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in this hotel for a weekend break. The hotel is well placed for walking into the sights of Bruges. It is a traditional hotel with a lovely welcoming reception with lots of Christmas decorations which made it very seasonal for us. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was massive and served downstairs where you sit at the same level as the canal which is quaint.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#31 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing