We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

very calm and quiet but still very close to everything. ten min walk from the famous square. Very helpful staff.

The one comment I have was that I booked a double room with obviously a double bed which was in fact two singles pushed together... a bit disappointing as it was a valentines day weekend away and didn't want to sleep in separate beds! they did put a sheet over the top the next day but its still not quite the same thing!

apart from that everything was amazing and the breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonstonejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just spent 3 nights here with 3 mates, really enjoyed it. Hotel was charming with it's wooden beams in the room and Breakfast room. Location is good, nice and quiet, while only a 10 minute walk from centre. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Two things to be aware of is that due to age of building there is no lift, which could be a problem to some guests, also shower in room was a little basic, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and one of the guys intends to come back with his wife.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 009140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Nice hotel next to the camel and lovely view for breakfast. Staff were great although parking could be an issue. Less than 10 mins walk into the square. Food was great although bed was two singles pushed together and room was very warm. Was woken each day by building works on going at the hotel sadly and probably a poor over sight by the hotel letting them rooms although was fully booked when we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snips43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent 3 pleasant nights in the hotel .We had a lovely room whose windows opened onto the canal . Within easy reach of the town , it enabled us to walk to various town monuments and sites , as well as restaurants .The staff were helpful and friendly .The breakfast room was pretty and the selection of breakfast products was large and excellent .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddys1Versailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed for three nights over a weekend. The hotel is in a great location just outside the busier parts of Bruges but within easy walking distance of the centre. About 15 euros in a taxi from the train station. We stayed in a superior room which was very comfortable and clean. We had no issues with noise some other reviewers have experienced. The breakfast is superb and in a lovely basement room. Reception staff were very helpful with booking hotels and restaurants.

A couple of small negatives which prevents 5 stars are a lack of a shower with only a hand held shower head in the bath and no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. This didn't really detract from a great stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room was very spacious with lots of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for one night while on a p&o mini cruise & I'm so glad we booked this hotel, a good walk from the train station & past the main square (5 mins from the square) very close to the bars, from the first time you see the hotel its breathtaking from the outside to all the area's inside, the rooms are huge! beautiful cellar where the breakfast room is & the very little bar area which is very comfortable & free Wi-Fi, everywhere is beautifuly decorated with amazing furniture & it's right on the canal with lovely views from rooms/bar & from outside seating area, breakfast was lovely with plenty of food (cold cuts, bacon & eggs) plus luggage storage if you have a late departure, it's costs around 100 euros a room but it's well worth the money p.s local beer by the small bottle around 2 euro at the bar (excellent night cap with superb surroundings)

Room Tip: ask for the 2 ground floor rooms! they are huge with double size windows which open up onto the cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumplurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We bought the package that included museum admissions, a nice dinner out, and a canal cruise. We didn't get to use the cruise as it poured rain the whole time. It was a good value because we also got a substantial breakfast every morning in a nice room on the canal. We were able to walk everywhere. I was a bit concerned because I had booked a "deluxe" room and we were sent down to the basement. Where I come from deluxe rooms are never in a basement. However, we ended up being very pleased with it. It was beautifully vaulted, very large, and the windows opened up right on the canal. Because of the stone and brickwork, it was extremely quiet and we slept well. For the same reason, we couldn't get wifi in our room, but there was a sitting room right outside our door with beautiful ambiance where I could catch up on email and posting photos. We only saw other people there once. I was a little bit concerned about security because the key is on a big tassel and you hand it over to the front desk when you leave. The keys are all hanging on hooks on the wall behind the desk. A couple of times, the desk was unmanned and anyone could take a key. The restaurant where they reserved us dinner was excellent, but the server spent a lot of time trying to upsell us. A charming hotel. We never used the little bar by the lobby, but it looked lovely and there were always people enjoying themselves in the bright room.

Room Tip: It seems to be worth it to upgrade to a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillicentMayflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#23 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#14 of 97 in Bruges
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#28 of 97 in Bruges
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £87 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing