We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Friendly hotel on bank of channel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“"Friendly hotel on bank of channel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is situated on North of Brugge on bank one of the channels directly. The building of hotel was built in 16th century as it looks like other brick buildings in Brugge. If we enter building and step to reception desk we can look around and we feel ourselves in a museum. As it is not a luxury hotel therefore it is furnished very simply but it is so enjoyable and pleasant. In the room there is safe box, fridge, LCD Tv. The bathroom is plain but there is bath tub, faucet, toilet, hair dryer and a lot of cosmetic articles. The dining hall is in basement of hotel whose windows look over the channel. The Staff is very kind and helpful. Variety and quality of breakfast is very good but somebody misses something, for example vegetables. Parking may be a little difficult therefore we must reserve a parking place on phone at reception desk before arriving. However we don’t have to bring any luggage we can park in a parking house which is 500 metres from hotel under a library. If somebody finds a good hotel with favourable condition and value for money rate in calmer part of old town on bank of channel it may be a very good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    437
    126
    40
    17
See reviews for
102
659
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We recently stayed here for a short break and found the hotel to be perfect! A quiet location a short walk from the busy streets.Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who gave us lots of local information and provided us with a map. This young lady also ran the hotel bar,which she did extremely well. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast excellent-hot and cold food provided. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the canal-wonderful.The hotel has some lovely features- the beams ,high ceilings and antique furniture.The hotel is recognised as a monument of importance in Bruges and long may it stay this way. The breakfast room has some windows overlooking the canal which is very pleasant in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supershoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The location is good but keep in mind this is definitely not a luxury hotel. It has a bed and breakfast feel. Speaking of breakfast, this is included in the price (or at least that's how we booked it) and what a spread! We were able to save a lot of money in Bruges by having a nice breakfast at the hotel and waiting until dinner. Comfortable bed but it is European so two twins pushed together for a queen. There is no shower, only a bath with a hose. A little gross in my opinion but when in Rome, do as the Romans do...we decided to embrace the experience. We stayed in American luxury hotels the remainder of the trip in Berlin and Amsterdam so this was a fun experience.

Room Tip: Make sure breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

A little difficult to find, but well worth the effort. Check in was smooth and simple. We had a room on the 2nd floor, which was adequate, but a little small if you intended spending any length of time there. Beds were clean and comfy, and there was plenty of wardrobe space. There was also a mini fridge for keeping drinks cold. The bathroom was spotless with soft towels and toiletries provided. There was plenty of hot water, but the shower was just a hand held one over the bath. Breakfast was served in a lovely basement room overlooking the canal. There was plenty of choice - bacon/eggs/ham/cheeses/bread/toast croissants/fruit/yoghurts. Would we stay here again - most definitely

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenlouise3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Booked a double room with canal view. Room was well presented although it was two singles pushed together. Bathroom had a bath with a shower fitting but no shower hook or curtain - unusual for a modern hotel. Stayed two nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonTem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at this clean,comfortable and convenient hotel and though the hotel is on an unimpressive stretch of the canal,it was still wonderful to have a watery view.The room-a deluxe ground floor room with canal view was spacious with high, beamed ceilings,warm neutral colours and tastefully furnished.The bed(twins pushed together)was very comfortable with super soft bedding.The bathroom with his and hers basins, felt luxurious and warm with plenty of towels.Breakfast was substantial and ranged from cooked eggs,bacon and sausage to cereals, with everything in between and certainly set us up for the day.There were digging up and re-laying cobbles opposite the hotel which was noisy from 7.30am, this is happening in several areas of the city centre but they seem to work quite quickly and move on.
The hotel had its septic tank cleaned on the last day of our stay,so was the most terrible smell of raw sewage from the toilet, which ideally ought to have happened when the majority of guests were out and about,not just after breakfast.

Room Tip: Deluxe ground floor room with canal view in older part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandalayMinnie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

very calm and quiet but still very close to everything. ten min walk from the famous square. Very helpful staff.

The one comment I have was that I booked a double room with obviously a double bed which was in fact two singles pushed together... a bit disappointing as it was a valentines day weekend away and didn't want to sleep in separate beds! they did put a sheet over the top the next day but its still not quite the same thing!

apart from that everything was amazing and the breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonstonejune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#32 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Property: Hotel Ter Brughe
Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing