We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel overall but very small room”
Review of Hotel Ter Brughe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Brughe
Ranked #34 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for a night in August. The staff were friendly and the hotel has charm but our room was small and stuffy (not helped by the smell from previous use of the mosquito tablets) and a twin single rather than the double we wanted. We were on the top (attic) floor which may mean the rooms were more than the ones on the lower floors - we were on the canal side but the size and position of the window limited the view. The bathroom was nicer and more spacious.

The hotel restaurant was nicely decorated with canal views and breakfast was a buffet with a good selection of items and great service.

Room Tip: I would avoid the top (attic) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend here in July. The hotel is beautiful, our room was spacious with a lovely view over the canal. The breakfast was a lovely welcome addition and much more choice than normal in Europe. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for exploring all Bruges has to offer. I really hope we get a chance to return one day.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to Room 40, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location is ideal, the building is wonderfully off kilter and historically interesting. The room and bed were comfortable and the bathroom fine, but the floors creak fantastically and the walls are paper thin, so a lot of thumping from the room above and voices from the one beside us. I could literally hear every word that the man next door was saying in his rather excited call back to the States at midnight.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjgblakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good location, unique character and friendly staff. Lovely aesthetic throughout and very quiet at night. The shower is unusual as there's no curtain, nor is it particularly high, (resting only slightyl higher than the bath. Yes, an actual bath!).

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so try to get something on the ground floor if you don't fancy walking up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DOOM20XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We loved our two day stay in Ter brughe

The rooms were fantastic, old fashion style

The included breakfast was delicious

The staff was super friendly

The cleaning ladies even waited for us to leave the room so they could get in with ought disturbing us

Overall amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our 2nd time to Bruge and booked the Ter Brughe due to the location - location was superb, but found that the hotel was very dated, rooms, was very basic and very warm of an evening, we didnt want to open the windows as we had been bitten the previous nights we were there by mosquitoes, we used the mosquitoe repellant that was in the room but this made no difference. May next time we will visit in the winter months.
Bathroom was lovely but again very warm, spot lights on ceiling, shower over the bath and had to hold the shower to wash, toilet right up against the bath so had to sit sideways on this.
Breakfast was good but a bit chaotic as quite a few people came to breakfast all at once and wasnt quite sure of what to do.
Bedrooms, walls are so thin you can literally here everything - ceilings are wooden beams but so thin, that you also here when other guests were using the bathroom at night.

Absolutely love Brugge and would go back time and time again but sadly not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure what room would be good, no lifts though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quaint hotel in a lovely location, close to the town centre. We had a ground floor room with a view of the canal and the room was very large and it had a shower over the bath (room 6). The staff were mostly friendly. On the negative side, we could clearly hear people in the rooms either side and above us, we could also hear cars driving noisily on the cobbled street and people walking past. We did not book parking, so we had to park about a kilometer away for about 8 Euros a day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JoolsReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#14 of 97 in Bruges
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Martin's Relais
Hotel Martin's Relais
#28 of 97 in Bruges
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Brughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Brughe

Address: Oost-Gistelhof 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Bruges
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#38 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £87 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ter Brughe 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ter Brughe is situated in the centre of Bruges. The Markt, the shopping streets, all main attractions, nice restaurants and cozy bars are within walking distance. Along one of the most picturesque canals in the peaceful old quarter of St.Gillis, between the Augustine Bridge and the Tower Bridge , you will find the hotel. The oldest reference to the building dates from 1470. Believed is that the beautiful vaulted cellar is older. Built originally as a warehouse for goods which were brought here along the canals, it serves today as a magnificent setting for your buffet breakfast. The hotel is non-smoking and has 46 comfortable rooms. Since 1985 hotel Ter Brughe is a listed building. Therefore there is no elevator in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ter Brughe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Brughe Hotel
Ter Brughe Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing