We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel, perfect setting”
Review of Bryghia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bryghia Hotel
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel, perfect setting”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this small, quiet, family run hotel situated near the canal. It is really pretty and cosy. The standard double rooms are quite small, but more than adequate. There is a kettle, tv,mini bar and a safe in each room. Very comfortable bed. The continental breakfast is excellent and served until 10am. There is also a lift.
The walk to the centre of Bruges takes about 8 minutes. Good value chocolate shop nearby too!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StokeyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    203
    44
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
265
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
663 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 675 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here in March 2011, on our annual trip to Bruges. Without repeating myself, the hotel is worth a few places above its Tripadvisor rating.

Our room, thirty-something, was perfectly adequate, if a little on the small side. The shower was rather pokey. There was a T.V., tea and coffee making facilities, and everything in the room functionned. The hotel's position, on Oosterlingen Plein, is both quiet yet convenient, 5 - 10 minues from The Garre, one of Bruges' finest bars (see Tripadvisor restaurants).

Admittedly, our hosts are not exactly full of the joys of Spring (see other Tripadvisor posts alleging rudeness). They are polite and helpful when engaged, however. People in service industries in Belgium, and elsewhere in Europe, are not expected to wear a faux sincere smile at all times.

As I mentioned before, breakfasts, in a lovely breakfast room are delightful. Everything is fresh. My only MAJOR complaint is that the coffee could be hotter and stronger.

Booking through TravelRepublic last summer, we paid a shade under £160 for three nights, B & B. Pretty good value, we thought.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onamia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

The Hotel Bryghia was extremely old but very well kept. Rooms were sufficient in size. The breakfast was worth waking up for each day. The quaint living style bar offered many local beers and wine. The room overlooked the canal and was very romantic. The desk staff went out of their way to be helpful, even before we arrived. Convenient location right near the center square. Bedding and linens were high quality. First rate all the way. This will be our first choice of places to stay when we return to Brugge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArcticNomad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We (7 ladies) booked through travelagent/supetbreak P&O ferries for an extended weekend to the Brugges Christmas Markets (4nights) to celebrate a friends special birthday. The price we paid for the quality of hotel was amazing. 2nights boat outside cabin + 2 nights/continental breakfast hotel = £125. The hotel was nestled in a lovely quite square 10 mins walk from the main square. We received a very warm welcome. We had 2 x twin rooms and 1 x tripple room which were roomy well decorated and very very comfy beds, huge bathroom. The continental breakfast was excellent = fresh assorted fruit, yoghurts, breakfast cereal, cheese, ham, boiled eggs plus a choice of breads/rolls and croissants and preserves, freshly filtered coffee or tea and really set you up for a good days sightseeing/shopping. We would definitely recommend this hotel to couples and groups.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoraAndBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We were very impressed by the standard of the rooms and quality of the whole hotel - the staff were very helpful and accommodating

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed at the Bryghia on Saturday night. It was ok. I would not get excited about it. The staff were abrupt and far from welcoming. The room was expensive at 115 euro for the night. However, the location is an easy distance from all of the sights and it is a good base to explore from. If we went back to Bruges I would look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsw1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. The owners were very friendly and helpful.
The room was very pleasant and breakfast more than adequate.
Very quiet area just minutes from the Markt and restaurants,shops etc.
Would stay there again if I get chance to visit Bruges again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldertraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#35 of 97 in Bruges
1,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#45 of 97 in Bruges
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#27 of 97 in Bruges
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryghia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryghia Hotel

Property: Bryghia Hotel
Address: Oosterlingenplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Bruges
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryghia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bryghia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryghia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing