We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and friendly hotel”
Review of Bryghia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bryghia Hotel
Ranked #42 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Quiet area in Bruges but only about 10 mins walk from the Markt. Very friendly and helpful hosts. There is a kettle in each room with some tea and coffee sachets (unusual apparently in Belgium). There is also a fridge for drinks, so if you wanted to buy some real milk for tea you could keep it in here.
Breakfast was great with a good choice and plenty of it
The wifi was in the downstairs lounge, but sometimes reached as far as our room (above the lounge on the 3rd floor)
A great place from where you can explore this beautiful city

Room Tip: We slept at the front with a view over the square. The bells from the convent next door started at 8...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eladora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Bryghia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely quaint old time hotel. Perfect location, just less than 5 minutes walk from main square. Rooms and whole hotel spotlessly clean. Buffet breakfast 8 to 10, just perfect and nice variety.
Bruges is just gorgeous, good walking shoes is a must.
Bruges is very lively during day and everywhere closed early eve.
Tourism office in main square is extremely helpful and seem to know every answer.
To eat delaneys Irish bar and cambrinus is a must. Both just off main square
On arrival take horse and cart trip or city tour to get a feel for the area.
Flying into Brussels get train under ground to Brussels nord, go to platform 4 and train straight to Bruges. Journey time 50 minutes.
Bruges is a must for short city break!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Hotel Bryghia is located in Oosterlingenplein 4. Its location is perfect for tourists, backing onto one of the canals in Bruges. You will find it located in a quiet square, and we had no problems with excessive street noise. The hotel is located ten minutes from town centre/market square on a gentle stroll. Please be aware that disabled guests using a wheelchair will struggle in this hotel, and my advice is not to book. There are steps at the front door without a ramp, and while there is access from the rear of the hotel through the kitchen, this is far from ideal. More importantly the lift is so small that a large wheelchair would struggle to fit in, and there would be no room for an attendant to travel in the 3-person lift.

The hotel is rated as a three star, however I would rate it as a good two star, working towards three stars, based on European hotel standards.

The same family has run the establishment for the last 17 years. The hotel itself dates from the 15th century and has been restored to modern standards – to a point, hence the two star status I consider it currently meets. Please don't book here if you're expecting every modern convenience as you will be disappointed. This is a unique, small, 18-roomed hotel whose decor matches it's history. If you want something that's different from the norm, and don't mind the quirkiness, then the Bryghia might be your perfect partner.

The Bryghia offers Wi-Fi however access to this is only available on the ground floor at reception and in the small lounge opposite. We were on the third floor and were unable to obtain a signal. It shouldn’t present as a major problem in placing wireless repeaters on each floor to extend the Wi-Fi service, but as yet, the hotel management has failed to do so.

The hotel does not have a bar as such but does offer a drinks service. An indication of costs are, two coffees and two brandy’s were €15, or at today’s exchange rate (May 2014) the equivalent of £13.15. It’s not cheap by any stretch of the imagination so think carefully before buying drinks in the hotel.

The hotel does not have a restaurant but does offer breakfasts in the typical continental style in a breakfast room on the ground floor.

Although the weekend I stayed was a special 50th birthday trip, and a request that the room reflect the purpose of the visit had been made in advance, we were given room 38 on the third floor. This was a tiny double room, and upon entering, was quite obviously a smoking room smelling strongly of stale cigar smoke. We had also requested a non-smoking room as neither my wife nor myself have ever smoked. A request was made to the management to change rooms to a corner room – I had seen room 40 as we arrived on the third floor, which was much larger. My request met with a refusal. I was advised that all rooms are smoking rooms, and that the hotel permits smoking throughout.

As we had booked via Travel Republic (TR) I was advised that the larger corner rooms were not available to TR bookings as these were premium rooms. Although room 38 was perfectly functional with a small table, two chairs, an old style TV, and a safe located in the built in mirrored wardrobe unit, it was, at 20 foot by 13 foot, literally not large enough to swing the proverbial cat. Our ‘double bed’ actually consisted of two singles put together using two separate mattresses and duvets – it’s not exactly what we expected, but comfortable nonetheless.

All bedrooms have mini bars. These are not cheap services, but this is the same the world over. You may decide to do what we did, buy your own drinks at a local supermarket and keep them in the mini bar.

The bathroom was adequate in size although not huge or modern by our UK standards. It simply needs upgrading to reach that three star standard. For example there is no power shower, the water temperature is not thermostatically controlled therefore if you have children be careful with the over bath shower. Also there are no non-slip bath mats inside the bath. There's no extractor fan so don't try to use the mirror after bathing/showering. The showerhead, rather than being placed at the end of the bath on the wall, is on a side wall, and the toilet roll dispenser position meant you had to be a bit of a gymnast to reach it! Complimentary toiletries were provided.

There are plenty of restaurants/brasseries merely 3-4 minutes walk from the hotel, as well as a huge choice in the town centre, but beware as these are not cheap by UK standards. You can expect to pay €70-90 for a 3 course meal with drinks for two.

Breakfast is available in a delightfully decorated breakfast room. This comprises the standard continental fare, which included tea or coffee, croissants, baguette, breads, cheeses, hams, salami and preserves. Fruit, cereals and yoghurts were also available. For those wanting something a little more substantial, the breakfast room has a boil your own egg policy – basically take your egg, pop it into a cradle in a boiler, leave for 5 minutes and voila, breakfast boiled egg.

The hotel has very helpful staff that can organise taxis, tickets, and trips etc on your behalf. Reception is manned until around midnight.

In conclusion therefore, this is a reasonably priced hotel for what you get. It's clean, tidy and the rooms are more than satisfactory for short stays. As for location, well you won't find better at this price mark, 10 minute walking distance and you’ll be at the main heart of Bruges.

Would I recommend it - yes, but guests do need to be aware of the hotel’s limitations.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a corner room overlooking the rear of the hotel and the canal. Rooms overlooking...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The-travel-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a small friendly hotel, very helpful staff and well situated in a quiet area just 5 minutes walk from 2 main squares. The room had all you need for a short stay, comfortable beds and everywhere very clean. Good shower and good sized bathroom. We booked eurostar package through lastminute.com so very pleased with the price. A good variety for breakfast made a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed there for weekend. The hotel is well situated close to the centre and we were able to walk to most of the places that we wanted to see within 15/20 minutes. The room was very clean and comfortable and airy and we did not find it noisy at night. The continental breakfast was good and there was a good choice and more than enough to set you up for a mornings sightseeing. The owners were very helpful and welcoming and provided us with a map and directions,for example to places to eat in the evening. Our weekend was a special "Romantic Weekend" which included a tour by bus of the main sights of Bruges and a boat trip on canals as part of the package. I would recommend both. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayjers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Strange little hotel, clean and pretty central. Very old fashioned with small rooms, dark reception and staircase. There was always a very strange smell (not dirty) on entering the reception, never did work out what it was!
Wouldn't choose to go there again but ok if you are not intending spending much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked this hotel thru Eurostar and it was rated as a 3 star, offering a good continental breakfast and small but clean rooms. I completely agree with that summary. It was excellent value for money for what it is! It doesn't claim to be a posh hotel, its basic but clean and pretty in a chintzy way, ideally placed for a walking based holiday in the centre of Brugge (which is mainly pedestrian anyway).

There is limited car parking which is clearly advertised on their website as first come first served but there are some temporary road works in the vicinity which has recently affected the other local parking facilities.

We got the Eurostar from London Kings Cross on 22nd April at 12:58, arrived in Brussels Midi (or Zuid) station later that afternoon, swopped platform and got on the train to Bruge. The journey to Bruge took another 50 mins. Upon arriving in Bruge the hotel was a 20min swift walk but we opted for a taxi which cost us 10 Euros with a mini guided tour of Bruge thrown in. I understand this journey was slightly longer than usual due to road works.

The appearance of the hotel is accurately documented on other photos in the reviews. There is a small lift to all floors and we were given two keys, one for the bedroom and outer door (so we could come and go early & late) and one for the safe in our room. We got room 25 which is at the front of the hotel (just above the red canopy to the left in the photos of the building which all show the front) but it still overlooks the square, rooms on the other side of the building overlook the canal which is very pretty but we were happy with our room. Obviously whilst you get a canal view if you are at the back, you will also get more people wandering past on their stroll down the canals but I have to stress this was not a particularly busy area during our visit.

The room was small but well equipped, a large window that opens and a wide window ledge you can sit on to look out (not really child friendly but lovely all the same). There was a double bed with integral bedside cabinets, a telephone (for internal & external calls), overhead light and wall lights at the side of the bed. There was a double wardrobe with ample hangars and shelving. There was a desk with tea/coffee facilities and quite helpfully an international plug adaptor. There were several power points throughout the room.

The bathroom was quite roomy, again with a large window and one of those over-bath type showers which was quite adequate, always plenty of hot water. There was a built in hairdryer and shaver point. We were provided with two white bath towels and 2 hand towels for the pair of us which were perfectly adequate and very clean. There was also the usual complimentary soap, hair/shower gel and shoe cleaning kit.

Room service came daily to refresh the towels and tidy up (the place is very clean) and they replenished the drinks supplies. There is also a small integral fridge with a few soft drinks/beers insitu and a small brochure explaining the charges for the contents of the fridge and if you use them, you pay on departure.

There wasn't an iron in the room but they are readily available from reception. There was a small flat screen TV on the wall but most programmes are in Flemish/French although there appears to be a lot of English/American series/films on that are subtitled in Flemish so you can happily watch those.

We asked for a none-smoking room and there was two clean ashtrays in our room which implies they either accept smokers or that smokers will still have a sneaky smoke in their room but we only ever saw smokers outside the hotel and our room did not smell of smoke at all.

There is a Church nearby and the bells ring at 8am which is coincidentally the time breakfast is available from. It's continental breakfast, they serve you a pot of tea and/or coffee when you enter and then you serve yourself. Its a nice selection of meats, cheeses, fresh fruits, yoghurts, various breads and crackers. There is a proper toaster and egg boiler (for boiled eggs) and plenty of cereals. There is milk, or fruit juice to drink too. Breakfast is served between 8am and 10am.

Free W-fi access is available in the main reception area, you just need the passcode from reception to use it (which they could do with advertising more clearly) or you can rent a laptop for 30 mins at a time. Although wi-fi is only supposed to be available in reception, we found that you could access it from lower floors anywhere in the building - sorry didn't try anywhere but our floor.

There is an unmanned bar in the reception/lounge area which has comfortable seating and books to read and local tourist info.

I can honestly say that this hotel was ideally placed for us. Far enough away from the centre to miss the noise but near enough to be within walking distance of anywhere. The owners/staff were always welcoming and informative, offering assistance with booking taxi's or checking on train times etc. They spoke fluent English and indeed we felt quite lazy whilst on holiday as everyone spoke English.

When we were in Bruge we purchased a 3 day "Love Brugge" pass at 45 Euros for an adult and it was a real bargain, we got ours from the Historium (well worth a visit) in the Markt as it has a tourist centre there and the price includes a free Bruge Guide. It entitled us to free entry into the mass majority of the major sites, discounts at others and a free canal boat trip which is a must.

I wouldn't hesitate to go here again.

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong whichever side you get, the canal side is more scenic but mosquito...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KJAVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europ Hotel
Europ Hotel
#77 of 97 in Bruges
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#50 of 97 in Bruges
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#40 of 97 in Bruges
2,931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anselmus Hotel
Anselmus Hotel
#30 of 97 in Bruges
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryghia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryghia Hotel

Address: Oosterlingenplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Bruges
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £86 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bryghia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bryghia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryghia Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing