We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The Hotel Floris was very nice in Bruges. I liked the different varieties of breakfast the design of the place and the beds are nice and comfy. There was a gym and swimming pool a game room, breakfast room, a bar in the lobby of the reception and lots of places to chill out. Finally, it was in walking distance of the town square. i loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank student19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorisSales, Director of Sales at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review of our new Floris Hotel Bruges. We spent a lot of time and effort (as well as money!!) turning an old run down hotel into something stylish and modern. I hope you made use of all the facilities - they are all free: indoor pool, games room, gym, iMac, WiFi, Hollywood films in your room...The bar lounge is great too. And of course the hotel is few minutes walk from the centre as you found out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    457
    239
    110
    91
See reviews for
248
570
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I went to Brugge with my sister who had stayed at that hotel a month earlier and was so enchanted by the city she wanted me to discover and love what she saw...She stayed at the Hotel Karos and was assured that she would get what she had reserved. We did not. She called the morning before our arrival and they assured her she would get the room she had inspected and reserved for a week before her previous departure. We did not: We were located in the attic, a family room with 1 king size bed (very hard mattress) and 2 twin beds - no drawers and a tiny wardrobe and no shelves - no sofa, only 2 love seats of which one disappeared one day for the swiming pool...a large room...not cleaned with windows that could not be opened and no curtains. They would remedy to it the next day: they did not ever! The reception people were unfriendly...the swimming pool which was supposed to be ready was not, even though they were telling us we would eventually use it: we never could. The hotel was being remoddelled and renovated still!!! It was very expensive and some days they did not do the room and since we would get back in the evening it was too ba&d for us, no maid available to make up the room. The most annoying thing was they would come in our room as they pleased whether we were in or not. Some days the twin beds were moved and I assumed it was tu use the electrric plug for their outside work. One day they changed the wall lights to match those of the reception and one day one of the twin chairs disappeared. Another time we were given a stand-up lamp with no bulb. It seems as if our room was a place to dispose of their surplus and use them as they pleased.

I loved the city but I find it is too pricey and the restaurants prices are outrageous. If you are French, they dislike you on the spot, hence their unfriendliness. The hotel had parking at the back and they assured us we w<ould use it but at first they pretended they did not have any space. One night I noticed it was empty and asked if it belonged to them and in the affirmative they had to let us use it.

I will go back to Bruigge but never to this horrible, dirty, unprofessional place. So beware!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maitheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlorisSales, Director of Sales at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thanks very much for finding the time to write a review. i am only sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
The Floris Hotel Bruges, as you may have noticed, was having the finishing touches made to a total renovation, so it is possible there were some teething problems. My apologies if this impaired your enjoyment.
I am very puzzled as to why you didn't ask reception for another room, if you were not happy with what you were given. We try our best to provide a high level service and if you were not happy with the room, all you had to do was ask for another. Our staff gave you a free upgrade.
The room you were in is a huge room, larger than nearly any other in the city and has views over the roof tops to the Grote Markt. It is not normal for a 3* hotel to have a sofa in the room. All the beds & mattresses are brand new and we have found most customers are very satisfied with them. Again if you found the bed not to your liking, you could have asked reception to change it for you.
The room has Velux windows in the roof, so curtain would not hang correctly. That is why we have blinds that pull down and cut out all light.
You need to remember that this is a 3* city centre hotel and not a 5* resort hotel, that you have reviewed before on tripadvisor. The price you paid was 30% lower than any other 3* in Bruges, so I am not sure why you comment that it was expensive...
I am sorry that you were not happy with your time in Bruges and would be happy for you to contact me direct. I find this a better way of trying to resolve any issues you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#72 of 97 in Bruges
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Property: Floris Karos Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing