We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and minimalist”
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We took my 75 year old mother for her birthday to Bruges in October. Her preference was for a modern hotel rather than the traditional one, which we had in mind. She was very pleased with the Karos Hotel because it has been refurbished in modern, minimalist decor and furniture. We had two twin rooms for 3 of us. Mum had the smaller one, which would have been a bit of a squeeze for two, but not impossible.

The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of fresh items to choose from-- cereals, yogurt and fresh apples for the health conscious-- bacon, eggs, cheese, cold meats, croissants, toast, jam, honey and lashings of butter for the rest of us.

The lovely heated pool was often deserted, allowing for personal swims. We watched a film late evening in the comfortable childrens corner complete with large cushions for lounging. The public areas are well provided with seating and cushions. There is an up to the minute fast access Apple Mac computer for free use at reception with free wi-fi all over the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The only gripe was that the rooms are prone to condensation, which can lead to steamy windows and drips, unless you open them for a while. We took our travel kettles as we had been informed that there were no tea/coffee makers in the rooms. There are no mini- bars either.

This hotel is 15 minutes walk from the station, the Markt and the Burg. There are lots of places to eat within 5 to 10 mins walk away. Eating out is not cheap in Bruges, but we liked the small bistro called 't Pallieterke at 'tZand 28, which has several excellent fixed price menus. It is run by the owner, who is charming and ensures all is well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as the hotel is on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystalcatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

We used this hotel for three nights on our first ever trip to Bruges, knowing little of the town or its layout. We were pleased with our choice - it was perfectly comfortable, fairly quiet at night and only a few minutes' walk from the nearest bars and shops. It's probably 10 minutes' walk from the very heart of the town, and perhaps double that to the train station, but we walked everywhere and never found the distances a problem.

The central areas of the hotel - lobby, stairways etc - were fairly spacious and obviously newly renovated. The breakfast room was fairly small, but the breakfast was fine - nothing special but perfectly edible and all the options you would expect.

We didn't try the pool or gym - not enough time - but they looked as expected. As other guests have mentioned, the carpets in the halls and stairways were not very well fitted, and the hotel was bizarrely hot for October, but that didn't bother us too much. Our bedroom had a door onto a small balcony which cooled it down nicely, although there was no window and we didn't feel comfortable sleeping with an open door so it did get a bit warm over night. The room was certainly smaller than those pictured, but we have stayed in smaller elsewhere!

The advertised 'free Hollywood films' seemed to just be various cable channels, but that was fine for us - there were various channels in English, French and other languages. Staff were helpful and friendly.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay, not too far from the centre but far enough away to be quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front part of the hotel, but not overlooking the road, seemed to have balconies/outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. When we first arrived and were shown to our room, we were unsatisfied with the quality of the room as well as the fact the previous occupant smoked in a non-smoking room. Also, upstairs the carpet was gathering dangerously together in the hallways creating very real tripping hazards. On contacting reception they were apologetic and we were exchanged to 'the only other room available in the hotel' which was a markable improvement of our initial offering. On a couple of occasions I heard the same talk by reception from other unhappy travellers. The reception, lobby, breakfast room and pool were all recently refurbished whereas the upper rooms were refurbished but not to the same standard. The staff were very helpful in many ways and the free wifi internet, use of an iMac in reception, pool, parking (limited and at an extra charge, free parking available down the street, 10mins walk) and breakfast were all an added bonus. The hotel was within 10 mins walking distance from the town centre and the hotel staff advised us many times about the high drinks prices in the square and tourist areas - a few different 'off the beaten track' eateries were suggested and greatly appreciated. On a morning there was consistently (during the week) a banging noise from around 08:00 and on the last morning the room maids were outside our room loudly talking and banging doors. Also, the breakfast was vast with choices of cold meat, scrambled eggs, bacon, croissants etc but was a little unorganised with the amount of guests staying.

All in all it was a comfortable and good stay, however, room allocation could be hit or miss if no other rooms are available.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are better quality, and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The hotel is in an excellent location - walkable from the railway station, within very easy reach of the centre and with a bus stop outside if you don't fancy walking back to the station on your return.
It has a nicely furnished reception area, a small pool and gym. The receptionists were pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast room is a bit canteen like, but okay. The choice isn't extensive, but it is adequate.
Our room was a good size, as was the bathroom, but there was an unpleasant smell in the corridor and sometimes in the bathroom. We got this smell here and there in the town as well and came to the conclusion that the town's sewerage system perhaps wasn't up to the mark. (To be fair the weather was hot.)
Air freshener was placed in our bathroom when we complained about the smell.
Also on the down side was the noise. We were on the back of the hotel overlooking a narrow alley and the sound of voices, feet and the occasional engine really reverberate.
Despite this (and the fact that Bruges is very expensive) we enjoyed our stay there.























9

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mausom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed ourselves the staff were really helpfull it is ideally located only 10 mins wak=lk to the centre and has quite a few bars nearer.I would happily stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our fist trip to Brugges and wanted a good mid range hotel and that is what we found. Some earlier reviews are clearly out of date, The hotel was clean and well presented with a very pleasant reception, lounge and bar area. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast was a perfectly adequate continental style in a nice dining area. Our room, a double superior, was clean, a very generous size and well furnished. The en suite bathroom was likewise. If I have to find a fault, then the stairs and landing carpet needs renewing but this really is being nit-picking!! The hotel is within easy walking distance of the station, the town centre and all it's attractions and a very short walk to all of the buses which stop at t'Zand. If we were to go back to Bruges then we wouldn't need to look any further than the Karos.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper then the front rooms do have some traffic noise, but it didn't b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had booked a normal room at a moderate rate but were upgraded to room no. 30 which is actually a suite, expensively refurbished, right under the roof which made it very spacious, lavishly furnished, perfectly clean, with many stylish details. We could not believe what we were seeing. This hotel is definitely a good value, even at the regular rates! The staff is very professional and helpful. This was my our fourth stay in Bruges and compared to the other hotels, this one is definitely outstanding in terms of getting the best value for money. The only downside was that due to our tight schedule, we could stay there only one night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerherval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#78 of 97 in Bruges
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#64 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,988 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £60 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing