We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but one major problem”
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here from 27 Dec 2011 to 31 Dec 2011. Hotel is comfortable overall and the swimming pool area is particularly nice, but the one major problem was the smell of sewage, both outside and inside the hotel. I dont know if its anything to do with the surrounding canals but it was very offputting.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms beside the lift - very noisy
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbfDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our indoor swimming pool however we would like to point out that our hotel does NOT have sewage problems. In my experience people vary enormously in their sense of smell. It is no different to any other sense. Some people have perfect vision, some need glasses, some are colorblind, some totally blind. Bruges is often referred to as "The Venice of the North" due to its many picturesque canals which are found through the city center. Not surprisingly - depending on the weather and wind direction - you can smell the 'canal odor' if you have a sensitive nose.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Floris Karos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

My first impression, based on the reception area was good but the standard of the room was not great.. dark, very poor lighting, musty smell, paper thin walls ( could hear everything next door), chipped tiles in the bathroom.. .. The breakfast room was very poor - cramped, hot, ventilation obviously not working and the quality of the food just ok.
The reception staff were fine.. however one lady was very unhelpful and dismissive.
All in all, the only thing going for this hotel is its location as its very central.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and your kind words about its central location however, needless to say, this leaves us with a bad feeling. If the behavior of our staff seemed unhelpful or dismissive we would like to apologise as it was certainly not her intention. As for your other remarks we feel sorry that you did not take up these matters to us during your stay as we would have been able to address them more appropriate.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Well different- location is near old town but just off flyover be careful of carpet on stairs lethal! Room was a good size no restaurant on site but they do breakfast weird looks v modern but just a face lift Brugge however is amazing

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and and baby son stayed here just before New Year. The reception area was a delight and decorated nicely fot christmas. There was a place to store luggage and some comfy sofas in the reception area. However like the guests say it did stink of sewage when entering the hotel. The room was nicely decorated, but I'm not sure wooden floors are the most ideal choice for hotel room flooring, as noise travel is immense. The beds were well made and comfortable, however we were put in an ajoining family room, which meant that we were very distrurbed by the toddler screaming next door. Our room was seperated by a flimsy door and we felt that the toddler was in the same room. I was going to complain, but just as it was getting too much the toddler went to sleep!

The room could benefit from tea and coffee facilities as we had to ask for hot water from the bar for our flask and used the tea bags we bought. The bathroom was ok but the shower was not very well fixed to the wall and had almost rusted out. There was lots of body hair in the plughole.

We used the pool which was nice, but the gym was lacking with only the treadmill working. Really loved the childrens play area and sofa for adults to sit at.

I would recommend that the Reception staff should ask guests when they would like breakfast and book a time slot. Breakfast was manic, we couldn't get a seat, food was lacking and people were close to fighting over the scraps that were left. All this could easily be avoided, with a simple system in place, I'm sure the guests wouldn't object.

Finally the staff were friendly and helpful enough, which to me is the main thing. I think the owners and staff of the hotel should just pay attention to these small details and it should become a very good hotel. Oh and by the way the situation of the hotel being on a main road is absolutely no issue whatsoever, you don't hear the noise and it's not that busy, you also get to see some architecture too!

Room Tip: make sure you are not put in an ajoining room as you could be kept awake at night from the noise!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thechappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear,

thank you for taking the time to write a review. We took note of your remarks regarding our fitness & breakfast area. We always value the honest feedback of our guests as it is an opportunity for us to improve our services.

As you have pointed out, our guests can indeed store their luggage before check-in or after check-out for FREE @ our hotel. We are also happy to read that you liked our Childrens Play Area - with DVDs, colorbooks, games and FREE XboxKinect!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Booked this hotel for a weekend break with friends.
The hotel is in an ideal location for sightseeing in beautiful Bruges, close to all the main sights, shops and restaurants. Our room was adequate, clean and 'adequate', however no extras for example tea/coffee making facilities etc.
Breakfast was a buffet, plenty of food which set us up well for our day sightseeing. Most of the staff were exceptional; polite, friendly, and helpful.
There was however one member of the reception staff who was rude and dismissive. We had two members of staff apologise for her behaviour (even although we didn't complain-they just noticed!) this was such a shame as the hotel had the potential of offering a really good break and her attitude nearly spoilt our weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jem24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel over the New Year and have to say that it is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at. Our room looked nothing like the one on the internet, it had paper thin walls might as well have been sleeping in the corridor and the room had a horrible smell in it(mouldy smell). I was staying here with my famiy and they had the same complaint. My Aunts door would not open and she had to ask reception to open it every time she wanted to go in or get one of the men with us to open it.The breakfast was very very basic and the room itself too small and stuffy no air getting in as no windows. The way the breakfast bar is set up is terrible as people are banging into one another. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone could not wait to get out of it. When I went to pay they told me my Dad had paid for the room however when I asked him he said he had not so I went back to the reception and they again told me it had been paid after I insisted they look into the payment in more detail it transpired that they without my authorisation had put 2 of the rooms on my Credit cardand I had actually paid for them. Very annoying as I wanted to pay cash and certainly didnt want to pay for my brothers room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Booked this hotel randomly without paying too much attention when looking for a basic place to stay in Brugge. We weren't disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, the reception area was beautifully decorated for christmas and a lovely real fire was burning away. I did notice a slight 'drainy' smell in the entrance area but was only fleeting.
We had booked a quad room- very comfortable, the bed was lovely and the room spacious. My only slight issue was how hot the room was. Breakfast was plentiful and adequate- again staff very helpful- the only slight problem was seating at peak times but there was no problem with sitting in the lounge area to eat.
After we checked out we asked if we could sit in the lounge for a while-we were made very welcome and were even invited to use the pool. That was great for two teenagers who didnt want to spend all day shopping! Parking at the hotel wasnt an option but there was another car park nearby and being so close to a city centre I didnt expect parking to be included.
The staff were also very good at giving advice about where to eat etc and prices.
Definitely good value- the only feedback would be if the hotel could offer light hot snacks in the bar- with prices being so high in Bruges and no fast food option, this would be good for guests arriving at odd times.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Dear Rachel,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon in Bruges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#78 of 97 in Bruges
484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing