We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible !”
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 6 January 2014

From the ouside, it looks like a clean and honest hotel ... but there's more!
I was there with some friends (16 in total) to enjoy Brugge, and we had four quad bedrooms which were huge ! In my room (24) you could easily fit a third king size bed and still have some very decent room left.
Everything was very clean.
There is a large play area for the kids in the lobby, a pool, complimentary wifi and buffet breakfast.
Parking might be the only 'problem' as there is not too many.

Room Tip: Room 24 was incredibly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilippeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Philippe,

thank you ever so much for your nice feedback!
We're very happy to read you liked room 16 (executive room) and room 24 (junior suite) and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel over new years and were welcomed by a modern entrance and good first impression, unfortunately we weren't so impressed with the tired looking room. It was quite big, so we can't complain there, but the bathroom was clearly holding on tightly to the nineties and the hairdryer was one of those rubbish boxes attached to the wall that blows out nearly no air at all. I'm 5"8 and my partner is 6"4 and neither of us could see our whole heads in the mirrors (they had been affixed to the wall at a far too low height!).
We had already read online that we wouldn't get tea and coffee making facilities in the room, so this wasn't a shock, but to find that it wasn't free downstairs was. The hotel didn't even have any milk! The wifi was also rubbish and I couldn't get it to work in the room.
On check-out the receptionist did ask us how our stay was, well she shouldn't have bothered as she clearly did not give a toss when I mentioned the hairdryer and certainly did not show any sign of apology or even a care in the world, which certainly influenced this review being worse than it would have been if she had just said 'I'm sorry to hear that and we'll look into it".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Hannah,

first of all thank you for having stayed with us and sharing your feedback, needless to say it leaves me with a dissapointed feeling.

I read you were surprised to find out that coffee and tea wasn't free of charge in our hotel. Why would it be ? I don't know any other hotel in Bruges that offers free coffee and tea in their hotel-bar so I genuinely don't understand why this was a surprise?

Ofcourse we do have milk available at our breakfast and in our bar we offer milkcups with our coffee, so unfortunately I do not understand this remark either.

As for the hairdryer; if the hairdryer wasn't up to your liking I apologise, we did have other hairdryers available at Reception.

Responding on to all your other remarks would bring me too far and honestly in this case it feels to me as if we couldn't do anything good anyhow.

Should you visit Bruges again in the future, we would be happy to host you again and I will make it my personal duty to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Planned a romantic week away with my partner to Bruges. Arrived at this hotel to find our hotel reservation had been cancelled with booking.com. They claimed we had been notified. We had received an email 2 hours before we were due to arrive. At the time the email was received we were on the eurostar with no way of checking our emails. The staff were unhelpful and did nothing to help us find accommodation even though I was pregnant and had been travelling for 8 hours, I wasn't even offered a glass of water. They refused to refund us for one nights stay even though we didn't step foot inside the room. I have never been more disgusted or appalled in my entire life with a hotels service. Luckily we managed to find another hotel in Bruges who took us in in the middle of the night. Bruges overall was a wonderful place to visit, however please avoid this hotel at all costs it you are after any type of customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CharlGower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear CharlGower,

first of all I feel sorry to hear about your experiences.
However, I must be honest and inform you that the agent which you have booked with (booking.com) has a policy that if a client makes a reservation without a valid credit card, they are able to release the reservation as of 6PM day of arrival.

According to the policy with the Agent you have made your reservation with, the reservation has been released and accordingly it is up to Booking.com to inform you (which they have done) about the release (not the hotel).

I do understand your frustration but this review should be posted / addressed to Booking.com and not our hotel.

Anyhow, I do hope you have had a wonderful stay in Bruges in the end and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in our hotel one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Surprised with the value for money, excellent decor and perfect central location. Highly recommend for a comfortable stay. Judy, the receptionist is extremely helpful with both ensuring your stay is exceptional and recommending places to see in Brugge, outstanding service.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Charlie,

SO pleased to read you have had a wonderful stay at our hotel and thank you for your kind words about our team. Rest assured they will be passed on to them!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Possibly my longest review yet! We found the room clean and well furnished with a fantastic shower. The breakfast selection was good with a lot of choice. There is a smell in the lobby but not in the rooms. However, depending on a certain amount of luck your stay could be good or bad!
We arrived on boxing day and were made to feel like an inconvenience when trying to check in, we were told to wait until three by a female receptionist who then disappeared at three! The first night was very noisy and sleep before midnight impossible. Having read some other reviews I know we are not the first to raise the issue of the noise from the children's play area, I know this noise is not entirely the fault of the hotel but it could do more to control it. Such as a good door separating the rooms on the ground floor from the play area, and maybe carpet rather than tiles in the corridor outside the rooms. Or closing it at a certain time! The courtyard outside also became noisy with trollies being wheeled about late at night.
However the second night was much better, after making the receptionist aware of the previous night I feel he did try his best to help the noise situation.
Personally I wouldn't risk staying again although it is not a bad hotel. But, if we had two nights like the first it would have spoiled our break. If looking to book try and request a room on a high floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam_Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Sam,

thank you ever so much for having stayed with us and sharing your feedback!
It seems that both positive and negative are in balance and that for us is the perfect learning school. Furthermore you can rest assured that the staff member involved will be addressed accordingly.

Should you ever visit Bruges again, please give us another chance to make up for the discomfort experienced. Kind regards from the entire Floris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We where lucky to find a lone room at the last minute in the last days of the year , everything was full. I can say the service is really good, good location , clean place( even though there is a soup smell allover lobby) good breakfast and nearby parking.
The room was really good but with not much hot water, which was one of our issues, the water was warm enough to shower, no more than that, for those to love to stay long and "sauna style" shower, impossible... not in the evening nor in the morning.
Besides that all cool!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi Kenny,

thank you for having stayed with us and your excellent rating!
We look into the remarks made and can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of Dec 2013 with 2 teenage children. This hotel is very well located for the centre of Bruges but just enough outside of the main squares to make it quiet and restful. The interior is recently decorated in a modern and welcoming style. We were upgraded to the Queens Suite as it was a special occasion but all of the rooms I saw looked to be of good quality, our room was very large with an excellent bathroom, which was open to the room so maybe not suitable for shy family members.

Breakfast, served in a pleasant room, was of a standard continental style and very good, the staff were welcoming and friendly without exception.

We arrived by train and walked the 15 mins to the hotel, then spent 2 days just walking around admiring this beautiful city.

The pool was a reasonable size for a city hotel and the water and pool area were warm.

Take care crossing the road outside the hotel, better to walk up to the crossing further up as its a busy but not noisy dual carriageway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Dee,

WOW! Thank you ever so much for having stayed with us, your excellent rating and kind words bout your stay. We can't wait to welcome you back!

Regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#78 of 97 in Bruges
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#64 of 97 in Bruges
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
2,987 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £59 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing