We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some lovely little touches and attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Benamocarra
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some lovely little touches and attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a 3 star hotel with friendly staff. One lovely touch that we liked was having the weather forecast hand written and delivered under the door each morning so we knew what to wear. There were plenty of plug sockets in the room which was great for 2 women with phones, ipads and laptops to charge. The rooms themselves were great, clean and lovely and warm. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesweddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hi there ladies,

it was our pleasure hosting the both of you and we like to thank you for your kind words.
We especially liked reading that you loved our hand written weather forecast and other little touches.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Bruges anytime soon it would be our pleasure hosting you again. Best wishes from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    430
    220
    104
    90
See reviews for
229
538
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel Karol Floris is a small boutique type hotel with a swimming pool and gym. The entrance reception is spacious and relaxing with a really nice ambience. The staff were very and friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and being a suite was super. Although we were only stayed one night in Bruges and hence one night at the Karol Floris, we would like to have stayed longer and will definitely stay at the hotel when we are next in Bruges. There is no restaurant for an evening meal, but the town centre is a short and pleasant walk. The breakfast was substantial and had both continental and cooked breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyW43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear guest,

it was our pleasure hosting you and we're very excited about your kind words.
Thank you too for your nice comments about our staff & breakfast.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards from the entire Floris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Common zones are well decorated but if you have a bad chance your room can have 6m2, the bathroom can have broken tiles and the radiator don't works. The water from the shower is painful in the skin and the black color is between the withe tiles (perhaps mushrooms?). If your room is near the car-park zone you can will walk in the wild side... but among garbage boxes. But in the front desk you also can find a man working with a beer in his hand. Definitively a "delicious" hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUPERPAVIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Whilst we at the Floris Karos Hotel are always eager to receive constructive feedback we strongly object to this entire review in general. Not one of the events described is matching the reality and we do want to clarify that not one of our team members consumes alcohol during their shifts.

I do not understand what might have been your motivation to write this review with such a negative tone and I invite you to contact me directly via stephanie.croes@florishotels.com in order to discuss / clarify this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really well run hotel. It has the benefit of an indoor swimming pool and only a ten minute walk into central Bruges. Highly recommended. It has a certain style to it and although on a busy road is well sound insulated and we didn't notice any external noise at all. The bed was particularly comfortable. We didn't eat here choosing to walk into central Bruges.

Room Tip: Ask for a price for room 239 as it is at the top of the hotel is very spacious, comfortable and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeloveHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear,

thank you for your excellent rating and your kind words.
I'm happy to read you appreciated our certain style and found our hotel to be well run.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Bruges anytime soon, please do not hesitate to contact me. I'd be happy to help you arrange your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in Bruges, there was eight of us in our party and we were given rooms next to each other. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with the usual continental breakfast but with the addition of bacon and eggs, an endless supply of food and tea, coffee etc....The waitress/server was very friendly and efficient replacing any food, cutlery quickly if it ran out. The hotel was about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Bruges. Also it was quiet, had a small swimming pool and a great play area indoors for children. I would recommend and definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moore_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Rachel,

We're pleased to read you and your party had an excellent stay and even more happy that you will be choosing our hotel again for your next stay!

When that time arrives, do not hesitate to contact us directly, we'll be happy to make sure your next stay is even more memorable.

Best wishes from the entire Karos team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days with a friend, using Bruges as our base throughout Belgium. It's conveniently located a mere 5 min walk from T'Zand square, and 10 min from the Grote Markt (central square). Very close to the ring road too. Parking is available at the hotel but requires reservation in advance. Otherwise, there's plenty of underground garage parking closeby, underneath T'Zand.

The best things about the hotel are the ground floor lobby and lounge areas, and the free continental breakfast. The lobby is extremely comfortable and beautifully designed. The lounge area is also comfortable and decorated like a tropical beach resort (and not in a tacky way). Wifi is spotty at the front lobby, but is fine in the lounge towards the back. The breakfast is excellent! A large assortment of cold cuts, cheeses, fruit bowl, cereals, and hot items like eggs and bacon. A la carte coffee machine also prepares cappuccinos and lattes.

The room itself was quite small and not as modern/upgraded as the main floor. It was clean, however. Bathroom was also small, and without light in the shower it got a bit dim once you closed the curtain! We stayed on the first floor, at the top of the main stairs so the noise in the morning from the breakfast area definitely woke us up. We could hear our French-speaking neighbors pretty clearly as well. I was glad to escape the confines of the room to the lounge!

Overall a pleasant stay, with kind and courteous staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TORebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear,

Great title, seems like we've hit the 3 most important C's.
Comfy
Clean
Convenient

Thank you for having stayed with us and thank you for your excellent rating!
We can't wait to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel with our family. I had read many earlier reviewers complaining about a strong smell near the reception. I didn't notice any bad smells at all, so I guess that issue was resolved. There were never any lines at the reception area and the staff was very helpful. We were upgraded (by surprise) to a suite upstairs. The room had it's own stairs and was really private and tucked away. The room was spacious, clean and perfectly designed for our family of 4. Everyone was happy about this nice room and it really made our stay at the hotel even more enjoyable. The kids ages 7 and 10 really enjoyed the swimming pool which was quite handy after a day of walking around Bruges. The location of the hotel is good because it is about a 5-10 minute walk from the busy center of Bruges, but it never felt that far away. The breakfast in the morning restaurant was decent and the service friendly and they spoke perfect English. I also wanted to share a great tip about parking. There is free street parking just 500-600 meters North of the hotel. This is a residential area and the long street closest to the main road is free. We noticed plenty of available spaces here and were able to keep our car there for the entire stay. I can highly recommend this hotel as a great value for any family planning on visiting Bruges.

Room Tip: Room #30, upstairs suite is spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi,

thank you ever so much for this excellent rating and great title!
We're utterly pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and are happy that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay!

We look forward to hosting you and your lovely family back again soon.
Best wishes from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#72 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.7 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Property: Floris Karos Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing