We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely room, spacious and clean.
Very, very hot in the evening and our fan didn't work, we reported to reception to be told, yes it's broken. No offer to fix or replace, not overly impressed with that.
Breakfast was good, the usual offerings, nice. The coffee was lovely.
Staff were friendly and polite.
Would return and would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaboyd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Emma,

thank you ever so much for your kind words about the room!
However, needless to say, I'm disappointed in reading that you encoutered some issues with the fan. From the picture I can see that you have stayed in room 239 - our technician just had a look at the fan and confirmed that it is actually working, however, there is a switch (just like a light switch) that you must turn on in order to have electricity for the fan too. I'm very sorry if this was unclear and I apologize deeply for the lack of efforts that my team has made during your stay to resolve this, if only I was informed....

I kindly invite you to stay with us again during your next visit so we can make up for the discomfort experienced. Best greetings from Bruges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    457
    239
    110
    91
See reviews for
248
570
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed one night as part of a family trip and really loved it. The foyer area is stylish, our 12 and 14 year old loved the pool and the xbox and I could see the kids area had plenty for younger children, the breakfast was really good and kept everyone happy, the staff were friendly and helpful. The 4 person room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. We booked for parking in advance, which was a bit pricey at 15 euros, but so convenient we didn't mind. Easy walk from the old town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetPlantaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Bridget,

thank you for reviewing us! So pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay - thank you too for all your nice comments, which will be passed on to the entire team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes from the Floris Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Reception areas are very spacious and lovely, staff are excellent, very welcoming. Has on site parking and for motorbikes this was free, which was a welcome bonus. Just outside the town so no need to take the bikes through the narrow cobbled streets either!

Easy walk into town with shops and bars to entertain you all the way.

Ladies who did the breakfast shift worked really hard to keep tables clean and food replenished and always with a smile. Breakfast was what you would expect and had a good choice. The breakfast room is too hot and rather small if everyone decides to turn up at the same time! However, there is an overflow breakfast area that is cooler and a little quieter available just across from the breakfast room.

Pool area is lovely, yes the pool looks green rather than the usual blue but it's clean and not too cold. Towels are provided along with loungers and chairs. It does have a small changing area, showers and toilet. Beware the showers though they are boiling hot!

We had hair and shower gel provided from a dispenser on the wall in the bath/ shower and the same for hand wash at the sink. Perfectly adequate.

WFI worked well and the code/password is in the information folder in the room, which is also in English.

We stayed for three nights and wished it could have been longer, we will definitely go back.

The only negative would be how hot the hotel is, all areas have fans including our room but my hubby still struggled with the heat. The weather was warm but not hot when we were there so we put it down to the heating from the pool area. It wouldn't stop us going back there though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chumlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Chumlie,

thank you for having stayed with us and your genuine comments, it was our pleasure hosting you.

I like to take the opportunity to respond onto the remark about the color of the swimming pool.
The swimmingpoolwater in fact doesn't really have a color,as it's clean / well maintained water. The lightgreen impression howevers comes from the swimming pool itself, which is painted in a lightgreen color and on top of that we have a blue/green colored light/spot in the swimming pool itself which intensifies the lightgreen semblance :) hence the impression that the water is lightgreen (whilst it's not ;-)) we might have to re-paint it crystal blue? :)

Thanks again for your comments and hopefully we'll see you back again soon.
Best wishes from the entire Floris Team:
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the beginning of March and had a really lovely stay. We were upgraded to an executive suite upon arrival so we had a huge room with balcony access and a very lush bathroom. No tea or coffee facilities in the room but a mini fridge to keep food and drinks in.

We got a taxi from the station but it would have been a 20-30 minute walk which isn't bad on a nice day if you don't have a lot of luggage.

It's a fab location from the centre, just a ten minute stroll leading you through the lovely streets of Bruges and past many shops and restaurants on the way to the main square where th Belfry is.

The hotel itself is really nicely done out, we even had a dip in the pool and the breakfast was absolutely spot on.

The staff are all friendly and helpful and we had a lovely late evening chat with the concierge lad when we came in drunk one night and stopped to have another beer at the hotel bar.

Lovely hotel, quality stay for the price we paid.
Would happily go back as a couple or with friends but also seemed they had some great facilities for those travelling with kids.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stevierx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Stevierx,

thank you ever so much for your kind words and extensive review.
So happy to read that you enjoyed the luxury of our Queen Suite and other facilities in our hotel such as the Swimming Pool & Breakfast. Thank you too for your kind words about the staff, I will pass on your notes to them.

As we have a big Kids Area with large selection of games and Xbox Kinect (free of charge to use), we're an excellent hotel as well for when travelling with the family & kids.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Bruges, we would be happy to host you again.
Best wishes from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brentwood
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel was perfect for the group of 7 lads travelling to Bruges to taste the many beers on offer! They gave us 2 rooms that were huge and were slightly separated from the rest of the hotel to ensure we did not annoy anyone. Wifi works fine, no tea and coffee in the room is a bit odd, beds comfortable, rooms clean, breakfast adequate and the swimming pool, although we only used it once, is fine and clean.

The location is good, nice and close to Beertje (great pub) and a 10 minute walk from the main square.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathonCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Jonathon,

thank you for your review! It was our pleasure hosting both you and your friends. Very pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities such as the swimmingpool.

Should your travel plans bring you back to Bruges we would be utterly happy to host you again.

Kind regards from the entire Floris team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. Room was a good size and the location is OK - 15 min walk to train station and 5 min walk to Bruges centre. Had an issue with our key not operating correctly - this was fixed as soon as we pointed out. The buffet breakfast was very good. It was pretty good and I would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leic68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Leic,

firstly thank you for having stayed with us and sharing your feedback with your fellow traveller!
Thank you too for recommending us - we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes from the entire Floris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Carlow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Floris Hotel Bruges 3 night stay
Looks nice on website and reception is very nice.
However....
First room on top level ,very small,very dark and low sloping ceiling. Door handle fell off as soon as we opened it.
No toiletries
No tea & coffee or kettle
No wifi
Very hot
Asked to change room, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, we were shown another room but that was even smaller but slightly lighter. To access it though was via a narrow metal dirty staircase on the outside.
We were given a 3rd Room option which we accepted as it was bigger and appeared okay but still not like rooms advertised.
No toiletries ..just a nearly used shower gel on the wall.
Kettle,sugar & Milk but no tea or coffee
Dirty cups
Dirty Toilet and the seat kept falling off
Mouldy shower screen and surround
Bathroom inner handle very loose
Light bulb didn't work ..,got another bulb from reception and changed it ourselves
Noise from room upstairs
Towels change on second day but bath mat missing
No WiFi in the room but advertises this
No World news on TV..BBC or CNN etc
Piles of rubbish bags on path near room plus other boxes and tools left in walkway

Breakfast awful ,room very hot,small and Very noisy. Also one guest brought a dog in to the breakfast room.
Swimming pool awful...green not usual. Blue,dirty, no proper changing room ..just two cubicals with curtain.

Rooms advertised are not what you get
I have been to many countries and hotels but have to say that I've stayed in better two star hotels!
Could be good with better maintenance
All above discussed with reception in the hope some improvement is made for others but not a place we would stay again.

Room Tip: Cannot fault the reception staff. Would do for quick one night stop over unless you have one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AntandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear,

firstly thank you for having stayed with us - I did indeed receive all of your remarks from the Front Desk team. It appears they were very intimidated as you have blamed them during your entire stay & have given them the impression that they personally have ruined your vacation. They have gone out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible but in this case it seemed as if there was nothing we could do well.

Secondly, I strongly object to large parts of your review;

1. The first room was an attic room, loved by many people as it displays the original wooden beams. I'm utterly sorry if this was not up to your liking.

2. Coffee & tea facilities - we do not offer coffee & tea facilities in our room, we do not advertise this on our website either. I'm very sorry if this was unlcear to you.

3. During your stay it was approx 30°C in Bruges, that's why it was warm. On the daily weather forecast which you receive temperatures are indicated.

4. Wi-fi is available. The password for free internet access can be found in the room directory or can be received at the Front Desk.

5. Toiletries: in all our rooms shampoo / shower gel + soap is available.

Responding onto all of your remarks would bring me too far, but I like to point out that you have booked and stayed in a decent 3* hotel in Bruges that delivers value for money, hence the many good reviews.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel, but should you wish to experience the 5* service and property, we can recommend you several other 4*+ and 5* properties in Bruges.

Best wishes from the entire Floris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#73 of 97 in Bruges
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#68 of 97 in Bruges
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Property: Floris Karos Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing