We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice”
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
LINWOOD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very good choice”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I spent a very enjoyable week here to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary.The reception area is immaculate,the staff at reception very pleasant and helpful with any queries .Our room was spotlessly clean and a decent size.We made good use of the pool although I found the heat in there a bit overwhelming.The location is excellent,with the centre of town with its shops,bars and restaurants a short walk away.The railway station and bus terminus are also near at hand and a 15-20 minute train journey would take you for a day at the seaside if you wished!-we did! The buffet breakfast was another plus-a good selection and well presented .All in all we were very glad to have chosen this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dbm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Linwood,

congratulations once again on your Ruby Wedding! We're very gratefull for your kind writings and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next wedding anniversary!

Best wishes from the entire Floris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    447
    231
    106
    91
See reviews for
240
556
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairy Meadow, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

At the front desk we were warmly greeted by Renée (hopefully I’ve spelt that correctly), a charming and humorous young gentleman who helped us understand the town’s layout and the hotel’s procedures.

We stayed in room 239, which was very spacious with a cool loft-like feel, including a window granting access to the rooftop (not that I’m suggesting you go scampering along the tiles). The room had a decent wifi signal and bathroom.

Other nice features of the hotel include a good breakfast spread, pool, small gym (more for yoga than anything else) and in the morning the daily weather forecast is slipped under your door, which is a nice touch.

Being that the service was so friendly and the hotel only a 10-minute walk from The Markt (Market Square), along with the cool room, I’d highly recommend Floris Hotel for the more modest budgeting travel.

Room Tip: Room 239: Very spacious with a cool loft-like feel, including a window granting access to the roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Marc,

your kind writings fill us with joy and inspire us to keep on delivering an excellent service.
Don't hesitate to contact us directly when travelling back again to Bruges as it would be a pleasure hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Not a bad hotel, reception area was very nice and modern, staff were friendly and very helpful.

The room was nice and clean but lacked a mini bar or fridge.
There was no air conditioning in the room but we had a fan that was quite nice but would have liked air conditioning as the weather was very humid and sticky
The bed was very comfy and big and we both slept very well.

Only real criticism of the room was that the bathroom was a little shabby and could do with a makeover.

The pool facilities were nice but again could do with a slight makeover.

I'd stay here again but would probably shop around for a better price as I found the hotel a little expensive for what I got.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Mike, thank you very much for your kind writings. As we're a 3* hotel airconditioning nor mini-bar are obliged, but we do have an on-site bar where clients can enjoy a cup of coffee and/or tea.

As for prices: please note that the best deal is always to be made via the hotel direct, therefore, should your travel plans bring you back to Bruges, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind regards from the entire Floris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is ideally located in the historic centre of Bruges just a short walk from the centre. There are restaurants nearby and the reception staff can help you make a reservation. The reception staff were very friendly and very helpful, advising of good places to eat nearby, of local attractions and of our best route to Ghent as we were travelling on from Bruges and there was a train strike while we were there. Reception gave us all the details we needed for the local bus service including how to purchase tickets and which stop the bus would go from - excellent service. They also provided us with a map to explore Bruges.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety of hot and cold food and drinks. The hotel also have a baggage storage area so they can mind your bags for you after you have checked out so you can explore the city without baggage. There is also a small pool and gym which I made use of.

Rooms are of a decent size. We had requested quiet rooms and our rooms were nicely located so that we were not disturbed by any noise from the street outside.

Would recommend this hotel as a base to explore the city and surrounds.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there Faye! Thank you ever so much for your excellent ratings - i'm very happy to see that our wonderful team was able to help you with restaurant recommendations and much more!
We look forward to hosting you back again soon. Best wishes from the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Pleasntly suprised by elegance once inside. Parking is tight at the rear and keys must be left with reception - worth noting if your precious with security!
We had free upgrade to Royal Suite and it was impressive although very hot!
Good fresh selection for breakfast too.
Would certainly book agin when in Brugge

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank sammielollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Sammie,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences within our walls with your fellow traveller!
I'm really happy to read that you enjoyed your free upgrade to the Royal Suite and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes from the entire Floris Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice hotel with good attention to detail - e.g. the kids' play area which was clean & attractive-looking had toys, books and a good sized TV. Very friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast, plenty of sitting areas whether you wanted to chat over a drink or wait for a taxi. The room was good sized, simply but adequately furnished, had a big window that opened wide (what a treat!), and a clean bathroom (with both bath and shower) and very comfortable beds. The pillows looked lumpy but were in fact very comfortable, much better than most hotels in my experience. The hotel is well placed, 5-10 minutes' walk from shopping and market areas and 10-20 minutes' walk from some of the biggest tourist attractions. Some imperfections as you'd expect from a modestly priced establishment - e.g. the hand-basin was too big and uncomfortably close to the WC, but nothing serious, and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi there, thank you very much for having stayed with us and sharing your feedback. We're very pleased to read that you enjoyed our eye to detail and can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and booked an executive suite. We arrived early and were greeted by some of the friendliest staff I have come across in a hotel. We were made to feel welcome, they stored our cases and gave us directions to places nearby that we could visit.

We checked in just after 3 pm and once again made to feel very welcome. The public areas of the ground floor have obviously refurbished and we very nice. Well laid out and everything you could want: bar, sitting area, breakfast area; lounge and tv. There is free wifi in reception.

We were shown to our room (237) and became a bit apprehensive as the section of the hotel leading to the rooms and the lift was a bit shabby and obviously had not been refurbished yet.

Our room was large and very clean. It had a comfortable double bed, large TV and bathroom. Some constructive criticism would be that the room was sparse: cheap plastic glasses, not drawers to store clothes; the great high pressure shower had a cheap shower head and a shower curtain that did not fit (not wide enough and too long). To be honest I was disappointed as when you book a suite you expect something better than a standard room, and although the size and furnishings were nice it did not reach the standards expected. Just some simple extras would make this a great room, especially when it is advertised as an executive suite with no wifi.

The breakfast was continental and had a good choice and quality. It does get a bit busy and be aware that if you arrive after 9.30 am you will be warned several times that the food will be cleared away at 10 am.

Perhaps I am being too harsh but also honest. I would stay here again and hope that the hotel improves with time and investment. Many thanks for a nice stay in Bruges.

Room Tip: The suites appear to be in the attic rooms. Mind your head going up the stairs to them as the ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Graham,

thank you ever so much for your constructive feedback and your kind words.
I'm thrilled with excitement to read that our staff really made you feel welcome - that's our absolute main goal and I'm happy that we succeeded in this.

I do however also like to point out, that your Agency had booked for you an Executive room with us (and not a Suite as you mention in your review). Some (not all) Executive rooms are situated in the attic rooms indeed and in 99% of the cases our guests really like these rooms as they have the nice original wooden beams which gives the room character.

In all the bathrooms plastic pre-packed cups are available indeed. We do not have glass cups available as hospitality research revealed that this turns out to be very unhygienic - the more hygienic alternative turned out to be pre-packed cups.

In room 237 there is a closet available and in that closet there is also a cupboard available as alternative for the drawers.

Nonetheless, thank you for your constructive feedback, please note that I will defenitely look into your remark about the shower curtain.

Kind regards from the entire Floris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#73 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
2.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#69 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#55 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Property: Floris Karos Hotel
Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing