We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with our stay.”
Review of Floris Karos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Floris Karos Hotel
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived here to stay one night in Bruges.
The staff were friendly and the hotel was good value for three people including breakfast.
The bar/reception area is really nicely decorated and I was pleased at the drink prices which I thought were quite reasonable for a hotel.
Our room was nice and clean and very spacious. We all had a great nights sleep and in the morning we made use of the swimming pool, which was a very nice.
Breakfast was a continental buffet type, but there was a large choice and it was replenished often. The bread and pastries were fresh.
Considering what we paid in comparison to other hotels we stayed in on this trip the Floris Karos was the best of the bunch.
I would definitely stay here again and would happily recommend it to others, who were looking for a good value
Clean comfortable hotel with a few nice extras (bar/pool etc)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinersauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is quite a pretty hotel just on the outskirts of the town centre and all major attractions. It's conveniently situated very close to underground parking which is 9 Euro a day. There is room to stop outside the hotel to drop your bags off.
It has a great area for kids with TV, toys, games etc right next to a parents relax area which is a nice touch. It's nicely decorated and has some friendly reception staff.
It does have a couple of staff who are clearly untrained, for example the barman couldn't grasp what a vodka and orange was and simply didn't understand what to do with a tip when I gave him one.
We had a rear room which did have a small balcony. This was nice and clean and had a powerful shower. Towels and shower gel were provided
The room itself lacked sockets, and there wasn't a socket situated near a mirror for the use of a hairdryer. When we asked to borrow an iron I had to leave my passport as security, which I though excessive and the receptionist couldn't find an ironing board so I had to iron on the floor.
Breakfast was good and included hot really tasty bacon and scrambled eggs as well as a good continental selection.
There was a small swimming pool which looked clean and modern.
Overall it was OK

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just on the outskirts of the centre of the town but within easy walking distance. The hotel looks like it is having a significant re-fit but the general feel of the place is very pleasant. Our room was in a loft style and was clean and nicely done, the bathroom as a bit tired in places. It would have been a bonus to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We were only in Bruges for one night so this hotel was ideal for a short visit and reasonably priced compared to central hotels. Parking was in the municipal multi-storey car park. For what we wanted this did the job!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JoJoPLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Jojo,

thank you ever so much for your excellent rating!
We're really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
We do not have coffee&tea facilities in the room but a cosy bar is available on site to grab a cup of coffee and/or tea. Kettles are available free of charge as well at the Front Desk for those wanting to enjoy a cup of tea in their room.

Looking forward to hosting you back again soon.
Kind regards from the entire Floris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having stayed in many hotels in Brugge on our previous visits we were expecting the Floris to be much of the same,and yes it was but plus some.
For us it was easy to get to with parking behind the hotel,it was no problem to get our car and use it ,unlike many city centre hotels !!!You also have the choice to take your car 200metres from the hotel to park in the large underground park at 6 euros a day cheaper than the hotel
The location was great with a 5 minute walk to shops and bars.
Yes the reception staff do double up and serve in the bar,but we used the bar each day and never had a problem with the service.
We are senior guests but did see many children enjoying themselves in the pool or the dedicated kids area,and in no way would that put us off,just nice to see young children catered for !!!
The rooms were very adequate,and the fan did keep us cool through our stay.
Yes breakfast was much better than many hotels in Brugge that we have stayed in,lots of cold meats and cheese,scrambled eggs and bacon,and loads of bread items.
Just a couple of points,no tea or coffee in your room,not a problem for us,just grab a couple when the breakfast opens and take back to you room.
No safe in the room,Floris it would be a nice touch to do this.
We stayed as 2 couples and found every one very helpful and pleasant,and only to eager to help with any questions.
We have never been back to the same hotel in Brugge,always preferring to try something different,but because of the plus points we would not hesitate to come back.
Great value for money,thanks to every one at Floris

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Bob,

many thanks for your stay and reviewing us! We're super duper thrilled to read about your positive experiences and are happy that you would visit us again :).

A safe is available at the Front Desk 24/7 for our clients to use.

Looking forward to hosting you back again soon. Regards from the Floris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed 1 night here and was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was, I was amazed how many amenities it had for a relatively small hotel!

Pros:
Amazing child friend hotel with a children's play area and a warm pool
Small area for a gym again unexpected
Great breakfast
Spacious communal areas

Cons:
A short walk to the main square, location was fine for me but for those wanting to be a stone's throw from the centre they will be disappointed
Parking a good 10 mins walk away
Friendly staff

All in all, a great hotel I will definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi there,

thank you for your rating and kind comments!
It was our pleasure hosting you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is just outside the main heart of the city but within easy walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived before we could check in, but this was not a problem, the lady at reception gave us a map, showed us areas of interest and said to explore the city and to come back when we were ready. When we did, we were still slightly early but were allowed to check in anyway. We stayed for two nights.

The room was modern looking but a bit shabby in places (wallpaper peeling and paint over tiles) but this did not detract from our experience. The room was spacious for two people, with a lovely area to sit and get ready. The lighting was lovely too. Even with the main light on, it gave a lovely ambience.

Breakfast was good, a choice of cereal, pastries, meats and even had scrambled eggs and bacon.

I went on a break for two but had my son been with us he would have loved it. There is a great family area with lots of things for children to do and a swimming pool (which we did not have time to use as we were so busy taking in the amazing sights Bruges has to offer).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank helenjanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Helen,

thank you ever so much for your kind rating and extensive review! It was our absolute pleasure hosting you and we can't wait to welcome you back again ... maybe next time with your son so he can enjoy the pleasures of our large Kids Corner!

Kind regards from the Floris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with modern decor in a very central location(5 mins to centre) however there is no air conditioning and as there were temperatures of almost 30 degrees this made for a very uncomfortable stay. Pillows which were limp added to an uncomfortable sleep experience. There was also no ventilation in the bathroom which made the room even hotter! €50 deposit for an iron was a bit ridiculous and a male receptionist was quite rude and abrupt with us which was a shame because the rest of the staff were fairly friendly. Also felt like it was a bit of a hassle to be served drinks at the bar which put us off. If some small issues were sorted would recommend this for a central hotel which is fairly good value. Bus stop outside takes you to station.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissKEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Floris Karos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear,

firstly thank you for having stayed with us and rating us on TripAdvisor.
We indeed do not offer nor advertise A/C. During your stay we encountered a heat wave which due to which the temperatures were higher than they usually are.

As for the iron: we do book a deposit on every clients account when they borrow an iron, when the iron is returned, the deposit is deleted from the account - not at any stage do we ask 'real' money as a guarantee, but do we indeed book 'virtual value' on your account.

I do feel sorry to read about the 'behaviour' of one of our front desk Clerks as this does not reflect the standard we are persuading at the Floris Hotel and I will look into the matter further.

That being said, I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again one day.
Best wishes from the entire Floris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.1 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#66 of 97 in Bruges
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jacobs Hotel
Jacobs Hotel
#77 of 97 in Bruges
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Karos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Karos Hotel

Address: Hoefijzerlaan 37, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £58 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Floris Karos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Floris Karos hotel is a 3 *** star hotel centrally located in Bruges just a 15 minute walk away from the market square with its Belfry tower. 'T Zand square, where travelers can enjoy a variety of local restaurants, vivid bars and local markets on certain dates, is situated a 2 minute walk away. From 'T Zand square on guests can enter the most important shopping streets of Bruges, which are leading towards the market square. Bruges Railway Station is to be found only 1.5 Km from the hotel and easy reachable by taxi or bus. All attractions and museums of Bruges, as well as the typical charming canals where boat tours take place, are situated within walking distance from the hotel. When entering this hotel with its traditional Norman facade, you will be surprised by its modern colonial-style interior, its large entrance hall with a cozy bar and welcoming reception area where you can enjoy calm evenings around the cozy fireplace. We invite you to have a drink at our bar where various beverages are served including local Belgian beers. The Floris hotel offers also a heated indoor swimming pool where you can relax and enjoy a swim in the evening after a busy day of sightseeing in Bruges. For those even more sportive among us a fitness is available on site. Apart from several relaxing seating areas where parents can relax, there is a well an equipped kids' corner with flat screen TV, large variety of games and Xbox available. A large-screened Apple iMac with internet connection can be used free of charge and is available in the lounge area. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire building during the entire stay of our guests. Flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a work desk are provided as standard in the rooms at Floris Hotel Bruges. The rooms offer comfortable beds, modern decoration and spacious bathrooms with bath and/or shower combination to make you feel at home. Parquet floors give the interiors a modern feel. To kick start the day guests can enjoy a delicious continental-style breakfast with pastries, bacon and warm egg dishes in the breakfast room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Floris Karos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Floris Karos
Floris Karos Bruges
Karos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing