We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hostel in excellent location”
Review of Hotel Passage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Passage
Ranked #88 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Found this hostel and were pleased to find it so centrally located. Rooms were clean and the restaurant below was lovely, ate there one night, the food was delicious. Would have liked some tea and coffee making facilities but apart from that it was fine for us. Owner was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

BED BUGS. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!! We found an INFESTATION of bed bugs in our room. The owner of the hostel pretended like he didn't know what a bed bug was. Anyone who owns a hotel / hostel MUST know what they are. In fact, after consulting a professional, we learned that this infestation was so large and advanced that he must have known about it and was choosing not to take proper care of it because of how costly it is to get rid of them. They are everywhere. Heed my warning! Don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It's a hostel and not a hotel as we know, however when you book for a double room you get twin beds, it's a problem and the pictures are very misleading. There is obviously a language error or the owner is just a money crabber, not sure by his characteristics. In the end we dismantled the beds and made do with the beds stuck together! It was a clean room and very big, however a bit big for our liking. The room itself was very plain, nothing to store anything in, it was very cold, the hallway felt like you were outside and the smell on the stairway smelt extremely damp. The showers were disgusting, haven't been cleaned properly, no lights, slimy floor and the shower lasts for 2 seconds... really? There was no where to hang your towel or clothes unless you wanted them to get wet! It was a shame, we really wanted to like this place however the owner was rude and the hostel wasn't clean enough. It didn't take much to make this place a little bit better.

Room Tip: Don't expect a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roberttaylorcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Awful ware, toilet smell hits you as you walk into corridor....
Can't escape that smell even through two fire doors that lead to bedrooms...
Can't leave towels or clothes anywhere when you take a shower...
And BED BUGS!!!
Spoiled my trip to Bruges...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palmiali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I actually stayed in the Hostel part of this accommodation and found it to be an adequate , if not a little weird experience.
When I found the place (which took a while cause the place is so hard to find, especially when you have had a few of the local beers) I was greeted by a very pleasant young lady who had a lot of local knowledge and was more than willing to help. I found my room, unescorted, and wasn't very happy with the state it was in, though it was adequate. One thing that stood out was the smell of the food that was cooked downstairs constantly lingering around the place, and the Belgians cuisine isn't the best!!.
When I woke up the next morning I found that there was an older lady on the desk and she was very abrupt to say the least. Not very helpful and just, in general, a very miserable person.
I found the WC/ Shower facilities rather strange as they were shared and limited, though Breakfast was very good, Continental and generous!
If you are looking for a budget break in what is a beautiful city this is the place for you, must be approached with an open mind though!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Hotel was in a great location and very clean. Owner was nice, funny, and helpful. After telling the bike rental company that we were staying at this hotel, we got a slight discount. We didn't have a chance to try the food in the restaurant attached to the hotel, but it looked good, and was the lowest priced restaurant in the city.

Showers for our private room were shared with the entire floor, but they were quite clean. For the money we spent on the room, we were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked a "double" private room in this hostel which turned out to be a twin room. The rooms are on several floors, in corridors with some shared bathrooms at the end. The bathrooms were extremely weird, and each floor had something lacking. Our floor's bathrooms had no sinks, so we had to go back to our room to wash hands. Room was very clean, had nice decor and a sink.

Hostel is in a fantastic location, about 5-10 minutes' walk from the lovely town square. It's above a restaurant which the owners (understandably) seem to pay more attention to than the hostel. Nevertheless, the woman who checked us in and out was very friendly and helpful. No breakfast was provided but there was a café next door which did a lovely budget breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavouryJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#73 of 97 in Bruges
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lace Hotel
Lace Hotel
#91 of 97 in Bruges
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Asiris
Hotel Asiris
#62 of 97 in Bruges
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#61 of 97 in Bruges
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#55 of 97 in Bruges
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Passage

Address: Dweersstraat 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Passage 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Passage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passage Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing