We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Star at best.”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My wife and travelled to Bruges as part of a Riviera Travel group( not something we had done before) - firstly let me say the review of the hotel is not a criticism of the tour as this was perfectly fine- don,t be put off. Also the hotel has positives - it is brilliantly located with 6 restaurants 50 yds from door ( turn left) all do set 3 couse dinners to suit a variety of tastes and pockets, we ate each of our 3 evenings in a different one for 60-80 euros including wine or beer, Maximillian von Oesterijk has best view but other than that we didn,t agree which was best. The hotel is also near a supermarket ( turn rt ) and room has a fridge ( and safe). It is also a pleasant 10 mins max stroll to the Markt and Burg squares ( and Zand ) so far so good.The bar is reasonably priced ( 3.50 for a wine or a Leffe Blond beer) even though it looks like a 70,s brothel ( so i,m told)
The hotel would not really be a problem if it did not descibe itself as 4 star and charge more than the 3 stars used by the company ( both ranked higher ) - but it does!
The room was poorly decorated with damp on curtains , we had a balcony over courtyard ( not all rooms do ) but it had a cup with prev occupants fag ends in it. The bed was very low and very soft, there was no tv channel guide ( BBC1 is 77 , BBC2 is 85), there were plastic cups for coffee ( only 1 per day pp) plastic glasses in bathroom. The bathroom had a huge cast iron door on it like one would imagine a walk in safe or panic room- it had a lock but no key, creaked everytime it was used and was certainly panic inducing!
The hairdryer was completely useless,there was no bin in room and the walls were so thin one could simultaneously hear conversations either side.The lighting system/switches are virtually incomprehensible,and we often ended up in darkness 10 secs after thinking we had switched main light off and lamps on.
The hot breakfast was disgusting- avoid at all costs, stick to cheese bread and pate which is adequate but not earth shattering. But if deal does not include breakfast (9 euros)-then there is cafe virtually next door that does toasties for 3.
Don,t be put off the tour, Bruges is great, and i don,t know whether the other 2 hotels are better , but i know they are cheaper and i also know they can,t be any worse!

Room Tip: Avoid the hot breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikefre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

We booked this hotel through Riviera travel, the hotel is just off the main street so it's quite quiet which is always good. It could be better signposted but as we had a guide this wasn't really an issue for us. Plus a big sign in Bruge would stick out like a sore thumb. The rooms are big enough, not huge but cosy. They have cable tv however we only found about 3 English channels. 2 of which were BBC1 and BBC2. The beds are really comfy, they have extra pillows and blankets in the rooms, it does have tea and coffee making facilities but it has creamer and not real milk which doesn't go in tea! The bathroom was average size, quite modern too!
Breakfast is 7:30 till 10 with a choice of cereals, yogurt, fruit, continental, toast and their version of a cooked breakfast which wasn't amazing but there's plenty of other stuff so you wouldn't go hungry. As we were on a package holiday breakfast was included in our trip but usually it's €9 per person per day.
All the staff which we saw were women, it is a family run hotel and they all speak excellent English.
The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the Market square going past the church of our lady - well worth a visit.
The hotel only serves breakfast but there are hundreds of restaurants in Bruge so you wont go hungry. A restaurant I would recommend is Belle Epoch which is on the way to Zand square. Beautiful little place with lovely food. Restaurants on the Market square are on the the pricey side so if you're looking for cheap places to eat try elsewhere.
All in all it's a lovely hotel, friendly staff, nice rooms, decent breakfast and a fab location. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xoxleannexox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of an organised tour.Having read some of the comments we were a little apprehensive.No need, the room was large and well maintained,no noise and a modern bathroom.The bed was comfortable with extra pillows if needed.The breakfast was more than ample in a nice modern style restaurant,no need for evening service as Bruge as more choice of restaraunts within very easy walking distance of the hotel.The staff were all helpful and spoke perfect English.If you want to be really picky the only downside was the poor choice of English channels on T.V.but Bruge is so pleasant no need to watch TV to pass away the time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacSunderlandEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This Hotel is not 4 star as it states. The rooms are a little dull as is the reception area and no Restuarant in the evening. My wife sneezed in room 169 and a gentleman in 171 was heard saying bless you ( she was loud). However it is clean and the staff are efficient. It is well positioned in town away from the main road. The Hotel is right in not investing in an evening restuarant as turn left out of the Hotel and within 50 metres are a choice of 4 good ones. Do try Maximiliaan van Uostenriik, a brilliant meal but with the £/Euro it was on the pricey side,112 euros for two courses, bot wine and coffee liquers. Bruges is amazing and I would recommend this Hotel, they just need to be honest as to what rating they are

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staghunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Hotel is very well located close to the main city attractions.
In very well conditions and with a very helpful staff. Also rooms and bathroom were new and very clean.
What I'd mention is that the hotel looks more like a 3 stars superior class than a 4 stars. There are a few small details like plastic glasses in the bathroom, switches with a hand written mark sayin "on" and "off"... Nothing mayor but things you´d not expect in a 4 starts hotel.
Other than that, it´s a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

More than happy with the hotel. Right in the centre of town, but in a side street so not noisy. Clean bedrooms - perfectly fine. Staff pleasant. Very decadently decorated bar area with lots of velvet red and black seating - quite novel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Just returned from 2 nights in Bruges. Hotel Academie was a perfect place to stay, clean, quiet, friendly staff, had fairly spacious room on 3rd floor with views over the Bruges rooftops, perfectly adequate for a couple of nights and nice touches like personal safe and fridge in the room. Only a few minutes walk from the train station. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing