We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Good short break hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location. Good short break hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Situated 5 minutes walk from the main centre of Brugge. Very clean and comfortable. Very quiet and a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. Third floor rooms have great views over the rooftops to the cathedral spire. Our room was huge and bathroom very spacious. Breakfast is self service and typically continental, but you can eat your fill! The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. BEWARE: there are mosquitos even this far north in Brugge, so you have to sleep with the windows shut even in October. However the air conditioning goes down to 15 deg C and was quite quiet. Only drawback was the micro-pillows.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EAber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    842
    199
    52
    24
See reviews for
277
1,171
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Really nice and clean
Anne was fantastic
Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Always27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This Hotel is in a superb location in Bruges about ten minutes from the main central square and on a quiet street that leads down to the Minniewater lake and part of the canal system where the swans congregate. The Hotel was somewhat dated, cold and I thought rather clinical, that might be because we travelled as part of a larger group, but the staff never seemed to be bothered with no real interaction it was all a bit of an effort. The Public rooms and the small bar were not welcoming and the conservatory was a thoroughfare to the interior. Our room was on the ground floor at the side with some traffic noise or the regular rattle of the house drawn tourist carriages until about 10pm it would be later at the height of the tourist season, this hotel is most definitely not a four star but it is a reasonable three star, food was standard continental fare and more than adequate, the tea and coffee in the rooms is a concession to the volume of British tourists they get but it is sparse to say the least and seems particularly mean to charge of extras. We were there in October although in excellent weather it was so crowded at times you can only imagine what it must be like at the height of the tourist season! Having said that it is visually a treat and repays attention above your normal eye line, Bruges is historically rich and architecturally beautiful along with its medieval canal system it can be stunning in places. Eat away from the main square and in fact close to the “Academie” down towards the Minniewater are several excellent restaurants, if you want to sample the Belgium Beer, go to the Beer Wall (Hundreds of Beers!) and sit on the terrace overlooking the canal wonderful spot to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trooper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Nice hotel on a fairly quiet street just down the road is the swan lake. Excellent facilities, staff and food. There is a chocolatier acrosss the road... Beware!!! it's excellent..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VascoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Lovely hotel, very central but in a quiet area so you are not bothered by noise. We were in a ground floor room 169 which is at the side of the hotel, The room was very clean and a good size with a fridge which was very handy. The bathroom was excellent and house keeping very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was standard buffet style fayre which you will find in any european hotel, fine as long as you avoid the hot breakfast but I find this at most hotels so no surprise . Free internet access in the lounge and if you ask at reception they will give you a group ticket which gains you discounted entry to many of the musems.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Though it is said to be a 4 star hotel, I would rate it at 3 star. Our room was very good, and though they give you tea making facilities, this is the meanest we have ever been to - they give you enough for 1 cup of tea or coffee with 1 creamer sachet each. All hotels have always given 2 drinks each and if you ask will give you more - but not this hotel. The Orangie was very cold and bar dull and staff not much better - could hardly raise a smile let alone make eye contact. Despite all this, the Hotel is in a good location and Bruge is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Room clean and spacious with a fridge and teas and coffee and free internet window opens up into a courtyard very close to all the main sites and lots of restaurants just around the corner. go on a canal cruise if you get the chance and the academie hotel will give you a discount card where you can gain access to all the museums etc at a discount. the only fault I would have with the rooms is that they are very dark. Overall very good

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maura h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing