We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel (March 2012). A very nice place to stay no matter if it is business or private trip. Situated in the old town of Brugge, just few minutes of walk to the most popular tourist places. Rooms spacious, well cleaned and comfortable. Very comfortable beds. Nice inner yard, very helpful and friendly staff. Good job! Thanks for the comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megstu_keliauti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    858
    201
    52
    25
See reviews for
287
1,192
66
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A nice comfortable hotel in the middle of bruge. I would say very similar to english premier inns but with a few little extras like lights above the mirror and by bed and nice table to sit at with two chairs. we stopped in room 147 ground floor very spacious and room for two adults and a child. Tv has three english channels bbc1,2 and itv 1 and fridge lovely if it was summer as this room leads onto sitting area via patio door. Maybe in the summer you mightr get disturbance in this room but we didnt experience any. King size bed and comfortable pillows. Small tip take extra tea coffee sugar and two nice mugs as hotel only supplies plastic beakers and tea or coffee never tastes the same out of these. Breakfast wasnt anything too write home about but ours was included but wouldnt have paid 12 euros for it. Ok for continental breakfast but poor selection. Usuall cold hams cheese croissants and cereals etc. Bar ok but have to re mind reception staff you are waiting as they ignore you if they they are on reception as well which is normally the case.Nice reataurants nearby but unless you take a set meal option can be expensive otherwise about 16-22 euros for 3 course set menu. Turn left out of hotel for a good four five restaurants. Would I use this hotel again.? yes as I say centre of bruge and good for visiting and amenities

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed for 3 nights on an arranged tour (Riviera Tours) and found the hotel clean, modern and very convenient to get around Bruges from.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and both our room and our bathroom were a good size, clean and well heated/ventilated. There's a safe in your room for valuables and a tv with a couple of uk channels as well as a couple of most european language channels.

The breakfast is hot & cold buffet style and whilst not what you'd call a "full english" it was excellent and gave a large selection of different foods/breads/pastries/cereals/chesses/meats etc.

We didn't get the chance to use the small modern gym, but there's one there if you would like one!

The cons were very few but the bar is staffed by reception staff upon request, there are only breakfast facilities not lunch or evening meal and the wifi can be very difficult to attain and only in the reception/bar area.

All in all we would highly recommend this hotel despite the minor flaws.

Room Tip: We requested and received a room in the newer extension but understand that all rooms have been comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We just spent 4 nights at the Academie during and half term - and I think it was great value for money.
The hotel is centrally located, though roadworks at the end of the street did make it hard to find initially. The rooms are basic but clean - our bathroom was a little tired and I think the hotel is far from 4* but it did everything it saidf on the packet. We got a great deal, and I for one think it was great. The staff are all friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is not great and I certainly would no pay 12 EUROS for it, but it was part of our package, so we would fill up on cereal and toast, the hot selection does leave a lot to be desired.

Perfect for a budget city break.!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up, as the noise from the floors above is horrendous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boo0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Academie for 2 nights during half term. The hotel itself was clean and tidy, and most of all it was warm(helpful as it was -10 outside). The bathroom was lovely and clearly refitted. As nice as our stay was, we did have a couple of problems: firstly our room was almost impossible to lock, though we eventually manged it..however the cleaner clearly didn't as when we returned from an excursion during the day, the room had been left unlocked, not great as we were opposite the gym. Secondly we had no bin....this might not seem bad but just think about it! And the clincher for us, and what clearly doesn't make this a 4 star were the plastic cups for tea/coffee. I say tea and coffee, but this '4 star' only leaves 2 coffee sachets, 2 tea bags, 2 creamer powers and 2 sugars- any more and you have to pay!what a joke!

Location is fantastic and you can park underneath, though watch out as there were roadworks blocking the road to the hotel, though no-one bothered to let us know from the hotel and warn us.....perhaps something a 4star hotel would do?

Resurants just down the lane of the hotel are fantastic and much cheaper than those on the main market square.

We would stay here again but not for the £80 per night which we paid, probably only for half that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ms P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed in Hotel Academie for two nights in mid-December 2011. The rooms were clean and spacious and the building itself was very modern - above average, I'd say, for a four star hotel in the city centre of Brugges. The view from the room was breath-taking: looking out upon houses that had been standing for as long as the 13th Century! The hotel itself is within walking distance from the city centre, Belfort Tower and the train station, plus there are plenty of restaurants within easy reach for an evening meal. I found myself spoilt for choice at breakfast time and would definitely stay in Hotel Academie again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VarVarBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location!! It is not right on the square so the restaurants around it are a lot less expensive with great food! Our room was nice and clean with an excellent bathroom. This was one of the quietest rooms we've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Weaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing