We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with a nice bar and service with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a nice bar and service with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a very nice hotel which is situated in a perfect place, its clean and the staff are very friendly.

They were happy to advise where to go and places to eat and bascally they couldn't do enough.

Higly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rene l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    841
    199
    52
    24
See reviews for
276
1,170
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Yet again another hotel booked via the internet, based on price (two adults & one child aged 10 years). Three nights B&B.
Excellent location in the centre of Bruges; walking distance to all attractions:
Main Square
Canal Boat Tours
City Bus Tours
Bars & Restaurants
Breakfast was very good value for money
Bedrooms were of a high standard and cleaned daily
Car park (underground) was very secure but a little expensive @ 15 euro per day.
At less than £100 per night this proved to be an excellent choice; the staff on reception were most helpful throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them - a credit to the hotel.
Would definitely use again and would most certainly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HartlepoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Academie Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the picturesque city of Bruges. It is clean and well maintained, with standard but adequate facilities. There was an excellent choice at breakfast, and the staff were friendly, welcoming and informative. Two small issues about the room were that the bathroom was not well ventilated, and the room could feel damp with the condensation, also, you had to ask to have the heating turned on, even though it was a chilly October. This did not spoil the overall stay, however, and would definately stay at the Academie again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just returned after 3 nights at the 4star Academie. Hotel is very clean and warm,staff are very helpful as are all people in Bruge and all speaking english. Went with a friend and we shared a lovely twin room faceing the courtyard where in good weather is a lovely seeting area. Be aware though tea drinkers take your own as you will be charged for extra shame they do this.
Breakfast is buffet as most hotels these days plenty of choice and as much as u want, Good quality too. There is also a small bar which is nice after a long day exploring beautiful Bruges a trip on the canals is a must , The hotel is right next to Minne water which is stunning dont miss it. We went with Riviera travel whos Rep Chris was very good and gave lots of useful information. Have a great holiday at Academie we did.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are better we had room 225
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pomroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just had 3 nights in Brugge, organised by Riviera Travel. Can recommend the travel firm and especially their choice of hotels. This one is, like others in Brugge, really a very good quality bed and breakfast. Recently refurbished, the rooms are well furnished, a very good size and very clean. The staff are English speaking, friendly and obliging. Breakfast offered a good choice of foods - hot and cold.
Having experienced a very poor English AA 4 star B&B this was a total contrast - 4 star Belgian but of very high quality - we can recommend the trip and hotel - Brugge is great for a short break, plenty to see and lots to eat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salterdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

The Academie hotel is ideally located in the city center of Bruges. The rooms are nice, with a lovely clean and modern bathroom.

We were very happy until we noticed that one of our bed sheets was stained and another one had a hole in it. We were too tired to request another room, and it was ok to sleep there, but when we notified the reception the next morning they didn't even apologize, which was a bit of a surprise.

We didn't have breakfast there, but went to a small cafe just down the street which was lovely.

Would recommend staying there, but would check the bed carefully upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heodeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed for a 3 night break with Riviera Travel, great location, very nice room and no noise, check in for a big group was very well handled, the staff were friendly and helpfull, good breakfast choice too, would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flashman6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing