We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accommodation”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

lovely hotel near the centre, our room on the second floor was a good size and very comfortable, breakfast had a good variety,the staff were very helpful,especially jeroen, an, and annick.we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very comfortable hotel near Minnewater and the Beguinage, a picturesque area only 10 mins walk from the station, and 15 mins from the main square. Our room on the ground floor was a good size, very clean with a lovely bathroom and powerful shower. Helpful staff and a good breakfast with plenty of variety, including some hot food. We went just before Christmas and the whole city was very festive. Would also recommend the Restaurant De Wijngaert which is only 50 metres away - fantastic steaks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guanabana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel is right in the centre of Brugge amongst the gorgeous narrow streets. I stayed for 2 nights and was very pleased with the clean and spacious room. The breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of choice and the staff were remarkable especially Jerome who kindly helped us to plan a train journey to Ieper.
We had to leave our room by 11am on our departure day and needed to set off to walk to the station in time for the 5pm transfer to the ferry. Our bags were kept in a locked room until we were ready to collect them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Very good location very near the centre of Brugge and only 10 minutes walk from the station. The room was clean and comfortable the staff helpful, breakfast was continental offering a good variety. Brugge is a lovley old city with plenty of retaurants and lots to see. We recommend a visit to the brewery and the chocolate museum. A trip to Ghent is also recomended another lovely old medieval ctiy only 40 minutes away by train at a cost of 5 euros. We would definitley return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over New Years and this hotel was everything we needed. It was close to both the city centre and railway stations (both about 10 mins stroll) along picturesque routes - it look longer as I kept stopping for photos!

We had bed & breakfast, which was served later on 01/01 - great idea! - and comprised your usual Continental fare of cereals, meats, cheeses, juices, pastries and a bit of hot food. The hotel bar was also very accommodating with a nice choice of local beers. There is also a nice, cosy bar (http://www.brugschbieratelier.com/) a couple of doors down.

Our room was on the first floor and next to two other rooms - which is where my only complaint comes from - the other doors were very close to ours so when anyone came in/out of the their room it sounded like they were coming into our room which is a bit disturbing when you're waking up in the morning or trying to get to sleep.

Apart from that the room was very spacious, with an awesome shower and good facilities.

I'd recommend anyone considering Bruges to check out this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great place, clean and modern. Staff were great, very on the ball, alert and helpful and responsive. They helped us get a nice restaurant around the corner on our first night. Our room was spacious and clean and modern, I particularly like the lighting controls, on/off or dim to taste when swith was kept pressed. Shower was OK, a little weak and off angle, that was my only slight gripe, but it worked fine. Bed was very comfortable and room was quite, but I used earplugs anyway. Didn't try the breakfast or bar facilities but they seemed well subscribes, heard lots of English accents there. Location is great, restuarants and chocolateries and bars, canals parks monasteries etc aplenty within a stones throw, (plus an excellent comics store, om par with anything in Paris). About 10 mins lovely walk to the main square, but you'd be happy staying in the neighbourhood too. A very nice place to stay in one of the nicest cities in the world. I deduct a star purely because it isn't 5-star, but it's absolutely fine. Christmas time is a great time to visit, but then again we were lucky with the weather - cool/mild, dry and clear.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grayzer2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed at the academie hotel for three nights and found it to be in a fantastic location for exploring Brugge. Only a few minutes walk to the main square and other tourist sites, it is located down a narrow side street. Our room was directly above the main entrance but we were never disturbed by any noise during the night and the bed was very comfy. It was great to look out of our room window at the horse and carriages that regularly went up and down the street. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection and the staff were friendly and helpful. Was part of a 4 day package holiday with Riviera travel and we had a fantastic time. Brugge is a lovely place to visit and if we were to go back I would have no hesitation in staying at the Academie again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank classongrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £65 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing