We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful upgrade”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Our Eurostar package put us in the Ibis Hotel which was overbooked. We were upgraded to the 4* Hotel Academie just around the corner where we were warmly welcomed in English, given an immaculately clean, charming and comfortable room, with flexible and very efficient heating, though the lighting system took us a bit longer to master! which gave us an excellent base for exploring this delightful city. Its position, off the main drag, gave us easy walking to all the places we wanted to see, in an area of specialist shops and restaurants, and a late night store. It was just far enough away from the main Markt Place which was much busier. Breakfasts (till 10 o'clock) were a vast array of fruit, cereals, croissants and other pastries, cheeses, hams, hot dishes, eggs cooked in every possible way (scrambled was particularly good), coffee was excellent, all laid out so that you could serve yourself in whatever order you chose. The dining room had a curved brick roof, nice pictures, delightful ambience, the staff were attentive efficient and smiling without being intrusive. A particular benefit on the morning we departed was being able to leave our luggage in a locked room which enabled us to go and look at that fabulous Van Eyck one more time. The Yoruba totem in the reception area was a delightful contrast to this modern hotel. A great treat to stay here for our modest outlay.

Room Tip: Our room 110 overlooked the tree-lined area below, with little tables for summer guests, empty in Fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marchwind70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,360 of 2,344 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Although the hotel is very close to the station and to all the beautiful sights in Bruges, I can't rate this hotel as a * * * * hotel. The seize of the room was okay, the bathroom was not as clean as one would expect in a * * * * hotel, but the worst thing was the terrible smell of smoke and cigarettes in the room. As soon as you entered the room you could smell it and that smell did not go away (even with open windows!!!).
A pity because the staff was very friendly and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a smoke free room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tupf1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I went there while they were undergoing some renos, so there was a paint fume smell. Unfortunate, but bearable.

Room was quite spacious. My window was very tiny so it felt kind of gloomy and musty. Very poor water pressure, and I had to wait quite a while before I got warm water.

Excellent location. Close the the main station as you can be while still being in the "ring". Just down the street is a great cheap sandwich cafe.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a large window?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is in a great location, it's 10 mins from the station, 5 mins from town.

I immediately noticed that the hotel was very clean, and nice and modern. The staff were friendly, and the room was of a good size and very clean.

The only problem I had with this hotel was the bathroom. Firstly we had a loo roll that was soaked, looked like it fell in the toilet, it also had a used loo roll holder within the loo roll. Secondly, when i ran a bath, LOADS of dirt came out from the bit at the top where the water drains out to stop flooding of the bathroom. Also, the plug in the bathroom was broken, which meant i had to stand there for 20 mins holding it open while the water ran out. If it wasn't for the bathroom, it would be 4.5 stars, but i'm afraid this really let the whole experience down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skankingpigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Pleasant and efficient staff on reception. Large clean and warm rooms which is essential in February. Could have done with extra coffee in the rooms but the kettle in the room was very welcome. Hotel is in an excellent position for walking to all attractions. Recommended!!! We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Glynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed at the Academie Hotel as part of a mini cruise from Hull last weekend. The hotel was fantastic, from arriving early and being able to leave our luggage safely all day to finding the room was a large en suite at the front of the hotel. The weather was really cold so finding the room to be so warm and cosy was a lovely part of the stay. We visited the hotel bar and the guy behind the reception was brilliant, recommending some Leffe 11% beer and then directing us to the Maximillion Restaurant which offered excellent food and a welcoming atmosphere. Overall a very good stay and we must say the staff were very impressive from checking in to checking out. I almost forgot to say the breakfast was nice too, a large continental choice with a selection of hot items to set you up for a busy day walking around Bruges. I would recommend the Academie Hotel - Excellent service - Thank You!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We only stayed here for one night but the hotel was very nice.The room was clean, comfortable and provided a kettle with tea and coffee in the room,fridge and a large en-suite bathroom with a good sized bath and a shower. Plenty of heating and hot water too!!
The breakfast buffet was varied and reasonably priced at 12.50 euro (which is quite fair for the prices for meals in Bruges) and there was plenty to eat for us, even though we are vegetarians .I wouldn`t hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bruges.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £64 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing