We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Fantastic Location”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We made arrangements to stay here on a whim and I thought it was a good choice. Can't beat the location with being just south of the center of town, easy walking distance to all of the attractions of the downtown area. Parking is underground and extremely tight, so if you try to bring a larger sedan or van into the parking, you might find it not to your liking. The room was nice and large enough for us. The lights took a little adjusting to, but the controls were easy after that. The breakfast buffet was very good and substantial for the price. Within a few meters walk, there are plenty of restaurant and bar choices. We will most likely stay here again when we come back to Bruges.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back or center of the hotel. Street side will have common city noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXCodeMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 2,265 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Would just like to say how we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and the very pleasent staff. Ok the walls might have been a little thin but considering the age of some of the guests you cannot have everything so some tv sound could be heard. Very good selection at breakfast and excellent coffee. No one can do tea like the British. You can't please everybody and it is not surprising to read some of the reviews. They can be nasty when they get home but say nothing at the time.Oh how brave they are at complaining from their home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracy4468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

As we were travelling by rented car, we wanted to have also parking facilities. Academie offers also that - just remember the hall is very tight and narrow! Only moments we were not happy having rented much bigger car than our hot hatch at home.
Reception was very friendly and helpful. Our room was behind the inner yard and near the gym, really good and recently modernized. Really liked it, all clean and working.
Breakfast was very good, wide variety from different West European traditions.
Area is full of travellers on daytime, but even Saturday night at 10pm (not to mention our departure at 9am Sunday) there was quiet around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The best thing this hotel has got going for it , is its in a good location for access to the railway station (its a 10 min walk).
Staff not very friendly on check in, no tissues, face washers, or glasses in bathroom, 2 tea bags no milk, defiantly not a 4 star, also has a very damp smell to it as you walk through the sitting area through to the room it may have only been our floor didn't go onto other floors, our room was on ground floor (c 146 )
Asked the reception desk how much it was to make a call from the room she said she had no idea.
We had breakfast included, but don't bother every single bit of fruit is out of the can, none of that lovely crusty bread, even the yoghurt tasted false.
The hotel is very big on fines, some of the signage around included if they found you boiled the jug for anything else than water you would be fined €50, smoking in the rooms fined €50, no drinks outside the breakfast room.
Surprised at some of the reviews that this hotel was given it is very basic hotel was disappointed in this hotel considering it was booked through a agent.

Room Tip: If you are not fussed about the train access find somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour group. The room was clean & spacious, the bed was comfy and had the option of a nice soak in the bath or a good powerful shower. It was also nice and quiet. Took us a while to figure out the lights but this was quite funny rather than a nuisance. We brought extra teabags & coffee with us as suggested & bought milk at a nearby shop. However, there are so many wonderful coffee shops nearby we didn't use much. Proper cups were supplied. The reception staff were very helpful and having free wifi throughout the hotel was great. Breakfast was fine. Mostly cereal, fruit, cold meats, cheese etc although scrambled egg or boiled eggs were available along with various breads & toast. On a city break we were out all day from early morning and after a quick bath/shower back out again for a few drinks & a meal so we did not spend any other time in the hotel. Why would you? Lots of good restaurants nearby and throughout Bruges. Minnewater at the end of the street...a romantic little area where apparently a few propsals have taken place!

Room Tip: Not near the gym! We heard someone pounding away early one morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyboy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The room was a fair size with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. We didn't need the air-con or heating but it looked as though it worked [ I tested the heating for a few minutes on a wet chilly day and it started to heat up but then decided we didn't really need it]. Breakfast choice was good although I stuck to the cold offerings. I'm not sure why we needed to be threatened by fines so much - a prominent notice warning of a fine for taking food out of the restaurant at breakfast time, a fine for smoking in your room and a fine for using the kettle other than for boiling water! That puzzled us but then perhaps we have led a sheltered life. The hotel is well located near Minnewater, a lovely and peaceful area. The hotel does not provide meals other than breakfast but there are some good restaurants nearby. The staff were friendly enough but perhaps for a 4 star hotel, the management need to be a bit more hands on. We had some time to wait for our coach on departure, so thought we would have a glass of wine but wine is not from a bottle, only on tap and they had run out of white wine and the barman [who also had to mind reception] couldn't or didn't want to remedy this. Our party congregated in reception to wait for the coach and presumably a lot of ladies used the toilet facilities in the lobby before we set off but my wife had to notify reception that although there were a lot of toilet cubicles, hardly any had paper. The common areas were rather tatty and in fact the carpet outside our room was pretty shabby with much staining. We do not normally comment on these things because you stay in the room not the hallway but in this instance it was quite noticeable as commented by our neighbours also and after all, it is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. We would stay here again though because of the comfortable room and good location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abacus763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed for two nights in April . The location is excellent, within walking distance to the center of the old city and close to several restaurants. There is a laundramat just down the street two blocks. We arrived in the morning and our room was ready for us to take possession (great relief). The staff was helpful and kind. The breakfast buffet had hot selections,excellent coffee,pastries,fruit and yogurt. Our room was large ,clean and the bed was comfortable. This is a great value !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing