We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located and good value”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Centrally located and good value”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Centrally located and welcoming hotel, pleasant foyer and seating areas, friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast a bit limited and slightly disappointing eg tinned fruit, very tired looking cooked food but otherwise coffee and croissants ok.
Bar served good hot drinks including hot chocolate
Good value and convenient for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    849
    199
    52
    25
See reviews for
281
1,183
64
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel could do better. It's acceptable but that's all. The staff were really good and help full but the rest of the hotel is in need of a little TLC (and a spring clean). Having said that please don't be put off using it. It's ok and the position is really good. It has an excellent underground car park with easy access off the street ( height restriction 1.8m) €14/night I think was the rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here last week, were lucky enough to get room 268 overlooking a C17th garden. The staff are friendly and helpful, Self serve breakfast is superb with choices for every taste. There is a Carrefour express less than 2 minutes round the corner. The hotels position is close to the railway station and fairly quiet street. Would have given 5*s but our room needs the mould on bath tiles attending to and one light in the bathroom had a cover missing. We would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Well kept Hotel, helpful English speaking receptionists.

Spacious room, clean and pleasantly decorated on the ground floor looking onto the garden area.

The room had coffee facilities (not always available in Europe), a fridge and a safe.

The room also had a small table and a couple of chairs.

Breakfast was buffet style, a huge dining room where nobody asked for our room number or ID... Anyone could have walked in!!

The breakfast had all the usual; fruits, cheese, ham, breads, scrambled eggs, beans... No bacon and tiny chippolata sausages.
Coffee was beautiful.

I wold recommend this Hotel and should I revisit Brugge would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shasbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Have just returned from a stay at this hotel organised by Riviera Travel. The room I was allocated as single traveller was not to my liking at all, it was room no.336 on the 3rd floor (top floor) at the far end of a corridor. The room's décor was shabby and dark, the walls painted a very dark chocolate colour. The bathroom also was shabby and in need of a re-fit. On turning back my bed covers on the first night a dead fly was found, which was not pleasant. The mattress was very soft and after two nights I requested a firmer one. Although there was a varied selection of food available at breakfast the quality was poor. I do not know what the other rooms were like but mine was in no way indicative of a supposedly 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynth16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Reception staff are welcoming and helpful (we arrived early but they found a room that was ready so that we could use it immediately). The room itself was lovely, comfortable and spacious with tea and coffee making kit plus fridge. The breakfast buffets were adequate with lots of choice and plenty of it. The best thing about this hotel, though, is the location; a quiet street very close to the central attractions with an excellent beer bar next door and lots of restaurants nearby. Ideal base to explore the city on foot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

When we arrived at 5am in morning we were helped unreservedly. Receptionists were friendly and helpful.fantastic location and although parking was charged at €15 per night this was absolutely needed parking is at a premium in brugee. Overall great stay would defiantly go back. Thank you .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wspam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing