We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again!”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Trim, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would stay again!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Bruges, it's a short walk to the centre of the town and there are lots of restaurants and cafes near the hotel. Room was nice and spacious and clean. Breakfast was really nice, lots to choose from and the staff were very friendly and helpful! Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyB811989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    850
    200
    52
    25
See reviews for
282
1,184
65
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

As others have said, the position is superb. A short walk from the Eurostar station: cross the road and walk along the waterside route - it's beautiful, less populous, and much easier if you've a wheeled suitcase!

Once there the busy reception staff were ever so helpful. We were there early and so stashed our bag in the lockup until we could check in. Really liked the room too.
There's a hot & cold buffet breakfast with a good selection.

The best bit really though is Bruges itself. The hotel is in such a great spot, easy walk to pretty much all of the central city area and plenty of restaurants in little squares nearby.

Of course it helps that we had a great time in Bruges, but perhaps the most telling compliment we could give the Hotel Academie is that we have recommended it to friends and family. We'll be staying here next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ND4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Centrally located and welcoming hotel, pleasant foyer and seating areas, friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast a bit limited and slightly disappointing eg tinned fruit, very tired looking cooked food but otherwise coffee and croissants ok.
Bar served good hot drinks including hot chocolate
Good value and convenient for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel could do better. It's acceptable but that's all. The staff were really good and help full but the rest of the hotel is in need of a little TLC (and a spring clean). Having said that please don't be put off using it. It's ok and the position is really good. It has an excellent underground car park with easy access off the street ( height restriction 1.8m) €14/night I think was the rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here last week, were lucky enough to get room 268 overlooking a C17th garden. The staff are friendly and helpful, Self serve breakfast is superb with choices for every taste. There is a Carrefour express less than 2 minutes round the corner. The hotels position is close to the railway station and fairly quiet street. Would have given 5*s but our room needs the mould on bath tiles attending to and one light in the bathroom had a cover missing. We would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Well kept Hotel, helpful English speaking receptionists.

Spacious room, clean and pleasantly decorated on the ground floor looking onto the garden area.

The room had coffee facilities (not always available in Europe), a fridge and a safe.

The room also had a small table and a couple of chairs.

Breakfast was buffet style, a huge dining room where nobody asked for our room number or ID... Anyone could have walked in!!

The breakfast had all the usual; fruits, cheese, ham, breads, scrambled eggs, beans... No bacon and tiny chippolata sausages.
Coffee was beautiful.

I wold recommend this Hotel and should I revisit Brugge would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shasbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Have just returned from a stay at this hotel organised by Riviera Travel. The room I was allocated as single traveller was not to my liking at all, it was room no.336 on the 3rd floor (top floor) at the far end of a corridor. The room's décor was shabby and dark, the walls painted a very dark chocolate colour. The bathroom also was shabby and in need of a re-fit. On turning back my bed covers on the first night a dead fly was found, which was not pleasant. The mattress was very soft and after two nights I requested a firmer one. Although there was a varied selection of food available at breakfast the quality was poor. I do not know what the other rooms were like but mine was in no way indicative of a supposedly 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynth16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing