We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Academie for the past four years and always found the staff to be very friendly and courteous the rooms were very clean and tidy and its location is good for exploring Bruge

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the road they tend to be bigger
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,212)
There are newer reviews for Academie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,086 - 1,092 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here on a three night break organised by Riveria Travel. Although we had no complaints with the hotel per se, I do not think that it is up to 4 Star Standard. This is for two reasons. Firstly, as can be seen in my photographs, our carpet in Room 113 had several tears in the carpet. Secondly, although the Breakfast Buffet was plentiful, the Croissants and Pan au Chocolat were not up to the usual continental standard. These could have been due to the fact that I saw identical products on sale at Carrefour just around the corner. The ones for sale in the many local bakeries looked and probably were far more appetising! Tea and coffee making is provided with a maximum of two Tea Bags, two Coffee Packets and two Sugar Lumps per day. Fresh milk can be obtained from Carrefour just around the corner (turn right out of the hotel, then right again and you are nearly there). There is a fine for boiling something other than water in the kettle (no I have no idea what either). There is FREE Wi-Fi something that should be free in every hotel. The speed and reliability is very good.

All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and spoke perfect English. The hotel is situated in a great location. The only downside to this is that coaches cannot enter the Old Town unless dropping off or picking up passengers with suitcases. Going on trips means at least a ten minute walk for the able bodied and longer if like me you have difficulties.

Although the road outside the hotel is one way, this does not apply to Bikes, so LOOK BOTH WAYS when exiting as the pavement is narrow. And remember like England some bikes do not have lights!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed in Hotel Academie as part of a city break trip with Riviera Travel. I paid a single supplement, having a room to myself. My two friends had a double room. Everything about the hotel was excellent! The staff were all very friendly. The room was clean, a good size, warm and extremely comfortable. The breakfast was of a very high standard with pastries, fresh fruit, cheeses and cold cuts and a large choice of cereals and yogurt. The position of the hotel was very convenient for exploring the wonderful city of Bruges. I would definitely stay at the hotel again and will definitely be visiting Bruges again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here with friends on a three night break organised by Riviera Travel and could not have made a better choice. Friendly, helpful reception staff in a hotel that is situated near all the best sights of lovely Bruges. What more could you want. Room was spacious, modern and very clean with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Lighting system has a mind of its own and we never did quite master that but overall everything was excellent. Buffet breakfast had a varied selection of hot and cold dishes to suit everyone. Would stay here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend in Brugge. The hotel was perfect for us. Clean and very friendly staff and access to Wi-Fi. Great location, we were able to walk to it from the train station and it was comfortable walking distance to the square. There were a lot of little coffee shops, restaurants and patisseries near by .. and of course the brewery. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the court yard. This was great for us as it was quite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcD0072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were given a warm welcome and a lovely quiet room (269) overlooking the next narrow street. The staff here were all really friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean but we had horrible lumpy pillows!! Breakfast was a varied selection and there was probably something for everyone.

The area surrounding the hotel had some good places to eat and drink. We loved popping into Frituur round the corner. It was a very ordinary looking place but the young man who ran it was lovely. His Flemish Stew at 10Eur was great so if you are on a tight budget a good place to go but there are loads of others in the area.

It takes about 15 minutes to walk from here to the main square but we loved coming back to the quiet of this area

Room Tip: Room 269 was great
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaT938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This Hotel was recommended by a friend & I would happily do the same. It was a great location for us as we were travelling by train & it only took 5-10 minutes to walk there. The location is to the edge of Brugge but we were only a short walk away from the main square, canal trips and ideally located for a brewery visit.
The staff were extremely helpful and spoke fantastic English. Gerard went over and beyond being helpful and was happy to chat to guests in perfect English.
Our room was located at the back of the property. It was quiet, clean and had the best WiFi (free) I have ever come across in a hotel.
we didn't use the breakfast facilities, but with cafes and restaurants around every corner (& one opposite) it wasn't a problem. In fact the location helps in evenings as anything close to the main square is a touch pricey.
We did make use of the well stocked bar and the ever attentive Gerard served with a smile and a chat.
Sadly it was time for us to leave but yet again the staff were happy to store our bags while we had a last walk around Brugge and then the short walk to the Station. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NockMurales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £77 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing