We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel Great location”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 5 day/4 night break in Bruge where we stayed at the Academie for 3 nights. Staff were available when needed and attentive. We checked in at gone 10.30 at night with no issue.

Rooms are clean and equipped, hair dryer is a little weak but the shower is smashing. Tea and coffee (2 of each) is provided but no milk. Additional headband coffee is available at a cost of €2 for 2 of each. Thought this a little steep.

Location was perfect though, right in the centre and only a short walk from all the major attractions.

Wonderful little rib and chicken restaurant next door and a highly recommended Belgium Beer tasting tavern to.

All in all, a smashing stay :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monkeybrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We recently did a Mini Break to Bruges. We paid above the norm to be in a "better" Hotel. 4* usually means something quite special but maybe the Belgian Tourist board are not so particular!
The Hotel reception were excellent as were all the staff. However the place is a bit run down to say the least. The pillows in the room were mini cushions and the bed was rather too soft. I know its personal preference on this but they really are soft. The en suite bathroom was ok but the shower was a bit awkward to use. The rooms heating was good and the TV had free view channels. The room also had WiFi which worked.
Breakfast was OK with a few weird offerings. Coffee was just drinkable. The scrambled eggs and the cold meats were ok but not a 4* breakfast by anyones imagination.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were lucky to find reservations for this hotel during the high season. The hotel location is very good, at walking distance from the train station as well as from the main downtown attractions. The staff was very kind, the room was small but comfortable and had everything I needed. The restaurant opens only for buffet breakfast which was a lot better tan what I have seen in other Eruopean hotels. The room rates are quite reasonable. I would definetly go back to this place and highly recomend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OGAMty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Academie in December 2013. The hotel was in a perfect location, a short walk from the main squares and it was right outside some wonderful restaurants, belgain chocolatiers and hand made lace shops. The room itself was very clean and very comfortable with plenty of amenities such as a hair dryer, kettle, mood lighting and plenty of towels. The breakfast was very lovely and the house beer was even better....had a few too many to be honest! The staff were very welcoming and helpful during our stay and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaCheape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My boyfriend and I travelled to bruges for the new year. We're very glad we chose this hotel, the staff were welcoming and more than helpful in giving advice about Bruges. The breakfast was pleasant and the room had all the basics. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Do ask for what kind of bed you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Good location - close to all attractions.
Simple, clean rooms with comfy beds. Towels changed daily & hairdryer in bathroom.
Never ate in hotel so unable to comment on this.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Academie Hotel is characterised by its great location, friendly staff and fair prices. Located within the city ring-road, it is a couple of roads away from the main streets. This means that it is within walking distance of the sights, yet does not suffer from noise.

The room was nice, with everything I would expect, with a fairly soft bed. Breakfast was a standard affair, with the cooked food being fairly tasteless, though nothing approaching inedible.

The highlight of our stay were the staff who were a pleasure to talk to and, even though they were working on Christmas day, were friendly and helpful. Myself and my partner sat and enjoyed their beer selection whilst chatting to them for a long time over our four night stay. The hotel's location is excellent for the surrounding restaurants and bars, which are less expensive than right on the high street but perhaps even have better food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chr1sh3nry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £70 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing