We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, couldn't be more helpful”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a great 3night stay, hotel was very clean , quiet and very friendly ,nothing was a bother, it was very well located , it did the job, the room we had was a huge room. Would defiantly stay here again. Would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

A really nice hotel when you walk in and a very good restaurant, in a very good location and all at a very reasonable price. The problem is that it is let down by its rooms - they were not old and full of character and not new, modern and sleek - unfortunately they were right in the middle and just seemed a bit dated, certainly did not match the beautiful city that it sits in. Real shame.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langer1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in March. The hotel is a little our of the center, a 10 minute walk but close to the attractive Minnewater. The room was large and comfortable with a view over a narrow cobbled street, it was clean and well appointed. The breakfasts were as is normal consisting of fresh, fruit, meat and cheese together wit a wide selection of breads.the hot food was OK but the selection was limited. There was a small bar with a reasonable selection of beer ( there was a bar next door), a courtyard where thanks to the weather it was possible to sit out in and a glass covered lounge area. It has has a fitness center which we didn't use!The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It is an ideal location for visiting Bruges and we would have no hesitation in returning..

Room Tip: Second floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hotel Academie was a great base to explore Bruges and only a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. The rooms were large and spacious and we had everything we needed. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We had breakfast included in the price although I think next time we would have breakfast in one of the many tea rooms in the area as the breakfast was disappointing. All in all an excellent choice to stay in Bruges.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Everything was great with this hotel, but our room was not so nice as expected. Thin doors (you got irritated by the elevators and hall way), outdated poor interior, and some minor scratches here and there and strange quick-fixes within. Otherwise, nice staff - great location! and super value for money.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to not book a room on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We picked this hotel for an overnight stay after an overnight mini cruise from Hull. Excellent choice of hotel. Most drop off points are near the station - so cross the main road and head towards the lake. The location is very near the 'lake of love' and the brewery. We were able to leave our luggage in a secure storage area before we checked in and when we had checked out.

Its a short walk into the centre of town - past many, many chocolate shops. There are some very nice resturants and bars near the hotel - we ate in the Vivaldi resturant nearly opposite the hotel - and drank next door at the very little bar with a big beer selection. The bar in the hotel was reasonably priced too.

The room was large, comfortable - with good lighting and heating - we had a view over a lovely old courtyard and surrounded by small houses (when you leave the hotel turn left and left again to see it).

Bruges is not cheap - but it is a beautiful city with lots to see or do - ideally two nights would have been better - we only had one -and wished we had booked two.

I would highly recommend this hotel. There is a fitness centre but we did not use it - it was so much nicer to walk round outside - you can walk round the city canal - past all the windmills - very safe and beautiful

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Me and my partner went on the mini cruise to Brugge with two overnight stays in the Academie Hotel. When we got off the coach and eventually got our barrings, we realised that it is only a short walk (although we made it longer with our hopeless navigation skills). We got a lovely warm welcome when we first arrived and they even let us check in 5 hours early. Our apartment was past the lovely outdoor smoking/seating area around the corner from the gym in the hotel. It was a lovely room with a seating area and a big double bed. The bathroom was really nice too although when we had a shower, there was no ventilation so it got very steamy! We both had a great sleep on both nights! The breakfast was mainly continental but the staff were very friendly.
The hotel is only a short walk from the Lake of Love and about 10 minutes from the main market place. We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend to anyone to stay there, and hopefully we will return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#36 of 97 in Bruges
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £65 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing