We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stay in Bruges”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a long weekend stay in Bruges for us. Having been once before on a day trip, we wanted to spend a longer time exploring. The Academie is perfectly sited for access to all of the mainattractions in bruges. Two minutes from the Halve Maan brewery (a must see), minnewater,St John's hospital, Our Lady Church, and a number of other museums. Plenty of shops around the area. Ten minutes or so to the main square. The room we had was on the ground floor, out through a small glass walled courtyard. Very sizeable room extremely comfortable bed and a decent sized, nicely decorated bathroom. There are tea and coffee facilities in the room. We did not take breakfast at the hotel, but there was plenty of activity each morning to suggest it was well used. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful providing us with a map and advice on our first day. After vacating our room on the last day, we left our luggage in a room set aside in the reception. The bar is unusual, very nice and the drinks were not anymore expensive that elsewhere in town. Can't really fault the hotel on any of their services during our stay. Would happily stay there again if we return one day. If you walk to the end of Wijngaartstraat and turn right there is a supermarket on the right a few yards along the road.

Room Tip: If you are travelling by train, cross the dual carriageway and walk to the right along the edge of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jools_and_Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Good points of this hotel are its location, free wifi and breakfast ok if included in your rate. Staff pleasant.

Now for the room. There are some good points, the provision of a kettle (but bring your own coffee or tea if you want more than 1 cup a day), a decent fridge, a good shower above the bath and individually controllable air conditioning/heating. However, the room we had on the first floor was spacious but very, very dingy, brown décor everywhere. Tall narrow opening door which looked out over the courtyard but needed lights on even in the middle of the day. The valance on my bed had a huge hole in it and when we separated the beds into singles there was a horrible black stain on the carpet under them (who knew that the little hand towel from the scotrail sleeper would come in handy as a little rug to cover it!). There was dust all along the beadhead too. Fortunately the bedsheets looked clean. The bathroom was badly in need of a revamp. Cracked floor tiles, significant mildew around the bath, painted loose board where there should have been a glass shower screen and enamel missing from the inside of the toilet bowl which made it look permanently dirty.

From the reviews it looks like there are different qualities of room and I suspect that the one we were in was one of the ones doled out to the tour companies (Superbreak). We could of course have complained and asked for a change of room but really this should not be necessary in a supposed 4 star establishment.

None of this spoiled our break though. The people in Bruges were so friendly, loads to see and do and everywhere else was so clean (never seen anything like the self cleaning toilet seats in the foyer of the de tuilereen hotel, amazing, like a car wash for toilet seats, lol!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this clean and comfortable hotel. It is well sited for exploring Bruges and finding places to eat. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection to suit all tastes.
Staff we met during our stay were courteous and helpful.
We did find noise late at night a problem, possibly the walls are thin or possibly other guests are inconsiderate. However we would be happy to recommend the Academie.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Patti1953_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A well run hotel with lovely rooms. The decor is beautiful, clean and well maintained. The garden/courtyard is a pretty escape to sit in the sun.The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice. We will definatly book this hotel again when we return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewel1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just comeback from a four day trip to bruge with riviera travel and stayed in the hotel Academie what a great choice the hotel was spotless good breakfast kettle and fridge in the room just right for that welcome cup of coffe in comfort after a long days walking the hotel staff were very pleasant and would go out of their way to help can't wait to go back

Jackie burgess

Room Tip: Hotel was very quiet at night although it was very busy and we were on the ground floor our party of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is well placed for break in Bruges. Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby in fact all of the city centre is very walkable from here.
Bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable. The Bar prices are expensive but then again most places are here (don't expect Beer for anything less than £4 a pint and usually more)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wellitsmytake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a great 3night stay, hotel was very clean , quiet and very friendly ,nothing was a bother, it was very well located , it did the job, the room we had was a huge room. Would defiantly stay here again. Would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,875 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,614 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#16 Family Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £63 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing