We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Riviera location”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night Riviera break in Bruges. The Academie is well located down a side street off the main road so in a quiet location but reasonably close to the centre which is a 7 - 10 minute walk away. Rooms well equipped - comfortable bed - but only powder creamer and one coffee per person in the room so best to take your own supply. Fridge a nice touch to keep drinks cool. Only a Breakfast area (continental + some hot dishes such as scrambled egg) so evening meals will need to be taken at local restaurants who all offer fixed price three course menus ranging from €16pp upwards with drinks on top. There are several good restaurants within 50 yards of the hotel and several hundreds in Bruges to chose from. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. No problems with noisy guests and the staff were very pleasant. The Hotel looks as if it was upgraded a couple of years ago so the sheen is starting to wane. Small fitness suite on the ground floor. Probably just hits 4 star.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are bright and airey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

There were a few things that disappointed me about this hotel... The service was generally average with most reception staff being somewhat offhand. The couple that were A couple were reasonably helpful were in stark contrast to the others. The walls between rooms are paper thin so I could hear quite clearly the conversation of the couple in the room next to me although they were probably talking in normal voices. The decor of the room (145) was dated and sparse to the point of ugly although it was quite spacious. The toiletries were basic, and there was no body lotion. The hair dryer was one of those awful hotel only wall mounted things that hardly do anything. On the plus side the location is great, only about 10 minutes walk from the station (the cobbles will make it seem a lot longer though!) and close to all the sights. The shower and bath were great and there was no external noise from my room which faced into the internal courtyard. The mini bar was empty although there were tea and coffee making facilities. I didn't eat in the hotel at all.

Room Tip: 145 was ground floor looking onto the internal courtyard. Whilst no noise from the outside the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband, myself and two good friends have just returned from Bruges after spending Easter there. This hotel was booked by my friend and was an excellent choice. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and our room was a good size with a very comfortable king size bed. The TV had English channels (not that we were in our room much!) and the furniture was modern. The bathroom was very adequate and was spotlessly clean.
Our rate included breakfast and we expected a continental one but there were quite a few hot dishes (the small pancakes were to die for!). There was a good selection of cereals and fruit, meats and cheese and the breads were lovely and very fresh.
The location of the hotel was excellent, there were a few bars and restaurants in the same street and the hotel was approximately 10/15 mins walk from the main square. We really enjoyed Bruges, a lovely city with something for everyone. I would certainly recommend a visit there and the Academie Hotel is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhillscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good, quiet location, very close to the centre, plenty of 1st class restaurants nearby.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, car parking was underground but a bit awkward to manoeuvre, no chance if you have a roof pod. Free wifi through out the hotel. Rooms large and spacious. Breakfast a little disappointing with selection. Did not have a evening meal there, so can't comment on it. But saying that would stay there again due to its location and friendly staff

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel Academie, in my opinion, is perfectly located for a trip to Bruges. The main market square is 10 minutes away but this hotel sits on a fairly quiet street in the heart of the calmer, prettier part of Bruges.

The room was clean and very comfortable with a nice bathroom. Good air conditioning and no night noise which is a bonus. There is a nice courtyard in the centre which is a good suntrap in the afternoon. The breakfast was also good with a wide range of options which went down well.

When I first arrived, the lady on reception was not particularly warm and spoke quite curtly to me but was warmer once we had parked the car (15E a day and worth it) and returned. The rest of the hotel staff, however, were friendly at all times and were able to provide information and make recommendations about restaurants.

All in all, for a three day trip to bruges, I could not have asked for more from the location or accommodation. I would stay here again if I ever return to Bruges.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_McGrath17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights on a Riviera Holidays break. It was excellent: well-located for a stroll to the centre, bars and restaurants or just sightseeing.
The room was large and airy, with a lovely bathroom and very comfortable big bed.
We used the bar briefly and it was very pleasant with reasonable prices.
Breakfast was varied and tasty with plenty of food available for all needs.
Staff were friendly and helpful - a real treat in a lovely city and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: 109 was large but I am sure they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My family and I have just returned from a fabulous mini-break in Bruges. The hotel is in a perfect location, just a ten minute walk from the centre of Bruges and situated very close to the picturesque Lake of Love and Minnewater Park. Boat trips, horse drawn carriages and bike hire are all very close by. Our rooms were of a good size and very clean and comfortable, and there was an excellent choice of food at breakfast. The staff at reception were extremely helpful and only too happy to research information for us when they didn't have the answers to our queries to hand. Having taken two cars with us, the underground car park was an added bonus. We highly recommend the Academie Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#35 of 97 in Bruges
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £68 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing