We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Location can't be beat”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Academie Hotel is a superb choice in Bruges, as it's away from the madding crowd, tucked back from the main drag, on a beautiful, quaint street with lots of interesting shops and great restaurants. Room was OK ... not spectacular, but nice. Modern, with lots of outlets. Space age lightning. Front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating.

The breakfast room was strangely and inefficiently designed, but there were plenty of food options represented. It was just crowded, noisy, and you had to wait in line for all the big necessities, like coffee and juice.

I would stay here again without hesitation. Absolutely LOVED the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountessCeprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    976
    858
    201
    52
    25
See reviews for
288
1,192
66
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

On arrival very warm and friendly welcome with professional attitude, it continued from thereon.the staff were always happy to help. Our rooms were well located within the hotel with plenty of space and more then adequate facilities for our 3 day stay.Breakfasts were plentiful and good choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
280 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a tour of Holland, Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany. Our stay in Bruges was a highlight of that trip and the Academie Hotel was a very comfortable, quiet place to rest in between our sojourns around the city & nearby countryside.

As to the previous guest's comment about the coffee "machine" - it was a restaurant quality a Keurig type machine that we did not find offensive. Breakfasts were fine (could've used more FRESH fruits; but we had more than enough to eat) ...and where else would you find generous bowls full of fresh Belgian chocolates on a breakfast buffet?

Wifi service worked fine. Our room was clean and comfortable with a small half balcony facing the inner garden area. A bonus was a pair of doves who had just built their nest right below our balcony in small plane tree!

Staff was helpful and prompt when asked for assistance.

We did not have a drink in the bar since we found sitting at an outside table at a restaurant only a block away(near the Swan filled "Lake of Love") a better place to enjoy the gorgeous weather and street scene of horse carriages and people watching.

Finding your room can be a bit challenging due to layout of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was a bit disappointed, probably because this hotel did not live up to it's 4 star billing. My room was Ok on the top floor, with two twin beds and a table with 2 easy chairs-a nice touch. Bed was far too hard for my liking but probably Ok for others. Bedroom had a badly cracked floor tile and one of those hairdryers that are attached to the wall. It turned of automatically before I had dried my hair and wouldn't come back on again, which was very annoying. Keys to open the doors rather than the more modern swip cards made doors opening and shutting rather noisy.But generally it was a quiet hotel.
Breakfast was adequate but no atmosphere in the breakfast room-I didn't linger. The worst aspect was the coffee, just awful. It came from a machine.Why a 4 star hotel cannot serve real coffee is a bit of a mystery. I do not drink tea so the one teabag per person per day in the rooms did not bother me, but it does seem very odd for a 4 star hotel. Perhaps it is something routine to hotels in Belgium?
I cannot comment on the staff as I didn't really have any interaction with them. Several times when I entered, the staff did not look up so whether we would have struck up a conversation or not was not tested!
Location is good, very near the canal.
It is Ok-nothing really bad and I feel I'm being a bit picky, but I would prefer to try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdwatcher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from this hotel booked through Riviera Travel. We had a great time in Bruges, the hotel was beautifully clean and the staff were lovely. The hotel is well placed, very central with lovely cafes and restaurants nearby especially the Tonka Tearoom and the Vivaldi Restaurant. The courier was so knowlegeable and friendly, the trips were really interesting and all in all we had a brilliant three day stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdP128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3night stay at the Academie hotel booked through Riviera Travel.From leaving Bristol to getting to our hotel everything went smoothly.On arrival at the hotel we were straight through to our rooms(we were with friends)Nice size room with kingsize bed,plenty of room to move around in good storage space.The bathroom was a decent size with a powerful shower over the bath,usual toiletries enough towels for what we needed although we did find a couple more in the wardrobe.What was really good about the hotel was its position,everywhere was within walking distance.Going down to breakfast next morning we found the selection on the breakfast buffet excellent.Plenty of meat,cheese,fruit,cereal breads,rolls croissants.The hot selection was 2 types of scrambled egg(one plain one with chopped ham/bacon inside)small sausages, mushrooms,beans&small pancakes(which I first thought were sliced potato)There was selection of juices&tea(various)plus coffee.I may have gone on a bit here but I read an earlier review on Trip Advisor where someone dissed the breakfast what on earth do some people want!I will certainly recommend this hotel,and will definitely return here.Well done Academie1

Room Tip: we were in room 142 which was on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard which we found to be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mangymutt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a 3 night Riviera break in Bruges. The Academie is well located down a side street off the main road so in a quiet location but reasonably close to the centre which is a 7 - 10 minute walk away. Rooms well equipped - comfortable bed - but only powder creamer and one coffee per person in the room so best to take your own supply. Fridge a nice touch to keep drinks cool. Only a Breakfast area (continental + some hot dishes such as scrambled egg) so evening meals will need to be taken at local restaurants who all offer fixed price three course menus ranging from €16pp upwards with drinks on top. There are several good restaurants within 50 yards of the hotel and several hundreds in Bruges to chose from. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. No problems with noisy guests and the staff were very pleasant. The Hotel looks as if it was upgraded a couple of years ago so the sheen is starting to wane. Small fitness suite on the ground floor. Probably just hits 4 star.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are bright and airey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#15 of 97 in Bruges
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing