We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, very clean and tidy. Staff very pleasent and helpful, the hotel is in a great location for all the sights and shares it's street with great pubs and resteraunts. Hotel provides a fantastic buffet breakfast which sets you up for a hard days sightseeing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Philb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    840
    199
    52
    24
See reviews for
274
1,169
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

absolutely fantastic! the staff are fluent in every language and are as friendly and as engaging as you would ever wish to find. The rooms are amazing for the money and its rather unimposing facade belies the treasures that await you once you get inside! It is a converted brewery that has been transformed into a little oasis of its own on the outskirts of the central square of the city, it is within easy walking distance of everything. Turn left and you are near the brewery and the swans and several excellent restaurants and turn right and then left and you are heading for the main attractions. One of the receptionists told me she had been there seven years! it just about sums up the place, happy staff, happy atmosphere, happy holiday!!!!!

Room Tip: room two two six is like an apartment!!!! lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked this hotel for our (too) brief (2 day) visit to Bruges based on its reasonable cost and walking proximity to what we wanted to do in Bruges. It turned out to be a wonderful hotel. It appears as if everything has been recently updated. There are a number of fine restaurants less than one block away and an easy walk to great shopping, wonderful site seeing and the main square. The underground parking was a real convenience, as you will find driving and parking in Bruges to be quite a challenge. The staff was helpful and engaging and even though the breakfast is a bit expensive, the selection and food were excellent, and because it is an "all you can eat" buffet," you should walk away quite satisfied. We will definitely return to this hotel when we return to Bruges (for a longer visit.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichKul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Nice friendly hotel in a good location; friendly staff; comfortable rooms; excellent breakfast (wide choice including cooked). Easy walking distance to town centre, restaurants, shops and coffee bars, etc. Bar open until late with good range of drinks at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickp2201_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great, rooms good, reception helpful, bar cosy and breakfast was more than just Continental... BUT.. DONT TRY AND STEAL SOME ROLLS AND CHEESE AND HAM FOR LUNCH.it will cost you 20 euro. I guess it is a sign of the times that people were taking advantage of the food on offer and abusing it so now the hotel have had to fine anyone caught taking food out of the breakfast room 20 euro.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank npjrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We initially booked this hotel as a last resort due to the availability and the price. We came over with the sole intention of sampling the local beer all 10 of us, not really with any expectations, well this hotel is an absolute find and a gem in the heart of Bruges. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the city, it has an underground car park so we didn't have the worry of parking, the hotel is probably the same standard as a Premier Inn in the UK, which is more than adequate, the price also includes breakfast, which is all you can eat and very hearty and finally the staff are very friendly which made the whole experience that much more enjoyable. We would all definitely stay at this wonderful hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a decent 3 star, so don't be disappointed when you come here expecting a 4 star. Our room was quite gloomy and had a stale smell about it. There looked to be a mouldy patch in one corner. As the safe was so high up I couldn't reach it. The door is operated by a key, so was particularly noisy when other neighbours came and went. There is no evening meal, so it would be nice if they had concentrated on the breakfast. Very average. Service from staff was good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
2,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
787 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing