We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel at great location”
Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel at great location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One good hotel to stay in if you are in Bruge. Spacious rooms with great location and proximity to all tourist spots. Parking facility with limited spaces. Needs advanced reservation for a space if you have a big car.

I found it hard to park my big car in the allotted space since I missed reserving one. The hotel staff was kind enough and I was lucky to find another spot with better parking access.

May sound pricey but is worth the money in a tiny old town of Bruge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashanth_Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    849
    199
    52
    25
See reviews for
281
1,183
64
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel with helpful staff, we were able to check in to our room even though we arrived quite early. We were provided with a free map and the receptionist gave us a few tips about what to visit. The hotel has it's own parking which is useful in Bruges, it's best to call and reserve a space as they are limited. The room was very clean and had a large bathroom, the bed was very comfortable, which was great after a day walking through the city. It's also close to all the sights Bruges has to offer, it's a great city for a weekend break. It gets quite busy in the afternoons, so try to get up and about before all the tourist buses turn up!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Well a good basic hotel, close to town, good breakfast, clean and comfortable. but not 4 star as rated. Smallish rooms, Only 1 tea and coffee allowed per day in rooms. (4 star would have been unlimited) The safe as previously complained about was so high you had to stand on a chair. Not the safest thing to do, most guests were in the pensioner bracket. An accident waiting to happen.

Room Tip: ? pool. was there one. Never went to the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97DaveCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Academie Hotel is well placed for exploring this quaint, mediaeval, walled town. There were plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. On a side street, near to the 'Lake of Love' it is modern, clean and welcoming. Our room was more than adequate, comfy bed, tv with some English channels, tea and coffee making facilities, safe, free Wi-Fi. The bathroom was large and well equipped Reception staff are English speaking, friendly and helpful and there is a bar and a quiet courtyard in the middle of the hotel. Breakfast was more than adequate, although the cooked choice was a bit limited. Overall, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the front of the hotel and it could be a bit noisy so, if this is likely to be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ledwidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first stay in Belgium and will not be the last !
The hotel was very nice and in a very good location for bars, shops and restaurants etc with a supermarket and bakery very close by.
The hotel has its own underground car park which is very secure and reasonably priced, can't comment about the gym as we did not visit it.
There was a good choice of food for breakfast, our room was very clean and reasonably sized with decent bathroom, tv, fridge, safe and tea and coffee making facilities.
The staff are a credit to this hotel, everyone was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Overlooking the inner courtyard are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pforzheim, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the staff are very friendly and have at least 4 languages, the hotel is central in the old town and near the canal and very central to all amenities with plenty of restaurants and bars all along the nearby streets.

Room Tip: on the bottem floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldine178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff welcomed us gave us a map of city and recommended places to go. Everything worth seeing was just a short walk away. We never made it to breakfast as it was bit too early for us (7-10am) not sure what they offered but it was €12 a head. The room was huge and bed really comfy the only thing I'd pick on was that the curtains in our room (204) did not close properly so the light got in way too early :P all in all I was happy with my stay beautiful city and great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotelopia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing