We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Academie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Academie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend. Greeted by very helpful and friendly staff and found our room to be well presented, clean and quiet. Our room had a door which opened on to a small balcony - being able to let in fresh air is a big plus for me, as was the small empty fridge to store our drinks. The hotel is in an excellent location, within 5-10 minutes walk of all Bruges' beautiful attractions. Only minor negative was our request for a double bed - we had two singles pushed together. But would definitely recommend to any friends thinking of visiting this city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricko00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    840
    199
    52
    24
See reviews for
274
1,169
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of the sights and restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large, as was the bathroom. Unfortunately the air con didn't work and we had difficulty sleeping. Initially the receptionist said it was working but it was just too hot!! They later called an engineer who was unable to fix it so we were given a fan. This was better but not wonderfully efficient.
Breakfast was served in a room which was frankly too small. Tables were very close together and it was difficult to help yourself to the buffet when there were lots of guests. However, there was a good choice of food on offer.
The bar was comfortable with a good choice of beers and spirits.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights with another couple who'd stayed here previously, so it was recommended by them. The choice was a good one. The hotel is located on a narrow cobbled street about a 10 minute walk from the railway station, and only 5-7 minutes to the main squares in Bruges centre. Our room on the 2nd floor was at the front of the hotel with two windows overlooking the cobbled street. It was large and well appointed and spotlessly clean with large twin beds (and a 3rd optional wall mounted bed), a newly refurbished bathroom, 2 armchairs and a small table and wall mounted t v. and air con. Breakfast is buffet style and has reasonable selection of cold and hot foods, beverages and juices. We tended to come down to breakfast at 9.30am so the hot dishes on offer did not look very appetising, but with cheeses, boiled eggs, cold meats and lovely fresh bread and many other items to include chocolates, cakes and croissants, we started the day fully charged !
The Reception staff were superb - both friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and also managed the small bar area. A great city map is provided at check-in. Prices for drinks were reasonable - large rose wine 3.6 euros, g & t 6 euros, and good selection of bottled beers 3.5 - 4.5 euros.
A previous reviewer mentioned a 'general stench of sewage' in the reception and bar areas. We certainly weren't aware of any foul smells whatsoever and thought the whole hotel was in tip top condition. Wi-Fi was a bonus.
The hotel does not serve evening dinner but there are over 500 restaurants in Bruges, and probably more than 20 within 200 metres. Prices for dinner vary, fixed price 3 basic course options from about 20-25 euros were on offer, but some of the swankier places had menus from 40+ euros.Horse drawn carriages stop for a 5 minute rest period about 120 metres from the hotel adjacent to one of the canals. Tea and coffee/cake and chocolate shops abound.
If we venture to Bruges again we'd stay at the Hotel Academie for its great location and excellent standards and staff.
(We asked a staff member the best way to visit Ypres under our own steam. Within a couple of minutes of using a computer he produced a print of the route with details of train times and platforms, bus numbers and routes - everything was spot on and the journey hassle free - just brilliant)

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper definitely request a room overlooking the courtyard as the front facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T3JHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel has recently been refurbished & looked a lot better than its website pictures! Our room was lovely - clean and relatively spacious. The mattress & pillows were a bit soft but that's really our only criticism. The little fridge in the room was handy and there was also a safe. There was nice lighting and great air conditioning. The hotel also has free wifi which is great and worked very well throughout the hotel and in our room. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful (not always the case in Bruges as we discovered in many restaurants!) There's a really great buffet breakfast, everything you could think of. Overall a very good hotel! As mentioned in other reviews, part of the hotel and throughout the city there is a stink from poor sewage/drainage.

Room Tip: Our room was 271 on 2nd floor, it seemed to be one of the new rooms. We would recommend it but it di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights, bed and breakfast, on a trip with Riviera Travel, in July 2014. We were part of a large party and expected to wait quite a while to check in but the staff in reception were ready and waiting for us and were checked in very quickly. We had a lovelly large room on the ground floor,overlooking the inner courtyard. Bedding and towels were of a high standard as was the cleanliness of the bedroom and large bathroom. Breakfast was downstairs in a quaint,brick vaulted room. Plenty of choice of cereals,fresh fruit,yoghurt,cheese,ham,bread,
croissants,muffins,scrambled and boiled eggs,beans,mushrooms and sausage. Tables were
cleared fairly quickly and staff in all areas were polite and friendly. The Hotel is literally round the corner from the Half Moon Brewery and several good restaurants.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again to enjoy everything this beautiful city has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room overlooking the courtyard if you have impaired mobility or want to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetters00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights while on a Riviera Travel city break in Bruge. The hotel was very clean and well kept and we were checked in very quickly. The room was quite large and the en suite was lovely with a huge bath. It was also cleaned daily. We had bed and breakfast and are quite fussy eaters but we had lots of choice and really enjoyed it. The only down side to hotel academie is the stench in the reception and bar area. This seemed to be a theme throughout the whole city. I assume the general sewage stench was due to the medieval structures and the horses which is what Bruge is famous for so you have to put up with it! It didn't ruin our trip but took some getting used to. Overall. I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LouS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights B&B on a return trip to Bruges (Riviera Travel). Room was very comfortable & finished to a high standard, with a view across the southern part of the city. Staff were very polite & helpful, but those working on the bar were obviously new with little experience - trouble finding things, working the till etc., but then we only used the bar on two occasions. Location is excellent - in a very quiet street off one of the main access routes to the city centre (although this, too, is quiet by modern city standards), with a few restaurants further along this little street. Breakfast was provided in a beautiful basement-level room and was excellent - Continental style, of course, with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, breads, cooked meats & cheeses. In fact, the best such breakfast provision I have ever seen, and very delicious. Air conditioning is fitted but the instructions given do not match the equipment & the background noise of it was a nuisance. The pillows were huge square ones, far too soft - I used a cushion from one of the room's chairs. The only noise distraction came from other guests using the courtyard (nothing raucous, just voices, but in a quiet place the sound carries & seems louder than it really is), but this stopped when the bar closed at midnight. I would certainly stay here again, but I would ask for firmer pillows! Other than that small niggle, a lovely stay which we both enjoyed - recommended.

Room Tip: Noise from courtyard was distracting - a room overlooking the street itself may have been quieter (j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IH6390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
2,770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academie Hotel

Property: Academie Hotel
Address: Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bruges
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#27 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Academie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Academie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Academie Bruges
Academie Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing