We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great location”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Booked based on the reviews on tripadvisor which are pretty positive. We arrived and were greeted by Rick, the manager who was very friendly and helpful. Having arrived on the overnight ferry from Hull we got to the hotel at about 10 a.m. Our room was not ready, so we were upgraded for free to a larger room that was ready. We were in room 2, on the ground floor, which was plenty big enough, clean and comfy. The staff were always very useful and helped us book a few activities. Breakfast was very tasty. Highly recommended and nice and close to all the main attractions in Bruges

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor. Although we had a lovely view out onto the canal, maybe being on higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    200
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
120
486
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We found this hotel on trip. We asked for a quiet room and it was lovely. Beds comfy, warm, lovely bath with oodles of hot water. Good breakfast infront of a lovely fire. We caught the ferry from Hull so the bus comes into the station. Catch a 4 or 14 bus to near the hotel. Easy. Then you can walk everywhere. Everyone in the hotel is so helpful and kind. We had very good recommendations for eating and chocolate shops. So I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book restaurants wait until you get to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We chose this hotel based on availability and Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Our party consisted of my husband and I and our almost 3 year old daughter.

Finding the hotel was very easy, hovered out the front whilst husband ran in to get directions to the parking. The hotel can provide parking very close nearby in a private underground carpark but book ahead. Husband was in and out within seconds which was good with a young tired child. Found the parking around the corner, no problem with key code and parking was very easy. If you have a really large car it may be worth checking with the hotel if the car park can cater for you though as the spaces we used were a tight fit even for our standard Hyandai i20 sized car. Manager had taken our bags before parking so heading back to the hotel was very easy, just a minutes walk.

Checking in was easy and extremely welcoming. We were met by Rik who told us about lots of places we could enjoy (and avoid), eating out, museums, shops, a fantastic start to the trip. Reception lobby is very warm and welcoming, very boutiquey and nice, just how I like it.

We chose a family sized room which was perfect, a really good size and a extremely large bathroom! Contemporay yet classic, the room could easily be a boutique hotel room. The room was on the ground floor which was good with a young child. The fold out sofa bed was perfect for our daughter, she loved having a big bed but I think a smaller bed is also available as the cleaner asked us (after seeing the age of our daughter) if we would prefer a smaller bed but we didnt.

The beds in general was nice and firm, pillows great, slept extremely well. Our room faced the road at the front on the ground floor but you couldn't hear any road noise or hustle n bustle from outside not that the roads were busy anyway. Loved the room, especially the character. There was a TV with about 20 channels, mainly in Dutch/French etc but I hate to watch English channels anyway when abroad although did find a episode of Friends in English subbed so there are some shows to watch in English if you're desperate (but why you'd want to stay in watching TV I dont know, go out and explore if you dont have young children..hello? he he).

Bathroom like I said was very large, but just a shower in the bath, not over the bath but did the job. Hairdryer was available and toiletries etc if you need, glasses for water too. Lots of snuggly white towels. Just great really.

Breakfast was again perfect. Continental breakfast with your typical breads and croissants plus cheese, ham, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juices all very tasty and lovely. We also had coffee, I would imagine you can have tea too. Very nice coffee too and I like my coffee! Also the breakfast room was so lovely, the fire would still be ticking over from last night with some warm embers, just so cozy and welcoming, I really loved having breakfast here. Staff again too very welcoming and friendly, not once did they look fed up or bored.

The most outstanding part of our stay here though was the customer service. Our daughter had a nasty accident whilst out in Bruges which required us finding a doctor as soon as possible. Within minutes of returning to our hotel the reception lady had rung a local doctor which was a minutes walk away who kindly saw us straight away. The lady on reception was calm and friendly and straight away knew what to do. I couldnt ask for more. I cannot thank her enough for helping us and little Amelie.

Again Rik was outstanding too. That same evening we had to stay in with our daughter so she could rest and we asked if they knew of anyone who could get us some take away food. Within minutes he had rung a local restaurant around the corner and had arranged with them (kudos to them too) to allow us some spaghetti to take away. Not only that though he offered to pick it up for us and then asked if we would like some bread to go with it from the hotel. I mean... that has to be the most outstanding service and kindness I have ever received from a hotel. Such lovely lovely staff run this hotel.

I wont waffle on about how amazing and gorgeous Bruges is becuase that is self explantory! but if you are undecided about what hotel to choose and this one is available, I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough. It is truly the best hotel I have ever stayed in and Ive stayed in a few hotels from South Korea to England. Pick it, you won't be disappointed !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank its-all-about-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife booked this as a surprise weekend trip. Things that made this place:
- Simple room but clean, comfortable and quiet
- Free bike rental to explore Bruges.
- Location, close to the centre and wonderful short walk with views to get to the centre.
- Roaring log fire at breakfast (I guess winter only) with a good selection of food and drink.
- Reasonable price for Bruges
- Small bar across the canal with good beer (if required!).
- Free car parking not so far from the hotel (remember to reserve though).
- Best of all the caring owner for which nothing is too much trouble

It is difficult to describe the place but I would put it as a semi-boutique B&B. Very simple, very friendly but everything done very well.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms have no view - but are you really going to sit in your room all day in a wonderful ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brit-BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Its hard sometimes to believe ratings on TripAdvisor so we were insure what to make of s hotel with straight top marks but it was every bit what was reported. Excellent service wonderful charming rooms and a great breakfast including chocolate figures. Set in the old town but with a boutique charm all done with a friendly smile can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed for one night in Feb. Arrived early so we could drop off our luggage before exploring Bruges. Receptionist allowed us to check in early and also gave us a choice of rooms. In reality nothing to choose between the rooms. Both very clean and pleasant. We selected one overlooking the canel. The Hotel is about 10 mins walk from centre of Bruges and about 30 mins from train station. We encountered 3 staff on Reception and all three were kind, helpful, friendly and clearly very professional. (We did get recommended a restaurant about 10 mins away which was closed the week we were there though!) Breakfast was excellent. If you are thinking about booking this hotel I would not hesitate. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GMCYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Several days exploring Bruges on foot, easily done from this well situated hotel especially thanks to their own detailed street map showing all major sights plus a card entitling you to reduced entry to many of them. No parking hassles as car left nearby in a secure underground garage. Receptionist Rik was a source of great advice especially regarding restaurants and beer bars! We had a room on the front with stunning views over the canals, the breakfast room is light and airy with many fine choices making up the continental breakfast and there are two comfortable lounge areas. A first class example of a modest size family run hotel where the term guest really means something personal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Property: Adornes
Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing