We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you would hope for.”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just what you would hope for.”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I stayed one night here enroute to Germany and found it great. Natalie at reception was extremely helpful and nice. The location was overlooking the canals and a short stroll from the centre. They have bikes if you fancy getting around like most people in Bruges. The breakfast was a nice buffet selection. They also have parking spaces close by. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topcatster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    206
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
124
505
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland england
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Th Adornes is a small hotel only a short walk from the Market Square, it has a small courtyard at the back part of which is covered where the staff were kind enough to allow us to leave our motorbike knowing that it was secure. Initially we had room 18 on the 3rd floor which was a lovely big room with beamed ceiling and settee, however as I am noise intolerant and experienced a sleepless night the staff moved us to room 3 which overlooks the courtyard at the rear, a smaller room with less character but lovely and quiet.

The breakfast room is nice with a large fireplace which is obviously well used in winter, there was a decent choice for a continental type breakfast and the tea was good, although as in the rest of Europe they don't make it in the teapot but instead bring you a teapot of hot water and a tea bag..bizarre!

The bedroom had a large comfortable bed (2 singles joined to make a super kingsize) and was spotlessly clean, we were also provided with a fan as it was unbearably warm and the hotel does not have air con, there is also a small lcd tv but we did not bother even switching it on. One thing they have got right is coat hooks which most hotels don't bother with but which are really useful. Our room had an over shower bath with shower curtain, plenty of hot water and a quite powerful shower, also nice large towels.

Bruges itself is a wonderful city, far outweighing my expectations. Do a city bus tour to get your bearings and find out a bit about the city, also do a boat trip, very informative and a great way to see the city from another perspective. If you like beer and/or chocolate you'll be in heaven. A visit to a pub/eatery called Cambrinus is a must, delicious food and a plethora of beers, also a great atmosphere.

Another good thing about the hotel is the free bikes they provide, ride around the city but be careful as there seem to be no rules or ride along the canal path to Damme, a pretty village about 5km away, have a beer and catch the canal boat back to Bruges.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, they are very helpful and informative and its in a great location. Also there are some nice touches eg. They are willing to provide tea coffee making facilities for your room for 6 euros, they are happy to let you keep food in their fridge, you can have washing done for a small charge and borrow an iron/ironing board, they provide decent hair dryers not the ones which burn your head! There is underground parking for cars.

Room Tip: If you are noise intolerant ask for a room overlooking he courtyard but bear in mind they only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ableassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We weren't sure what to expect beforehand as we'd booked a small room, rather than a large one. But when we arrived the room was far from small (I guess it was what you call average). So we were well pleased, especially as we were staying for nearly a week and wanted a bit of space to spread out. It ticked all the right boxes regarding cleanliness and décor (plus a decent hairdryer and plenty of hooks in the room for coats and towels which we like). The lift was handy too for our luggage.

Breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty to choose from (make sure you get one of the diamond-shaped brown rolls; they were very tasty).

Although not slap bang in the middle of town it is only a short walk to the main squares. And being that bit further out it was quiet at nights with not much traffic. Handy for the bus stop too. There are quite a few bars (check out t'Gezelleke in particular) and restaurants nearby if you don't fancy wandering far of an evening.

The free use of the bikes is a lovely idea. And while you're choosing your bike you might get to meet Arthur, possibly the gentlest large dog in Belgium.

We'd certainly stay here again if visiting Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuscanHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My family and I stayed here and loved it. Great staff, hotel, breakfast, location & it was awesome having bikes as well.

We also loved a near by italian restaurant - Carlito's

Best waffles...There is a light yellow colored vw van parked near the Bell tower( jantje vanille), he has the best waffles!!

Enjoy Brugge!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tori-1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelong
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just loved the ambiance of Brugges... Adornes was in a great location, easy to find & not a Long walk from the city centre. It was nice to have a pre dinner drink in the courtyard & the dog Arthur provided light entertainment. Natalie was so helpful especially in helping to reorganise our hire car booking & Rik recommended a couple of restaurants to eat at. We stayed in rooms 15 & 17. 15 is the bigger room & both face the canal & are located on the top floor. The lift/elevator was great to get luggage to the room. Breakfast was a cold buffet & quiet sufficient. Overall, yes I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Nice cosy clean hotel , staff were so wonderfully helpful!
Beds were clean and comfortable and was in a great location .
Breaky was good and felt like home :)
Was able to wash our clothes at 8 euro and also if we wanted bikes were for free
Staff were great with recommending great restraints . Toms diner and another Egyptian one tomancho ( spelling could be incorrect with the name ) but loved Brugge
Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharneakif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Beautiful hotel with a lovely view. We were in room 15, very quiet, with a great view of the canal. Good-sized room, large bathroom. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Rik gives terrific restaurant recommendations, and is beyond gracious, setting out (free!) bikes for us and telling us where to ride. He called the restaurants for us to tell them we were coming. Natalie did our laundry, even ironed everything, while we were out for the day (the charge was only 8 euro, but we tipped her 20). Really great breakfast with fresh breads in a marvelous room. Quiet walks to/from dinner along the beautiful canals.

Room Tip: We were in room 15, very quiet, with a great view of the canal. Good-sized room, large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
1,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#16 of 97 in Bruges
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Property: Adornes
Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing